We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours

7-135 Harbour Dr, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6N6, Canada
+1 709-722-1888
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Charitable hearts

Iceberg quest has provided a massively discounted tour to the not for profit summer camp for... read more

Reviewed 28 August 2015
Emily P
via mobile
no sightings but great ocean tour

Sadly no icebergs, puffins or whales (2 tiny puffins in the water but hard to see). Staff very... read more

Reviewed 27 August 2015
footballSD
,
Hamilton, Canada
Read all 552 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Join Newfoundland's award-winning boat tour Iceberg Quest as we depart from the heart of downtown St. John's. Walking distance from hotels and B&B's, our two hour fully narrated tour lets you experience Cape Spear, Cabot Tower, and Fort Amherst from the sea. Witness the world's largest concentration of humpback whales, watching as they thrust their massive 40 ton bodies into the air. Show times may vary! Steam through the passageway of 12,000 year old icebergs and view the elegant Atlantic Puffin. Both entertaining and educational, our narrated tour is fun for the whole family. Private charters and special packages available. Departing daily at 9:30am, 1:00pm, 4:00pm and 7:00pm, our tours offer traditional music, snacks and full bar service, and 'screech-ins'. We invite you to "Step aboard. Experience the WONDER!"
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good12%
  • Average5%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat tour” (74 reviews)
“humpback whales” (32 reviews)
LOCATION
7-135 Harbour Dr, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 6N6, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 709-722-1888
Write a ReviewReviews (552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 230 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Iceberg quest has provided a massively discounted tour to the not for profit summer camp for children who have intellectual disabilities where I work for the past four years. The owners and staff are the most compassionate and hospitable tour operators in the city. Every...More

3  Thank Emily P
Reviewed 27 August 2015

Sadly no icebergs, puffins or whales (2 tiny puffins in the water but hard to see). Staff very friendly and informative. Pleasant 2 hours at sea with sun and a breeze

1  Thank footballSD
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We LOVED our time on this tour in St Johns! It was a gorgeous day and the crew was AMAZING and interactive! We saw lots of whales and drank lots of Quidi Vidi Iceberg brews! The newfie music on board really added to the atmosphere!...More

1  Thank Sammy G
Reviewed 21 August 2015

We spoke with Iceberg Quest staff on the 17th August regarding the Iceberg and Whale watching tour with a view to booking it and at no time were we advised that it was, in fact, out of season for both whale and iceberg sightings. We...More

4  Thank Anne M
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Loved this tour - 2 hour navigation around all the focal points - had limited time - was on a business trip - great 2 hour Sunday afternoon activity - in the Atlantic Ocean - covering the bays and some of the most spectacular views...More

1  Thank Lisa G
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I was hoping to luck out and see some whales and puffins on Aug 10. The weather was sketchy and we didn't know whether the 1 pm boat would leave until about an hour beforehand. Once we got out of the harbour some fog came...More

1  Thank KellyBobo
IcebergQuest, Public Relations Manager at Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2015

Hi Kelly, Thank you for choosing Iceberg Quest and taking the time to write a review and pass along the feedback. At this point in the season, it is a little late for whale sightings. If you find yourself back in Newfoundland again and earlier...More

Reviewed 13 August 2015

We took the 1:00 PM tour on August 12; we saw no whales, I guess that can't be guaranteed, saw no icebergs, that I presume they know ahead of time and naturally aren't going to tell you. No puffins, no anything. Was naturally disappointed

1  Thank David S
IcebergQuest, Public Relations Manager at Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Hello David, Thanks for choosing Iceberg Quest. Sorry to hear you didn't have any sightings. Unfortunately, we can't guarantee sightings. If you're ever back in the St. John's area, please touch base and we can let you know what we've been seeing. Thanks!

Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile

The captain was great! He was very knowledgable and had an eye for spotting whales. We took the 4pm tour on a very calm day and were fortunate enough to see a few whales.

1  Thank Justine M
IcebergQuest, Public Relations Manager at Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2015

Thanks for choosing Iceberg Quest and leaving the positive review, Justine!

Reviewed 8 August 2015

This boat and crew sure knew their stuff! Not only did they find us an awesome iceberg they found a humpback!!!!!! We were close enough to get pictures! The captain spotted the whale got a bit closer and we all just sat and watched this...More

2  Thank OntarioIslandgirl
IcebergQuest, Public Relations Manager at Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

You're welcome, you're welcome, you're welcome : ) Thank you for choosing Iceberg Quest. Hope you cherish these memories for years to come!

Reviewed 7 August 2015

I have never been on he ocean myself and this tour went above and beyond my expectations. While most Newfoundland boat tour reviews boast about seeing the whales, puffins and icebergs, those things are just the extra things that while they add to the experience,...More

1  Thank Renata G
IcebergQuest, Public Relations Manager at Iceberg Quest Ocean Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2015

Hi Renata, Now, this is what an Iceberg Quest experience is all about! I loved reading your review. You really did experience St. John's and Newfoundland the right way. Hope to see you back on board again someday!

PreviousNext
1212223242555
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 hotels in St. John's
Murray Premises Hotel
624 reviews
.05 miles away
Blue on Water
142 reviews
.06 miles away
JAG
352 reviews
.23 miles away
Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre
870 reviews
.25 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Gypsy Tea Room
798 reviews
.07 miles away
St. John's Fish Exchange Kitchen & Wet Bar
468 reviews
.07 miles away
Yellowbelly Brewery & Public House
1,159 reviews
.10 miles away
EVOO in the Courtyard
219 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
George Street
724 reviews
.20 miles away
Jellybean Row Houses
183 reviews
.18 miles away
City of St. John’s Visitor Information Centre
66 reviews
.09 miles away
Harbourside Park
30 reviews
.09 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
15 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IcebergQuest | Property representative |
Ahoy Carl, We are closed for the 2017 season. We reopen May 1 - September 30, 2018. Cheers, The Iceberg Quest Crew
1
Vote
Mireille M
21 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Lori H | Reviewed this property |
I think 60$ Canadian
0
Votes
theampres
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Frank M | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about sunrise but they do evening runs. When we were there in early July they had sailings at, as I recall, 10:00 AM, 1:00 PM, 4:00 PM and 7:00 PM. I am sure their website (icebergquest. com) has contact info for... More
1
Vote
PreviousNext
123