We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Anne and Gilbert

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 115 Richmond St | Charlottetown, Pei, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
+1 902-620-3333
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 140 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 98
    Excellent
  • 24
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 3
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Brilliant night out

I went to see this on my own and had a brilliant time. The show was just lovely and the performers were great. Highly recommend seeing this if you get the chance

Reviewed 26 December 2016
Penny H

Similar Things to Do in Charlottetown

Add Photo Write a Review

140 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2016

I went to see this on my own and had a brilliant time. The show was just lovely and the performers were great. Highly recommend seeing this if you get the chance

Helpful?
Thank Penny H
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2016

The theater was packed, even at the end of a full season, and we now know why. The actors sure knew how to sing, dance and play their parts. They produced a very touching musical.

Helpful?
Thank SPB7417
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I have been waiting all season to see this show and my friend and I were not disappointed! Lovely theatre, beautiful story, touching songs and absolutely terrific actors. Couldn't have had a better time!

Helpful?
Thank Helen P
Calgary
Level Contributor
421 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

I was dragged here by my wife. I do not enjoy love stories, never mind the musical type. However, this was a most enjoyable experience. And the Guild theatre, with only 143 seats, makes it the perfect venue for a performance like this. The acting was terrific!

Helpful?
Thank GPaCalgary
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

The music was great, the cast did an excellent job and the theater is a lovely small size which makes for a very intimate experience. My daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed this. I was a bit disappointed in that the story was simplified but I do understand why it had to be done. A musical doesn't give enough scope for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Irene D
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
368 reviews
166 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Great musical in a small theater - no bad seats. Great to get a feel for Anne of Green Gables. This is a musical of book two and three. I would love to see the first one someday. Easy to walk to from any where in the city. Worth the fee to see!

Helpful?
Thank Laurence M
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We had been told by our travel agent that we were going to see "Anne of Green Gables the Musical", but this was incorrect. That musical is on in the big, main concert hall, whereas "Anne and Gilbert" is actually in the tiny space opposite. We should have baled out when we first realised this and still had the chance.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lillian_12
Chicago, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2016 via mobile

This is a must see, or so I've been told. If you read the history ahead of time you'll understand why. The play and story was cute. However, I felt the production was amateurish and at times difficult to understand the lyrics. The worst part though was how cramped I felt in this very small theatre.

Helpful?
Thank Linda R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I attended this show and really felt it was quite similar to a well- practiced community theatre production - not really a professional play, and because of that, over priced. The actors performed with enthusiasm and the staging was efficient, but the show was very long and we left with sore necks and backs due to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer A
IslanderAway, Manager at Anne and Gilbert, responded to this review

Anne & Gilbert, this production, is regularly praised by major press across North America. This production also led to its being produced to record breaking run at Canada's state theatre, the National Arts Centre of Canada. We find it unusual that the only review of anything at all you have posted on Facebook is this one. Axe to grind? More 

New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I would've rated this show higher had it not been for a couple items that were extremely offensive! As we were coming out of the show August 25th with our 3 DAUGHTERS, at the bottom of the stairs stood this character of a man(don't even want to call it that) wearing shorts so short that his cheeks were hanging out... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank garynmelissa3

Travellers who viewed Anne and Gilbert also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Anne and Gilbert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Anne and Gilbert and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Burlington, Canada
Tavistock, Ontario, Canada
11 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Anne and Gilbert staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?