We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Muiderslot

Open Now: 12:00 - 17:00
Open today: 12:00 - 17:00
Book In Advance
All photos (736)
All photos (736)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good38%
  • Average12%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“guided tour”(58 reviews)
“medieval castle”(24 reviews)
“the bus”(23 reviews)
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
Mar
12°
Apr
16°
May
Contact
Herengracht 1, 1398 AA Muiden, The Netherlands
Website
+31 294 256 262
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience Muiderslot
from US$51.76
More Info
from US$69.01
More Info
Reviews (587)
Filter reviews
290 results
Traveller rating
146
94
40
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
146
94
40
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour medieval castle the bus day trip self guided nice castle dutch history interactive games herb garden i'm glad great for kids minute walk to the castle nice area public transportation children and adults dressing up rode our bikes
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 290 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2019

Really like the so called the oldest museum in Netherlands. The guide showed us the most important part and also very interesting history of the castle.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Dian P
Reviewed 16 January 2019

This is such a nice castle in a scenic place by the water. The garden is beautiful and the surroundings are perfect for a picnic. The castle itself was nice and had alot to offer. There was not a lot of people, so we had...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank youshali
Reviewed 15 January 2019

This is a 12th century castle and a national monument. Went there as a 7 year old and every now and then have to go back and enjoy the tour. There are great views of the Town of Muiden from the Dyke next to the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Henk H
Reviewed 7 January 2019

This excursion was provided by our river cruise ship. The castle is in a remote area with nothing else close by. The castle is furnished and you see a number of rooms. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. At the conclusion we were...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank KarenM1_10
Reviewed 23 December 2018 via mobile

What I enjoyed most about the castle is that even though it was not very huge in size but it is very well-preserved. They allowed visitors to visit almost every part of the castle each area has good description written in Dutch and English to...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank NA181920
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

Very well known event in The Netherlands when Sinterklaas is traveling all aver our country. Kids and adults have a fun and especially it is very attractive to be a part of spectacular entertainment in the castle Muiderslot. Games , meeting with Sinterklaas, visiting the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank navigator009
Reviewed 11 November 2018

We went to see this castle as a 1/2 day tour from Amsterdam. I'm not sure I would recommend it again. It is a beautiful castle, but the tour is long

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank chasetravelers
Reviewed 6 November 2018

If you only have little time and like to ride your bike then the MUIDERSLOT is a place to bike to from Amsterdam.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Lawtwle
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Very recommendable, especially for families with young children since a lot of activities are planned for them. The knights tournament simulator is really nice!

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank osito2016
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

I was excited for this excursion as it was a beautiful sunny day and I was taking the tram to then Amsterdam Ferry, then boat to the castle. Very smooth and a great way to see the coastline between the castle and Amstersam and enter...More

Date of experience: October 2018
2  Thank Eileen W
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all nearby hotels
Hotel Het Hart van Weesp
165 reviews
2.24 miles away
NH Naarden
501 reviews
3.47 miles away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
893 reviews
3.68 miles away
Amadi Panorama Hotel
418 reviews
3.90 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 13 nearby restaurants
Cafe Ome Ko
152 reviews
.32 miles away
De Poort Van Muiden
35 reviews
.32 miles away
Brasserie Herengracht
78 reviews
.33 miles away
De Doelen
105 reviews
.31 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 11 nearby attractions
Molen de Vriendschap
28 reviews
2.29 miles away
Forteiland Pampus
74 reviews
2.08 miles away
Toeters en Bellen
18 reviews
2.12 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
tessica123
18 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Giulia Z | Reviewed this property |
The queue can get pretty long. The castle opens only at 12 am. We were there at 11:45, and there were already 10-15 people waiting, and after us quite few more built-up fast before the castle opening. We had the museum card... More
3
Votes
nech56
13 June 2015|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from LiviaMarquesini | Reviewed this property |
The tour that I joined was in Dutch. The man only speaks english when you ask something. Although, the written information is in english. I didn´t like the tour because of the language. If the guy speaks english and the most... More
0
Votes
Google Translation