We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

C.T. Wilson & Son

28 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

C.T. Wilson & Son

28 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
28Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
  • 1
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lucy wrote a review Jan 2021
Bromsgrove29 contributions11 helpful votes
Fantastic shop! They have everything you need and the staff are brilliant at advising on the part you need and where to find it! Prices no more than in the big superstores- and it’s much more convenient. Highly recommended, whatever you need for house, pets or home.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
Tim H wrote a review Dec 2020
4 contributions3 helpful votes
My friend who doesn't have internet access had terrible service here recently. He's spent over £200 at CT Wilson in the past 2 months, but this doesn't seem to matter one bit to them. He bought a double electrical socket from them for £3.70 and employed a professional electrician to install it. He paid the electrician £50 for doing this job including callout. Later, after the electrician had left, my friend went to use the socket and found that he couldn't push a plug into one side. He then had to call the electrician out again to remove the faulty socket! My friend and the electrician took the item back to CT Wilson who refused to exchange it! The staff argued that they sell lots of these without issue and declined to give a refund, as my friend had lost his receipt! He ended up having to pay for another double socket from there, as he needed it working. Unlike CT Wilson, the electrician fitted the replacement socket and didn't charge for another call-out! My friend did however pay him another £20 for his trouble. What diabolical service that ended up costing my friend way more than £3.70! C. T. Wilson don't deserve the goodwill of local residents, as they clearly don't seem to appreciate it! We recommend using Sc***fix or T***station instead.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, Owner at C.T. Wilson & Son
Responded 6 Jan 2021
Hi Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review your friends experience. We are very sorry that your friend had a negative experience with us. I was the member of staff that served the gentleman in this instance, as i explained, in detail, to the gentleman at the time, with out packaging, a receipt, or proof of purchase ,we were unable to give him a refund, as is the case in every shop . I respect and am great full that the gentleman had shopped with us previously and spent a considerable amount of money in our shop, however, as with any shop this has no bearing on retuning and refunding goods . We consider our returns policy to be quite fair and try to help out where we can, in this instance we could not help, i can ,however, assure you, in the first hand, that i did not argue or quibble that 'we sell lots of these and have never had any returned' in response to the request for a refund, this was refused straight away as the gentleman could not prove he had purchased it from us. The £3.70 refund may seem trivial, however, every little adds up, and we have experienced lots of instances where people have attempted to return goods that have not been purchased from us, in an attempt to get the cash, this is very common in the world of retail, which is why proof of purchase is required. I am not implying this is the case in this instance, merely explaining why these policies are in place. We average 200 transactions a day and have 5 members of staff, it is not possible for us to remember every item we sell, and who to, so it was not possible for us to recall the item being purchased. To call the customer service diabolical, is both unfair and untrue. Adhering to returns policy is standard retail practice, for clarification this is also the case for Sc***fix or T***station - no receipt, packaging or proof of purchase, no refund. I hope that this has cleared up any concerns you may have about our standard refund policy, Kind Regards and best wishes Leah Wilson. CT WILSON AND SON
Read more
Cruiser18268965249 wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
I live nearby this shop and for the last 10 years I 've been a customer on a regular basis, about once a week. I certainly don't expect some smiles and small talks there, but at least some politeness! 2 weeks ago i went there to get some infos on their compost, sizes and prices, then all of a sudden, the man behind the screen said loudly '' we sell them to you, what you do with them is your problem''! I was shocked by that, not only it was irrelevant to my inquiry but it was so rude and dismissive; he didn't care I was a customer plus I felt humiliated in front of the other customer. The man I can describe wearing glasses, moustache and a negative attitude will never have my money ever again. Shame on him, he shouldn't serve the customers; I realised that before, but this time it was too much! I have now found a new place where i just bought 27x50l bags of compost, free delivery, with a kind and appreciative customer service.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, Manager at C.T. Wilson & Son
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our shop,I’m really sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with us, please,if it’s not too much trouble ,could you email me directly, fully detailing your experience, so we can address this directly and hopefully ensure this does not happen again in the future. Keith.wilson8@btconnect.com Kind regards Leah Wilson
Read more
Lizzy84 wrote a review Jun 2020
South Shields, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Well stocked hardware store, and certainly an interesting shop. Wouldn’t hurt them to crack a smile though.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, Manager at C.T. Wilson & Son
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review our shop, I’m really sorry to hear that you felt we were a little grumpy ,we will take your comments on board ,and hope to improve in the future. Kind regards Leah wilson
Read more
David K wrote a review Feb 2020
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom93 contributions26 helpful votes
To keep it brief i have never failed to find what I need in this wonderful shop. Things to clean the straw attachment on water bottles last time. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable too. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Keith W, Manager at C.T. Wilson & Son
Responded 26 Aug 2020
Thank you for the great review ,it’s always great to know that we sell what you need When you need it ,really appreciate it. Kind regards Leah wilson
Read more
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about C.T. Wilson & Son