C.T. Wilson & Son
C.T. Wilson & Son
4.5
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Saturday
8:30 AM - 4:30 PM
About
C.T. Wilson- Olney's Aladdin's cave- We stock a massive variety of bits and bobs for a little shop. Including, Coal and solid fuels, Hardware and DIY, Timber and sheet materials, aggregates, Homewares, Cleaning supplies, Log baskets , Coal buckets, Companion sets, Gardening supplies and Compost, Pet Supplies and feeds, Wild Bird and Chicken feeds, and lots lots more. Come and have a wander.
Duration: < 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.


We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
30 reviews
Excellent
27
Very good
0
Average
0
Poor
1
Terrible
2

David T
Newport Pagnell, UK1 contribution
Aug 2023 • Solo
I live in Olney and have been using the shop for all manner of diy and gardening supplies for over 10 years. Only once did they fail to supply my needs and even then the staff found me an alternative. I have always found the staff to be friendly, helpful and very well informed about their products. They also have an excellent delivery service.
Written 22 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Joseph A
Turvey, UK21 contributions
Aug 2021
A traditional hardware store with everything you could need. If I'm doing some DIY at home and need a spare part I call up and they're very helpful over the phone. A store that I hope remains in Olney for a very long time.
Written 10 November 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Lucy
Bromsgrove36 contributions
Jan 2021 • Solo
Fantastic shop! They have everything you need and the staff are brilliant at advising on the part you need and where to find it!
Prices no more than in the big superstores- and it’s much more convenient.
Highly recommended, whatever you need for house, pets or home.
Written 30 January 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tim H
4 contributions
Nov 2020 • Friends
My friend who doesn't have internet access had terrible service here recently. He's spent over £200 at CT Wilson in the past 2 months, but this doesn't seem to matter one bit to them.

He bought a double electrical socket from them for £3.70 and employed a professional electrician to install it. He paid the electrician £50 for doing this job including callout.
Later, after the electrician had left, my friend went to use the socket and found that he couldn't push a plug into one side.
He then had to call the electrician out again to remove the faulty socket!

My friend and the electrician took the item back to CT Wilson who refused to exchange it!
The staff argued that they sell lots of these without issue and declined to give a refund, as my friend had lost his receipt!
He ended up having to pay for another double socket from there, as he needed it working.
Unlike CT Wilson, the electrician fitted the replacement socket and didn't charge for another call-out!
My friend did however pay him another £20 for his trouble.

What diabolical service that ended up costing my friend way more than £3.70!
C. T. Wilson don't deserve the goodwill of local residents, as they clearly don't seem to appreciate it!

We recommend using Sc***fix or T***station instead.
Written 3 December 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Tim, Thank you for taking the time to review your friends experience. We are very sorry that your friend had a negative experience with us. I was the member of staff that served the gentleman in this instance, as i explained, in detail, to the gentleman at the time, with out packaging, a receipt, or proof of purchase ,we were unable to give him a refund, as is the case in every shop . I respect and am great full that the gentleman had shopped with us previously and spent a considerable amount of money in our shop, however, as with any shop this has no bearing on retuning and refunding goods . We consider our returns policy to be quite fair and try to help out where we can, in this instance we could not help, i can ,however, assure you, in the first hand, that i did not argue or quibble that 'we sell lots of these and have never had any returned' in response to the request for a refund, this was refused straight away as the gentleman could not prove he had purchased it from us. The £3.70 refund may seem trivial, however, every little adds up, and we have experienced lots of instances where people have attempted to return goods that have not been purchased from us, in an attempt to get the cash, this is very common in the world of retail, which is why proof of purchase is required. I am not implying this is the case in this instance, merely explaining why these policies are in place. We average 200 transactions a day and have 5 members of staff, it is not possible for us to remember every item we sell, and who to, so it was not possible for us to recall the item being purchased. To call the customer service diabolical, is both unfair and untrue. Adhering to returns policy is standard retail practice, for clarification this is also the case for Sc***fix or T***station - no receipt, packaging or proof of purchase, no refund. I hope that this has cleared up any concerns you may have about our standard refund policy, Kind Regards and best wishes Leah Wilson. CT WILSON AND SON
Written 6 January 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cruiser18268965249
1 contribution
Aug 2020
I live nearby this shop and for the last 10 years I 've been a customer on a regular basis, about once a week.
I certainly don't expect some smiles and small talks there, but at least some politeness!
2 weeks ago i went there to get some infos on their compost, sizes and prices, then all of a sudden, the man behind the screen said loudly '' we sell them to you, what you do with them is your problem''!
I was shocked by that, not only it was irrelevant to my inquiry but it was so rude and dismissive; he didn't care I was a customer plus I felt humiliated in front of the other customer.
The man I can describe wearing glasses, moustache and a negative attitude will never have my money ever again. Shame on him, he shouldn't serve the customers; I realised that before, but this time it was too much!
I have now found a new place where i just bought 27x50l bags of compost, free delivery, with a kind and appreciative customer service.
Written 25 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review our shop,I’m really sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with us, please,if it’s not too much trouble ,could you email me directly, fully detailing your experience, so we can address this directly and hopefully ensure this does not happen again in the future. Keith.wilson8@btconnect.com Kind regards Leah Wilson
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lizzy84
South Shields, UK10 contributions
Jun 2020
Well stocked hardware store, and certainly an interesting shop. Wouldn’t hurt them to crack a smile though.
Written 24 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to review our shop, I’m really sorry to hear that you felt we were a little grumpy ,we will take your comments on board ,and hope to improve in the future. Kind regards Leah wilson
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

David K
Buckinghamshire, UK96 contributions
Feb 2020
To keep it brief i have never failed to find what I need in this wonderful shop. Things to clean the straw attachment on water bottles last time. The staff are helpful and knowledgeable too. Highly recommended.
Written 24 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for the great review ,it’s always great to know that we sell what you need When you need it ,really appreciate it. Kind regards Leah wilson
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Cosmo H
Bedford, UK5 contributions
Sept 2019
I have been coming here for over 40 years. Will keep coming. It is not a place for entertainment but a country hardware shop.
Written 27 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for the review, pleased to hear your happy :) Look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards Leah wilson
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

antoinetteog
Olney, UK26 contributions
Aug 2019
Everyone loves - and needs - a hardware shop. And this is somewhere you need and will love. It has everything you need and helpful staff who help you find it in the Aladdin’s cave.
Written 14 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you, very kind words and always nice to know that we’re getting it right :) Thank you for your time . Kind regards Leah wilson
Written 26 August 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

88RobG
Olney, UK33 contributions
Aug 2019 • Solo
Part of Olney life this place is an institution if you need anything they have it ... mostly. Yes B&Q might be cheaper but after fuel it’s usually not and having a fantastic place like this locally is vital so we need to keep using it so we don’t lose it.
Written 4 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your very kind words. We hope you enjoy it for years to come, Kind Regards Keith Wilson
Written 5 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 30
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

C.T. WILSON & SON: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about C.T. Wilson & Son

C.T. Wilson & Son is open:
  • Mon - Fri 08:00 - 16:30
  • Sat - Sat 08:30 - 16:30