We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Halfpenny Green Wine Estate

Tom Lane | Halfpenny Green, Bobbington DY7 5EP, England
+44 1384 221122
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Overpriced

Nice enough place for a cafe, ordered mushroom and Stilton burger, wow, 3 small breakfast... read more

Reviewed 15 May 2018
ljfox444
,
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Halfpenny vineyard nice but grumpy staff let it down

Having not been to Halfpenny Vineyards for several years it was nice to see how it has expanded... read more

Reviewed 7 May 2018
CCliff2018
,
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 110 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Halfpenny Green Wine Estate has been producing award-winning English wines for over 30 years. Situated in the rolling hills of the South Staffordshire countryside, the site is host to 30 acres of vines, a winery, a gift shop and tasting area, a lunch service restaurant and tearooms, as well as a craft centre featuring over 15 independent local businesses.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good37%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“craft shops” (20 reviews)
“wine tasting” (7 reviews)
“high tea” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
Tom Lane | Halfpenny Green, Bobbington DY7 5EP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1384 221122
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"craft shops"
in 20 reviews
"wine tasting"
in 7 reviews
"high tea"
in 3 reviews
"lovely tea"
in 2 reviews
"pleasant surroundings"
in 3 reviews
"sandwiches and cakes"
in 2 reviews
"special gift"
in 2 reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 4 reviews
"unusual gifts"
in 2 reviews
"lovely place to spend"
in 2 reviews
"pot of tea"
in 2 reviews
"really enjoyed our visit"
in 2 reviews
"individual shops"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 4 reviews
"value for money"
in 5 reviews
"little girl"
in 2 reviews
"hot drinks"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2018

Nice enough place for a cafe, ordered mushroom and Stilton burger, wow, 3 small breakfast mushrooms and blue cheese couldn't even taste, all for a tenner, same price as beef burgers and chicken burgers, rip off, better priced at about 4.99 at a push, Also...More

1  Thank ljfox444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for visiting, we're sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience here. You stated that you were unhappy with your Mushroom & Stilton Burger, but did you mention anything to the staff on the day when we did our table check-back?...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Having not been to Halfpenny Vineyards for several years it was nice to see how it has expanded. Shop and restaurant looked nice and was looking forward to a nice bank holiday lunch and planned to purchase 6 bottles of the local wine to take...More

1  Thank CCliff2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hi, Thank you for visiting, we're sorry you didn't enjoy your experience here. Following your comments, we have consulted with staff that were present on the day. The tasting staff in the Wine Loft confirmed that you were provided with some samples and information on...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

We had this given to us as a wedding present so didn't know what to expect. It was fantastic. The wines were extremely tasty and learning about the growth of the family business was really interesting. We were very lucky that we had Clive the...More

Thank MrsDCC2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting, we're glad you had such a great time. We'll pass your kind words on to Clive, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Pleasantly surprised as we'd been recommended to visit with our children under the impression there were farm animals and a cafe. Finding a range of craft shops, a restaurant and a mini zoo made the visit more than expected. It's a shame some of the...More

Thank le6o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting, we're glad you had such a great time. As independent businesses, craft unit owners do need to take days off each week, but generally you'll find many open each day. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

Saw the sign and called in. Fascinating place with a multitude of interesting outlets plus the Winery itself. Had a lovely lunch and came away with some wine and some unusual chocolates.

Thank daveatforgecottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting, we're glad you had such a great time here. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2018 via mobile

Visited on a whim with friend not really knowing what to expect and we were glad we did. After a quick wander around we opted for lunch in the conservatory. All the wait staff were super friendly and helpful. We chose the mushroom and Stilton...More

Thank MHJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for visiting, we're glad you had a great time! Just a note on the service, we do offer full table service in our restaurant area, where you are more than welcome to order from the same menu as our conservatory. The conservatory area,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

This is an overpriced café. My friend and I visited here for a quick coffee and cake , however, we had to wait for half an hour for the waitress to come over! Not worth it.More

1  Thank Mesbah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Mesbah, thank you for visiting. Did you sit in the conservatory area (the seating area as you enter)? This is the best area to sit for a quick drink and cake, and all orders should be placed at the counter using your table number,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely selection of roasts plus the normal menu too. I opted for faggots. They were so good I bought some from the on site deli to take home. So, why didn’t I give it 5 stars? Service was slow, drinks orders kept getting mixed up...More

Thank B1G_J0N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for visiting, we're glad you had a great time here! Apologies regarding the drinks and speed of service - we do advise that there can be a delay during peak times, but we're always working flat out to freshly prepare, cook and serve...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Thank you Sean for such an informative afternoon about gin. We tasted 8 between 2 of us and learnt about how it is made, what to add, and how to taste. Great fun.

Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thanks for visiting Diane, we're glad you had such a great time. See you again soon hopefully!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Mum requested that we went here as she had been before and loved it. We decided on tea and scones I am sugar intolerant so I'm a pain when choosing something. I was delighted to see that they did a savoury scone served with butter...More

1  Thank MillyWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben G, Public Relations Manager at Halfpenny Green Wine Estate, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Thank you for visiting, we're glad you enjoyed the scones so much! We looking forward to seeing you on your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Bobbington Hotels
Himley Country Hotel
758 reviews
3.19 miles away
Himley House Good Night Inn Hotel
414 reviews
3.33 miles away
Heath Brook Lodge
45 reviews
3.50 miles away
The Kingfisher Hotel
219 reviews
3.57 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Old Gate Inn
141 reviews
1.06 miles away
The Woodman
507 reviews
1.73 miles away
The Red Lion Inn
309 reviews
1.77 miles away
The Bell Inn
305 reviews
1.77 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lets Go Round Again
18 reviews
2.80 miles away
Ashwood Nurseries and John's Garden
99 reviews
3.56 miles away
Baggeridge Country Park
239 reviews
4.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Jessicaheys
14 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Rippingrik | Reviewed this property |
Seemed to be space when we were there to get around but it will be busy no doubt!!!
0
Votes
;