Bar 135

Bar 135, Bristol: Address, Phone Number, Bar 135 Reviews: 4.5/5

About
We are a brand new, independent, late night cocktail bar in Clifton. We offer a wide array of cocktails and spirits as well as a handpicked wine and beer selection to cater for all tastes. Whilst we love the speakeasy style, we felt Bristol (and Whiteladies in particular) needed an alternative late night place to enjoy a drink, not a club but lively nonetheless, so that's what we are! Pop in, say hello and see what what you think for yourselves! We also offer a full venue hire, so if you're looking for an excuse to have a party, give us a call and the place can be yours. If you're feeling really generous why not talk to us about our friends at Papadeli who can put together a food offering for your guests. As well as the bar and private venue hire, we also offer a bartender training school. Whether you have just left school and looking to learn a useful skill, or just looking for a change in career, we can offer a range of courses to teach you everything you need to know to understand cocktails, wines and the techniques required to work behind a bar.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours and Tickets
The area
Address
Best nearby
Restaurants
1,343 within 5 kms
Attractions
162 within 5 kms
Popular mentions

4.5
28 reviews
Excellent
23
Very good
2
Average
1
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Elaine
Athens, Greece4 contributions
Unpleasant experience
Dec 2019 • Friends
We visited the bar last night as a group. At first everything was fine. We ordered our drinks. Good cocktails and reasonably priced drinks. All good. After a while we found the music to be a bit dreary. We politely asked the bar man if we could have a change of music for a bit. Maybe some 80 s. He flatly refused. He said it was his bar and only played the music he liked. I said that was not very customer friendly. A extremely drunk person sitting at the bar obviously a regular joined it saying it was his birthday he liked the music and it was up to the bar man what was played. I was shocked when the bar man told me if I didn’t like it then to LEAVE. APPALLING way to talk to a paying customer ! We all decided to leave. Won’t be going back
Written 19 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Vikki D
3 contributions
Great private hire venue
Oct 2019 • Friends
I booked bar135 for my husbands surprise 30th! The venue was perfect for it. we had our own DJ and the bar supply speakers and everything else you may need for music!
They have a tv which you can upload pictures to have rolling through the night and was able to decorate freely! The only bit of advice is that you are only able to decorate from 6pm the night of hire so have plenty of time and hands to help before the kick off time to do what you’d like to do there.
Staff we’re extremely helpful all night and the cocktails were a winner!
Would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for the perfect space to hire for a party and will definitely be back for cocktails one evening!

Thanks again team Bar135 🎉
Written 24 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

CompassSpinner
Bristol, UK258 contributions
Great staff but awful acoustics
Aug 2019
Great staff and cocktails were good, especially the strawberry one. Music was bad, though - jazz is more apt here not screamy rock. Group of louty lads could have been tasered too, they were that loud and distributive. Really not good on my eardrums. Furious!
Written 30 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sophie F
3 contributions
Slooowwww
Jan 2018 • Friends
Unfortunately my experience of this bar doesn't tally with the rest of the reviews on here :( we met friends here on Saturday evening around 8pm and although the atmosphere of the bar was nice and they had a good selection of cocktails, it was the slowest service at thwbcar I have ever experienced. At one point I waited 30 mins to order 2 cocktails and the bar wasn't full. I appreciate that a good cocktail takes time but the lad behind the bar was taking far too long on each drink. When you are selling cocktails on 2 for 10 pounds people don't want you to stick rigidly to stirring a cocktail for 6 minutes (yes 6, several of us asked what was going on) because that is what you have been taught. There were only 2 bar staff on a Saturday that had to cover the whole place which meant there was often only one person making drinks whilst the other collected and washed glasses and re stocked ice etc.
Really disappointing experience and only stayed because we were a large group and it was hard to move everyone on. We wouldn't recommend it if you all want a drink within the space of an hour!
Written 28 January 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hi Sophie, sorry to hear about your poor experience at the bar. We always recommend booking ahead if planning to come as a big group as bars aren't necessarily staffed ready for capacity from the outset - especially that early on for a late night bar such as ours - making cocktails for 25-30 people all arriving at the same time ordering 2 for £10 is a time-consuming process and had we known you were coming we would have arranged an extra member of staff accordingly, which we tried to, however, unfortunately, they made it there as you were leaving.
Written 29 January 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Wendy C
1 contribution
Brilliant 40th birthday party
Sep 2017 • Friends
I hired this venue for my 40th birthday and it was perfect. Really good size for 60 guests, felt really busy but still had lots of room for a dance. Staff were awesome on the night and Tom looked after everything from a planning point of view. They even got new disco lights for me. All my friends said the cocktails were lovely (I stuck on the G&T).
The only bad thing was the sore head the next day!
Thank you for making my birthday brilliant.
Written 1 October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks Wendy, it was lovely to have you! You're welcome back anytime. Apologies for the sore head
Written 3 October 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TamTam W
29 contributions
Great venue, brilliant staff and cocktails!
Sep 2017 • Friends
I recently hired this venue for an intimate birthday gathering. The staff were fantastic in helping organise the evening and accommodating to our needs. We were also able to play our own music throughout the night. Would highly recommend as a venue to hire for an occasion or to just visit on a night out! Thank you :)
Written 4 September 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

shane r
Bristol, UK8 contributions
Hidden Gem
Jul 2017 • Solo
Lovely little wine bar set in a basement on whiteladies road opposite clifton down.

The ladies working there were absolutely lovely and there was a really nice atmosphere. The cocktails were 2 for £10 and the staff were knowledgeable and friendly. I stuck to the wine though (and the bar snacks!) They even sorted out an Uber for me to get home. Can't recommend enough!
Written 30 July 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Thanks Shane, glad you enjoyed yourself! Look forward to seeing you soon
Written 31 July 2017
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diva27
Exeter, UK144 contributions
Great cocktails
May 2017 • Couples
This is a lovely little cocktail bar that we visited on the 13th May after going to the foodies festival.

We only saw it in the off chance the as a member of staff was putting the board outside. It said 2 cocktails for £10 so her headed on in.

The bar girl was very friendly and chatty as it was only my husband and I in there. She helpfully recommended some other cocktail bars and tapas restaurants for us to try as we didn't know the area.

The cocktails she made were great! I had the Sl*t Drop which came with a shot of Prosecco on the side and my husband had a Mojito.

Only negative was the smell of the toilets which you can avoid if you sit closest to the bar.

Would definitely recommend Bar 135.
Written 14 May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RachelJayneT
12 contributions
Great party venue
Apr 2017 • Friends
Held my 30th birthday here, and cannot recommend highly enough. Friendly and professional service from the get go, the team accommodated all my party needs. On the night they let us in early to set up, were super friendly to all the guests, and sorted out some excellent tunes. Cocktails were tasty, and prices otherwise reasonable. Thank you so much!
Written 1 May 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Kayleigh L
1 contribution
Best venue for private hire!
Feb 2017 • Friends
A BIG THANKS to the team at Bar 135. Not only is it a brilliant private hire venue, lovely decor, yummy cocktails...but the staff are so friendly and go out of their way to make your night perfect! Had an unforgettable 30th Birthday Party! Thanks again :)
Written 7 February 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 28
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing