We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bristol and Wessex Aeroplane Club

Bristol, United Kingdom
More
About Bristol and Wessex Aeroplane Club
A friendly, professional flying club based at Bristol Airport. With a great view of the airfield, indoor/outdoor seating and a licensed cafe and bar, the club is open to all and has plenty of free parking. Offering a whole host of training from the Private Pilots Licence (PPL) through to the Night Qualification and IMC Rating, and If you are new to the world of aviation we also provide a wide range of trial lessons as tasters, or to get you started on the road towards a PPL. Our highly professional instructors have an admirable reputation for their excellent standards.
Read more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:00
See all hours
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travellers talk about

Bristol and Wessex Aeroplane Club
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
30Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
carrie b wrote a review Yesterday
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Amazing experience! Had a 30 min taster session would highly recommend to anyone looking for a new experience
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
The Flying S wrote a review 19 Sep
1 contribution1 helpful vote
A half hour trial flight lesson was booked for our 15 year old and Jonathan the instructor was extremely engaging, interesting and professional in every way. A certificate was issued at the end of the flight and advice given as regards making sure this flight time was added towards any future license as well as information about their other courses towards the PPL. A very proud moment and very much a place we will come back to hopefully very soon.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Casper_f123 wrote a review Aug 2021
15 contributions8 helpful votes
Hands up; I missed my session. Therefore, I would be happy to forego it. However, there is no customer service here. I run a small business myself and know the value of repeat business and word-of-mouth business - both meaning less is needed in advertising and a good reputation equals a prosperous business. 1. I have to forfeit the cost of my missed session, agreed. They could have offered to rebook or work with me in trying to find an alternative. The answer? "There is nothing we can do". 2. I am still interested in a session because I am a geek and love flying. When I then ask, is there something you can offer to make sure I rebook, e.g. 10% off the booking or similar. The answer? "We can't do that". 3. Lastly, and more annoyingly, the guy then started talking over me and all he was doing was explaining, for the third time, that the instructor is self-employed. In summary, there is zero customer service; no interest in customers booking and being rude on the phone. I am now caught in between: I would happily rebook to have the session but I don't want to give income to this company.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from bristolwessex, General Manager at Bristol and Wessex Aeroplane Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your experience with us, we take pride in the customer service that we deliver through our front of house staff and instructors so we were disappointed to read your comments as that’s not how we like to run our flying club, please can you contact the club on 01275 475429 when next convenient so we can offer you a suitable resolution to your experience.
Read more
Nicky W wrote a review Jul 2021
1 contribution
Having attempted to use a voucher for a trial 1-hour lesson for my son's 18th birthday, the Company didn't even apologise or provide any recompense for the fact we've been unable to use the voucher due to covid, isolations, shielding and to being unavailable through being stuck at university. No element of understanding, apology, suggestion or otherwise. A blanket no. If customer service, consideration and courtesy is important to you, I would look elsewhere.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from bristolwessex, General Manager at Bristol and Wessex Aeroplane Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thanks for leaving us a review on your experience with us and for your letter which we also received, we have investigated this case in depth and have found that as you stated the trial lesson was purchased in September 2019 with a 6 month expiry date of March 2020 before the Covid pandemic occurred, from our records the trial lesson for your sons 18th birthday in November 2019 wasn’t booked as you had planned and so we were then into the winter. The voucher is now a few weeks away from being 2 years old which even with the extension we gave to honour vouchers is still well outside what is acceptable to us. We are a charitable company and we do lots of work with the local community, local charities and help individuals where we can to give back to the community around us, a lot of this is unpublicised on our website so we feel your comments on this are untrue as you aren’t fully aware of what goes on behind the scenes within the company. We are sorry that your son was unable to take his trial flight due to circumstances completely out of our control.
Read more
Julia S wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Amazing experience and actually surprisingly relaxing!! A lovely birthday treat. We had s wonderful time.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from bristolwessex, General Manager at Bristol and Wessex Aeroplane Club
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for the great review, we are pleased you had a great time.
Read more
Previous