We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share

Chester Free Walking Tours
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
4
All photos (4)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good29%
  • Average0%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible29%
9 Oct 2018
“Very enjoyable Tour of Chester”
19 Jun 2018
“Very interesting Tour”
About
Free tour available most days from Celebration of Chester Monument, Town Hall Square. No booking fee whatsoever, guides work on a tips-only basis, you tip your guide when the tour is completed and only then what you think the tour was worth. No...more
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
| Celebration of Chester Monument, Town Hall Square, Chester CH1 9TG, England
Website
+44 7765 188525
Call
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveller rating
7
3
0
0
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
7
3
0
0
5
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 15 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

My Sister and i decided to try the walking tour, it cost £7.00 each which was very reasonable. We were welcomed by our guide, unfortunately I didn't catch his name his was an 82 year old chap who said he had been doing the tour...More

Thank Kay M
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Really enjoyed the walk around chester. the walk took 2 hours and cost 7 pounds per person, well worth it. We live in Chester and we now know much more about our City, highly recommended. Friendly local guide (Peter) who had a passion for the...More

Thank Medwyn H
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

About 2hrs of walking but with our knowledgeable guide John the time passed in a wealth of historical Information, stories and facts. Very professional and popular. To keep groups to reasonable sizes they use as many guides as needed.

1  Thank jorose17
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

I've tried for the past two days to book a walking tour for my visitors for this weekend, but despite their website and Facebook page saying there was a tour planned for today at 1pm, and despite me booking online as required (with the reply...More

2  Thank dingerbell
Reviewed 22 June 2017

Booked online, drove to Chester, waited where told, and waited, and waited. No guide and no notification despite them having my contact details. Very disappointing.More

Thank hughwatson
ChesterFreeTours, Public Relations Manager at Chester Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Hi Hugh, really sorry about your recent trip to Chester. We are experiencing problems with running tours at the moment due to a number of medical and personal reasons, we did send a message to tell you about this beforehand though it seems to have...More

Reviewed 31 May 2017

We tried to book a tour with this company months in advance, and were told it was to soon. We tried to book again weeks in advance, and we thought we had a reservation for a tour, only to find out the day before that...More

Thank ellenjdlmsw
ChesterFreeTours, Public Relations Manager at Chester Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2017

Hi Ellen, Thanks for the feedback. Sorry that we weren't able to arrange a guided tour for you for your recent May trip to Chester. When you first contacted us in January, we sent you an email saying that we didn't know who would be...More

Reviewed 12 February 2017

In spite of the really cold day, our guide Steve made the tour enjoyable and was very informative. We would recommend your tours to others.

3  Thank joy170
Reviewed 12 December 2016

A small group of friends met with Steve at the time we'd arranged. Steve was very friendly and immediately began telling us all about Chester. He was very informative and happy to answer any questions we had. The tour took about 2 hours and included...More

2  Thank Laughingbear
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Had a great afternoon guided around the city with Mary. She was very knowledgeable and did all that she could to answer questions from the group. I highly recommend the tour and I know that my friends all enjoyed it very much too.

2  Thank Michaela H
Reviewed 20 September 2016

We arrived at the meeting point 10 minutes early, but the guide never turned up, we waited around 10 extra minutes but still no joy. As I am originally from Chester I showed my friends around myself but it would have been god to have...More

Thank Daya101
ChesterFreeTours, Guest Relations Manager at Chester Free Walking Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2016

Hi Daya101, terribly sorry to hear about your recent troubles. We weren't running tours on the day that you mentioned and had no idea that you were planning to take a tour with us on that day. If you'd have let us know beforehand we...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 nearby hotels
The Commercial Bar & Hotel
403 reviews
.08 miles away
Crowne Plaza Chester
1,959 reviews
.14 miles away
The Chester Grosvenor
3,111 reviews
.17 miles away
Macdonald New Blossoms Hotel
2,078 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 608 nearby restaurants
Chef's Table
1,234 reviews
.04 miles away
Veeno Italian Wine Cafe
302 reviews
.02 miles away
The Coach House
322 reviews
.03 miles away
Cafe Gate
69 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 203 nearby attractions
Chester Cathedral Falconry and Nature Gardens
507 reviews
.05 miles away
Chester Cathedral
4,586 reviews
.06 miles away
Chester Rows
1,188 reviews
.09 miles away
Chester Visitor Information Centre
178 reviews
.01 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
madz257
23 August 2018|
Answer
Response from MarcCass |
Hi, sorry. We have no guides available for the foreseeable future so can't facilitate a tour at the time that you need.
0
Votes
roy v
11 August 2016|
Answer
Response from ChesterFreeTours | Property representative |
Hi Roy, our tours run most days but Guides are not always available so it will depend on the day you need. If you e-mail us on chesterfreewalkingtours @ gmail. com. We can arrange something for you.
0
Votes
kiggins2016
20 July 2016|
Answer
Response from ChesterFreeTours | Property representative |
Hi, thank you for taking an interest in our tours. Unfortunately due to unforseen circumstances there will be no tours running on Wednesday afternoon . If you get in touch with us we can arrange a different day/time for you.
0
Votes
linh238
12 July 2016|
Answer
Response from ChesterFreeTours | Property representative |
Hi, many thanks for getting in touch. I'm sure that we can organise a tour for your group. Could you please email us at chesterfreewalkingtours @ gmail. com with more details about your group and we'll sort something out for... More
0
Votes