We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
1,478
All photos (1,478)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good25%
  • Average13%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“land rover”(314 reviews)
“cobbled street”(86 reviews)
“red lion”(105 reviews)
About
Clovelly, North Devon. World famous for our cobbled, traffic-free street, donkeys, sledges and historic harbour. The stunning views, peaceful tranquility and cobbled, traffic-free, high street of this world famous fishing village, built into a cleft...more
Contact
Off the A39 | Nr Bideford, Clovelly EX39 5TA, England
Website
+44 7974 134701
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (2,118)
Filter reviews
2,034 results
Traveller rating
863
515
280
148
228
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
863
515
280
148
228
Show reviews that mention
All reviews land rover cobbled street red lion pretty village steep walk the pub landrover service wear sensible shoes fisherman's cottage harbour wall walking shoes donkey rides the cottages small fee charles kingsley step back in time take your time
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,034 reviews
Reviewed today

My last visit was in the late 50's but my memory was good, still a stunning place to visit. Cobbled hill not for the faint hearted. Now with car park and shops with café at the top and £7.50 adult entry fee extra for trip...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Tony S
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Visited with family as we were staying in devon. I appreciate it is an untouched place of beauty however the cobbled streets are extremely steep and unsafe. After paying £7.50 each to enter nothing was open. It would have been nice to be informed of...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank 475nicolaf
Reviewed 1 week ago

My son was visiting from the USA and he wanted to show his partner the lovely, historic and interesting Clovelly that he remembered on a previous visit a few years back. However, when we arrived and paid at the Visitor Centre, we were not informed...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Jill K
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor, We were saddened to hear of your unsatisfactory visit to Clovelly. During the winter months several of Clovellys private businesses are closed and the two hotels have reduced hours. It was unfortunate that you were not aware of this and for that we...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I took my boys to revisit this little village , as they had gone before when they were very young.It was a lovely day where we were able to learn pottery, stroke donkeys, walk down to the waterfall and awesome lunch at a tea shop...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Anni T
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor, Thank you for your review. It was lovely to read how much you appreciated our village and that you were able to take advantage of many of the things that make Clovelly such a memorable place to visit. We hope you are able...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Coming from Australia and being bought up in Clovelly in Sydney, i just had to stop and have a look. What a stunning place.Very quaint and the view from the top is stunning. The cobblestone path on the way down can be a challenge! Its...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Narelle54
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor, Thank you for your kind and positive review of Clovelly! We deeply appreciate your comments and are delighted to read how much you enjoyed your visit. Please tell all of your friends in Australia that Clovelly is a must see and do come...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

They charge 7.50 entry and give you a leaflet telling of all the places open. Nearly every shop was closed and there wasn’t a single person making the crafts they tell you about. In effect paid for an expensive car park!!!!!!!!!More

Date of experience: January 2019
2  Thank BP191
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor, We were sorry to read of your disappointment while visiting Clovelly. We are not sure why you were not made aware of what was open when you paid your admission. Did you voice your displeasure to the visitor center manager when you returned...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Very informative visitor centre prepares you for a wonderful trip to this historic village. Be sure to watch the film first and then take the steep walk down the cobbled hill to this typical English coastal working port. A well preserved piece of English history,...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Mark W
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor, Thank you very much for your review of Clovelly village. We were so pleased to read how much you enjoyed the visitors center and that you recommended the film show.The film show sets up what you will be experiencing as you walk through...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This place is so pretty, make sure you have good walking boots and not Uggs (like I had), not for the unfit but a lovely day outMore

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank whateverwhocares
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Visitor, Thank you for your review of Clovelly. We are delighted you thought the village was very pretty.Time and time again we hear how much our visitors appreciate the spectacular beauty of the village and surrounding landscape. Sensible footwear is definitely a good idea...More

Reviewed 2 January 2019

We walked both ways which was hard going but enjoyable. Was happy to see that the hotel was open for coffee as everything else was closed.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank David H
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Dear Visitor, Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are happy to hear you found your walk down the famous cobbled street enjoyable and we hope you will be able to make a return visit one day.

Reviewed 2 January 2019

ok, so ive never paid to visit a village before, but there you go. why not. its privately owned and so you park up and go through a visitor centre where you then get into cobbled street. its so picturesque and a lovely place really....More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Amber O
Jana E, Public Relations Manager at Clovelly Village, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2019

Dear Visitor, Happy New Year! Thank you for your review and we are absolutely delighted you enjoyed your visit. Your right about Clovelly being picturesque and lovely and you are in good company! One of Charles Dickens characters from his short story A Message from...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Red Lion Hotel
701 reviews
.02 miles away
New Inn
261 reviews
.09 miles away
Hoops Inn
512 reviews
3.67 miles away
Penhaven Country House Hotel
11 reviews
4.90 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 3 nearby restaurants
The Cottage Tea Rooms
198 reviews
.02 miles away
The Farmers Arms
69 reviews
2.54 miles away
The Old Bakery Coffee Shop
150 reviews
3.68 miles away
The Bell Inn
149 reviews
4.90 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 12 nearby attractions
The Milky Way Adventure Park
1,811 reviews
1.28 miles away
Sandymouth Beach
425 reviews
2.87 miles away
Hartland Point Lighthouse
181 reviews
3.56 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
fwowen
21 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from David B | Reviewed this property |
I believe the Visitor centre at Clovelly welcomes motorhomes for overnight parking. Ring 01237 431781 for confirmation.
0
Votes
Natasha R
21 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from to_experience_new | Reviewed this property |
Hi Sorry, I really don't know - we walked down and up
1
Vote
Jan W
14 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from pennybr0wn | Reviewed this property |
Hi When we went for the day, we did not pay for parking but only paid for visiting the village, I am sure that they will have a different cost for people who are staying at Clovelly. My advice is ring the New Inn, have a... More
1
Vote