We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Powderham Castle

Features Animals
Closed Now: 10:00 - 17:00
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Share
Review Highlights
Beautiful house and grounds

Went to visit this week for a 2nd time , last visit was about 5 years ago. This time it was... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Cheryl S
,
Worthing, United Kingdom
Absolutely fab!

We went in Hallowe’en week for the spooky events that were laid on and weren’t disappointed. First... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Nigel R
via mobile
Read all 850 reviews
319
All photos (319)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent61%
  • Very good29%
  • Average6%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“walled garden”(83 reviews)
“deer park”(94 reviews)
“guided tour”(91 reviews)
About
Powderham Castle is the family home of the 18th Earl & Countess of Devon. It was originally built by Sir Philip Courtenay in 1391 and despite undergoing many transformations since surviving the ravages of the civil war in the 17th century, it has...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 2-3 hours
Contact
| Kenton, Exeter EX6 8JQ, England
Website
+44 1626 890243
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 21 April 2003

Powderham Castle isn't the biggest stately home in the country nor the grandest, but it has a fantastically beautiful setting and a visit there really helps to bring British and European history to life. At £6.90 for an adult it's a bit expensive but that...More

19  Thank Quest15308
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

We have just had the most amazing time watching Tom Jones at Powderham Castle. We pre-booked parking in advance and had to queue for about 40 mins to get into the car park, but accepted that wasn’t too bad. The concert finished just after 10pm...More

8  Thank jcarv524
Reviews (850)
Filter reviews
826 results
Traveller rating
491
239
52
20
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
491
239
52
20
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden deer park guided tour pets corner birds of prey farm shop tractor ride robin hood theatre company upstairs downstairs tour orangery restaurant house tour alice in wonderland small animals play area family home nature trail
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 826 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've attended a few events held by Powderham Castle this year as we live locally, though I've felt let down on every occasion. Thier events management team or the companies they outsource the events to just don't seem to have a clue how to organise...More

Thank DevonDevonDevonDevon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to visit this week for a 2nd time , last visit was about 5 years ago. This time it was Halloween week so there were spooky tours going on for the youngsters. We just did the state room tour where the guide ( Mike)...More

Thank Cheryl S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Drove all the way here from Exmouth to fine the castle closed after looking at the web site which showed it was open from 10. Not impressed.More

1  Thank Liz282
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Liz282, Thank you very much for your feedback. I sincerely apologise that you were misled by your web search and resultantly ended up disappointed! Please note, since we closed for the season, there has been a pop-up alert on our website and details/dates of...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went in Hallowe’en week for the spooky events that were laid on and weren’t disappointed. First we went to a “Potions Lesson” where Potter-esque wizarding professors led a potions class - great fun! Then there was a tour round the darkened castle with stories...More

2  Thank Nigel R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a look on the website for deer safari. It had ended the week before half term, but we went instead. After about 10 mins, we saw a tractor with people going on a deer safari. There had been no posters/leaflets/information about it. Rushed to...More

1  Thank REDYLKIZ
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear REDYLKIZ, Thank you very much for your feedback. I sincerely apologise that you were disappointed by your experience at Powderham. With regards to your point about our Deer Park Safari, these ran daily at 12:45 during half-term and tickets were available to buy online...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We visited last Friday and had an amazing time. Our guide David was so great and knowledgeable and really knew his stuff when it came to the castle. He was so lovely and cannot sing his praises enough. In addition, as we were leaving my...More

Thank Tracey6259
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Tracey6259 Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, and for your kind words! We are so glad you enjoyed your trip to the Castle and your tour, and were able to sort out your car with a little help from...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went to the castle last sunday and i was so glad we did x the staff were extremely helpful to us with a disabled person we had with us . also all the staff were very happy and smiles all round . i was...More

Thank bevertley
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello bevertley Thank you taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your trip to the Castle and I'm glad we were able to accommodate. We hope you will be back to visit again soon!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to Powderham Castle but we will definately go back to do the bits we missed. We arrived early with the Autumn mist just burning off from the estuary and the air full of the sound of the fallow deer roaring in the October...More

Thank Sandie A
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Sandie A Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your trip to the Castle and were able to explore the grounds. It will be wonderful to welcome you back for the Upstairs Downstairs tour, don't...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An unsatifactory experience was had by many of our group during our visit to Powderham. We requested a refund but the staff did everything they could to avoid this. We left the grounds and didn't even recieve an appology. I won't ever be returning to,...More

1  Thank L_-Liz---Hobbs-_H
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Liz, Thank you very much for your feedback - I sincerely apologise for your experience at Powderham. We would greatly appreciate it if you could get in touch with us at castle@powderham.co.uk or call on 01626 890243 to discuss the details of your visit...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went here for a quiet morning before catching our flight home. It was most relaxing wandering the grounds and observing the wildlife, as besides the graceful Deer, we were also lucky enough to see Nuthatch in the ancient Oaks. We particularly liked the cream...More

Thank Alan K
PowderhamCastle, Manager at Powderham Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Alan K Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Castle and explored the grounds. We hope that you may visit again!

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 30 nearby hotels
Lympstone Manor
330 reviews
1.93 miles away
The Dolphin Hotel Exmouth
309 reviews
2.61 miles away
Cavendish Hotel
226 reviews
2.65 miles away
Bay Grand Hotel
550 reviews
2.69 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 580 nearby restaurants
Rodean Restaurant
215 reviews
.56 miles away
Chi Restaurant
169 reviews
.52 miles away
The Dolphin Inn
42 reviews
.50 miles away
Courtenay Cafe
7 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 229 nearby attractions
Oak Meadow Golf Club
16 reviews
1.28 miles away
FootGolf on the Exe
8 reviews
1.95 miles away
Cofton Swan
16 reviews
2.10 miles away
Luccombes Coarse Fishery
13 reviews
2.47 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
904SteveB904
29 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Joan Y | Reviewed this property |
Most of the area is fenced because it is a Deer Park... but by the Restaurant and shops there is a natural car park with quite a large area where I have noticed people walking their dogs from cars parked there.
0
Votes
Gary W
22 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Globetrotter311 | Reviewed this property |
Yes :)
0
Votes
TeresaH2218
14 July 2018|
Answer
Response from Bunny15 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Teresa, if you’re talking about going to Let’s Rock, it depends what you pay for? If you go VIP, then yes. But if you don’t, then no. You just take waterproof coats or umbrellas. I’ve done both now and would recommend... More
0
Votes
Jdblues09
27 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Bill C | Reviewed this property |
We parked okay but during the week
0
Votes
AHGPortsmouth
18 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from HappyTraveller4479 | Reviewed this property |
No, there isn’t. There’s the Topsham Ferry and the Exmouth-Starcross Ferry but that’s all.
1
Vote