We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brittany Ferries

Open Now: 09:00 - 17:30
Open today: 09:00 - 17:30

Brittany Ferries
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
693
All photos (693)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“pont aven”(446 reviews)
“st malo”(225 reviews)
About
Sail with Brittany Ferries from Portsmouth, Poole or Plymouth direct to France and Spain. Our routes take you closer to popular holiday destinations, saving miles of driving, fuel costs, tolls and overnight stops. Choose either superb comfort of a...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:30
See all hours
Contact
Millbay Docks, Plymouth PL1 3EW, England
Website
+44 330 159 7000
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Plymouth
from US$130.15
More Info
from US$394.40
More Info
from US$197.20
More Info
from US$295.80
More Info
Reviews (2,718)
Filter reviews
2,562 results
Traveller rating
1,051
764
327
190
230
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,051
764
327
190
230
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pont aven st malo self service restaurant mini cruise commodore cabin overnight crossing car deck berth cabin return journey main restaurant inside cabin both ways plymouth roscoff club voyage reclining seats ferry company a la carte restaurant
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,562 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Travel very frequently on business between Plymouth and Roscoff on board the Armorique and no complaints with facilities or accommodation. Ferries can be a bit dull of an evening so well done Brittany Ferries for adding some evening entertainment and good luck to singer and...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank menonamey
Reviewed 5 days ago

Travelled back from Bilbao - Portsmouth, had our crossing delayed by 24 hours due to bad weather. Wish they had delayed it longer as our crossing was extremely choppy. My husband and I both have good sea legs but we had to spend most of...More

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank nicolae335
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Brittany Ferries have certainly got it right when it comes to travelling to Spain. The pet facility was excellent as were the cabins and the excellent restaurant. All of the staff were excellent and boarding and disembarking is a slick operation. The whole experience was...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank theknappers
Reviewed 1 week ago

Love travelling on Brittany Ferries, been doing it for 30 years. Well before Brittany Ferries started promoting motorcycle travel in earnest I have enjoyed the convenient shortcut to France, skipping the motorways. I was very disappointed on my last crossing when boarding with my motorcycle...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank FlyingGS
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear 'FlyingGS' I am sorry to read of your disappointment and apologise for any confusion over how to book a motorcycle and sidecar when travelling with us. Our prices are based on the space that a vehicle takes up in the garage not on the...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

For an overnight crossing from Portsmouth to Caen we specifically booked a Commodore class cabin as we were driving to the Alps the following day and the attraction of the Commodore Class was that we got breakfast delivered to the cabin in the morning thus...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Julie T
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'Julie T', I am sorry to hear that you didn't get your breakfast on your recent sailing, I can understand your disappointment with this. The order is usually taken the night before and it sounds as though this was missed. If you have not...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We boarded the Pont Aven on the 29th January for our overnight crossing to Portsmouth.When checking in we were allocated our Cabin Number:5105,when on our way down the corridor towards our cabin we were greeted with this unpleasant aroma of a sewage smell,which lingered on...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Sarah R
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 'Sarah R', Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm sorry to read of the unpleasant aroma in your cabin. You do not mention if you spoke to the staff on board at the time, we'd always recommend this as they...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Will cancel or reschedule crossings quite readily because of "bad weather," but this has more to do with the bottom line, IMHO. Don't rely on them. Don't get me wrong -- I always enjoy the crossing from N Spain to Portsmouth, and back (when it...More

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank David A
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 'David A', I'm sorry to read of your disappointment with regards to sailings affected by inclement weather. There are no hard and fast limitations in place dictating whether or not our ships can sail. Instead, the ship’s captain makes this decision with both safety...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have taken the Brittany ferry on two separate return trips now to Santander and found them to be very good. Our cabins were comfortable and clean. Quiet and not too rocky. The boat has some entertainment and one of the ferries we went on...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Seaside798086
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 'Seaside798086' Thank you for your review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your sailings with us and that you will be travelling with us again. Kind regards Jane Customer Services Brittany Ferries

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having crossed the channel many times ,mostly from Kent , i decided on my return from Spain to Portsmouth from Bilboa, I must admit i thoroughly enjoyed the crossing , cabin was adequate , clean and comfortable, food wasn't bad , tad expensive but that's...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank bigzee2015
BF-CustomerServices, Manager at Brittany Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 'bigzee2015', It's lovely to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your sailing with us and I hope it won't be too long until we can welcome you on board again. Thank you for your review. Kind regards Jane Customer Services Brittany Ferries

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Once again arrived at Poole to get the barfleur to cherborg and told we’re having to share cabins !! Although there’s hardly any freight transport and barely any public cars at all .... so so frustrating as all we wanna do as truck drivers is...More

Date of experience: January 2019
1  Thank Tonksthetrucker
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 nearby hotels
The Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
1,153 reviews
.38 miles away
New Continental Hotel
647 reviews
.47 miles away
Plum Holidays - Drake's Wharf
32 reviews
.51 miles away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
865 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 824 nearby restaurants
The Fig Tree @ 36
182 reviews
.14 miles away
Artillery Tower
375 reviews
.29 miles away
West Hoe Fish Fryers
816 reviews
.36 miles away
Salumi Bar and Eatery
599 reviews
.34 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 481 nearby attractions
Cremyll Ferry
157 reviews
.31 miles away
West Hoe Park
113 reviews
.27 miles away
Royal William Yard
618 reviews
.34 miles away
South West Coast Path Walk - Plymouth Waterfront Walkway
7 reviews
.25 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marianne-and-Peter
31 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Maff10 | Reviewed this property |
You can just have reclining seat booked but cabin is great, especially if slightly rough seas as I always find lying down sorts it out.
0
Votes
70Sarah2014
12 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from BF-CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Sarah, We do accept two small/medium dogs in pet friendly cabins, you would need to give our contact centre a call to do this though. Kind regards Jane
0
Votes