China Blue
Speciality & Gift ShopsVisitor CentresCoffee Shops
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 4:00 PM
About
Treat yourself to a creative experience at China Blue’s paint-you-own ceramic studio - the largest of its kind in the South West! If paintings not your thing, then take time to look around our homeware & accessories store, packed full of gifts ideas for any occasion. Or sit back, relax and refuel in our cafe. Open 7 days a week. Cafe & Homeware Store - Mon / Sat 9:00 – 4:30, Sun 10:00 – 4:00. Ceramic Studio - Mon / Sat 10:00 – 4:30, Sun 10:00 – 4:00
Suggested duration
2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

See what travellers are saying
  • Sarah P
    1 contribution
    Wonderful place for calm. But expensive.
    Such a lovely place, calming and relaxing. Just the space my children needed at this time. I would love to come here more often with my 2 children, but I couldn't afford it as it is very expensive unfortunately. The cafe is expensive, the shop is beautiful but expensive, and the painting area is wonderful but again very expensive. Shame really.
    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Our prices are a reflection of the hand made pottery in our studio, the quality, locally sourced ingredients in the cafe and the artisan giftware and homeware in our shop. We try to avoid price increases where possible but unfortunately it has been unavoidable in the past 9 months. We do have regular offers on in the studio which we always share on our social media pages, @chinabluetotnes We look forward to seeing you again soon!
    Written 27 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 12 January 2023
  • 0203hpk
    7 contributions
    Fun afternoon - need more choice for adults
    Had a lovely afternoon painting pottery, friendly staff and lovely café. One thing I would say is that there is not a large variety of things to paint. There is a lot of children's figures but not so much a variety for adults. There's example work on display of vases but we couldn't find any to paint. There was also a large que to pay as there was only one member of staff who was taking people to their tables, collecting people pottery that had been kilned and also taking payments for items people had painted. This que took us 25 minutes to get through! Please help your staff members out and hire more people as you are very lucky to have such friendly great staff so dont lose them!
    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased you had a great time despite feeling there was little choice. We do try to keep a big range of tableware, planters etc on the shelves for our adult customers so I am disappointed you didn't find much on the day of your visit. We have been opening a second till on busier days to avoid long wait times for our customers so hopefully this would not happen again. Thank you for your understanding, I hope we see you again soon.
    Written 27 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written 7 March 2023
  • Sarah A
    2 contributions
    An afternoon at China Blue
    We had a great time at China Blue and it was good to catch up with good friends, doing something creative in nice surroundings… however the process of handing in our completed masterworks and collecting them is far too long winded. With only one person on the till both times, we waited over twenty minutes. For people with children it was a long wait. The toilets were not the cleanest and really needed to be checked more frequently.
    Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your visit! The wait time at the tills is something we have addressed. We now have a second till open on busiest days so hopefully this shouldn't happen again. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
    Written 27 March 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited February 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 8 March 2023
  • emmamonicajones
    London, United Kingdom5 contributions
    Lovely morning of pottery painting
    We went as four adults and two kids (ages 11 and 7). We all had a lovely time and can't wait to receive our glazes pieces in the post. Very relaxing to do some pottery painting on a quiet Sunday morning, and will definitely come again. My youngest child was finished two pieces quite quickly, so it would have been good to provide paper and normal paint so he could do that while he waited for the rest of us to finish our pottery. We were also told when we arrived that we could order drinks and someone would bring them up, but it turned out that this didn't happen as only one person was on shift and was too busy. Not an issue, we got them ourselves, but it would have been helpful to tell us this from the start. Anyway, thank you for a great visit.
    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad you've enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcome you back soon.
    Written 14 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 29 March 2023
  • Trevor H
    1 contribution
    Good but expensive
    As the title suggests, the experience was good. Very friendly atmosphere and well catered. However the costs make for an eye watering experience. It did take the edge off a little because there was definitely the feeling of being ripped off sadly. I would recommend going but with the warning of cost.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important to us. Our ceramics are handmade and there is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes to get your items fired and glazed. However, we have recently expanded our range of under £15.00 items (including studio charge) and we even have items for as little as £1 now! We also run a monthly offer on a specific collection in the studio too! We are pleased you enjoyed your visit none the less and hope to see you back again soon!
    Written 14 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Written 5 April 2023
  • Charlotte H
    11 contributions
    Too pricey now
    The price rises are ridiculous, won't be going again. Shame as my daughter loves it. £15 for a small animal plus studio fees. Plaster of Paris doesn't cost that much!;
    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important to us. We do our best to keep prices down, expanding our range of under £15.00 items (including studio charge) and we even have items for as little as £1 now! We also run a monthly offer on a specific collection in the studio too! However, our ceramics are handmade, the energy costs to run our kiln are very high and there is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes to get your items fired and glazed. We are pleased to hear your daughter loves it here and we hope to see you back again soon!
    Written 14 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 11 May 2023
  • Jessica T
    2 contributions
    Relaxing but expensive
    It has been a few years since my last visit and my daughter and I went for a relaxing crafting session. The staff are friendly, available and happy to help and there was choice for all ages to find an item to paint. We chose plant pots to paint and the reason I have given China Blue 3 stars is the price!! To do a small plant pot to be fired and glazed, after painted was about £26, which soon adds up if you're a family or a group.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review, your feedback is important to us. We do our best to keep prices down, expanding our range of under £15.00 items (including studio charge) and we even have items for as little as £1 now! We also run a monthly offer on a specific collection in the studio too! However, our ceramics are handmade, the energy costs to run our kiln are very high and there is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes to get your items fired and glazed. We are pleased to hear you did enjoy your visit none the less and we hope to see you back again soon!
    Written 14 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 16 May 2023
  • Lynsay W
    2 contributions
    Unfriendly staff
    Staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. Slow overall from being seated to being able to be paid. No assistance was offered, left own devices to then be told half way through painting the item I wouldn’t be able to use it in a judgemental manner.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Although I am incredibly disappointed to read your feedback, please know that we are in the process of a significant system update, which will make the process much quicker and more efficient for our customers. Our team is usually known for being very helpful and friendly, so I am truly sorry to read that you felt otherwise on this occasion. I do hope you will consider trying our services again soon.
    Written 26 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 7 October 2023
  • Marilyn P
    2 contributions
    Could be better
    Arrived at 12.45 for lunch. Car park pretty full with the layout offering very little room to get in/out of a space. Overflow carpark much better. Found a table OK, but only 2 high chairs available (in use). Available food much less than on the website menu, with no salads at all/nourish bowl option not possible. Brekky roll tasty and chips plentiful but vegan choices minimal and fairly bland unfortunately. Afterwards we had a wander through the shop area and selected an item to purchase. Had to ring the bell for attention and someone came over from the Ceramic Area saying she would be "a minute". After 5 minutes and a queue forming, I gave up. Disappointing experience overall. We have visited China Blue several times and found the staffing to be much better/efficient.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 4 November 2023
  • Jackie W
    Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom12 contributions
    Much improved - we shall come again
    We visit the China painting at this time of year every year as we have a timeshare locally. In the last few years it had gone down hill to the point that we didn’t bother last year, but the weather forced us indoors and we gave it another try. We were so very pleasantly surprised. Firstly there was a huge choice of pottery, Debbie explained everything very well and was available for any questions. Drinks are now delivered to your table and everything was clean and well organised. Well done! We had a lovely morning followed by lunch in the cafe. A great destination on a rainy day for all ages
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 6 November 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.0
351 reviews
Excellent
153
Very good
79
Average
52
Poor
38
Terrible
29

Rebecca T
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
We have always loved China blue and it was great again this time however a few changes have been made and I’m not sure it’s for the better. The paints are now on the paint station rather than on the tables, this results in a lot of people gathering and waiting to get paints and having to get up every time you want something different. Also, when we arrived, there were no clean palettes or water cups due to only one member of staff manning the front desk (resulting in a long wait) and having to clean out the trays for people. Overall good, but should have stuck to how it was.
Written 29 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

SamuelBooth1997
Devon, UK12 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
Amazing service all round!!

We first visited on 28.10.2023 to attend a clay course to sculpt a pumpkin, I can't remember the ladies name who ran the course but she was lovely and very helpful! The course was great fun and really hands on.

We then returned on 25.11.2023 to paint our creations once they'd been fired in the kiln, this was brilliant and we can't wait to collect them in two weeks time once they've been through the kiln again and glazed.

Each time we've visited we've seen Debbie and Josh in the Ceramic Studio, they've both been so kind and helpful, we can't fault our experience with China Blue!

Oh and we've booked ourselves onto the Christmas clay 'Gonk' sculpting course and can't wait!!!
Written 28 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Karen L
20 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
Wanted to take my 4 year old grandaughter for some Christmas activities, been to China Blue many times but not the painting , it's a 2 hour slot but we managed an hour , my grandaughter enjoyed the painting , but becareful what you choose and don't forget the glazing as pretty useless without it , in my opinion, we had 2 tiny tree decorations and a small plate for Santa's cookies and came to £45 and yes I know the prices are on display, but still think a little steep , can'twait to pick them up in 2 weeks time .
Written 23 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

J.R
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Friends
The painting was great and we had fun, however being reminded we only had two hours stopped us painting more items, the studio was empty other than two other tables . We would happily have painted more items if not for the pressure we felt to hurry up and finish.
The shop is no longer the amazing treasure trove it used to be, a lot smaller than before, and staff are few. I had intended buying a few bits but the unhappy line of other customers put me off.
Everyone was complaining at the lack of service.
The food we gave up on, no staff available to tell us what to do, when we finally found a menu and a table the food on offer was very disappointing, items crossed off as not available and little variety.
I’m not a fussy eater, but there was nothing worth eating on the menu.
The outing was for my birthday but unfortunately it was a disappointment.
Written 19 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jackie W
Bishops Stortford, UK12 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
We visit the China painting at this time of year every year as we have a timeshare locally. In the last few years it had gone down hill to the point that we didn’t bother last year, but the weather forced us indoors and we gave it another try. We were so very pleasantly surprised. Firstly there was a huge choice of pottery, Debbie explained everything very well and was available for any questions. Drinks are now delivered to your table and everything was clean and well organised. Well done! We had a lovely morning followed by lunch in the cafe. A great destination on a rainy day for all ages
Written 6 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Marilyn P
2 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Arrived at 12.45 for lunch. Car park pretty full with the layout offering very little room to get in/out of a space. Overflow carpark much better. Found a table OK, but only 2 high chairs available (in use). Available food much less than on the website menu, with no salads at all/nourish bowl option not possible. Brekky roll tasty and chips plentiful but vegan choices minimal and fairly bland unfortunately. Afterwards we had a wander through the shop area and selected an item to purchase. Had to ring the bell for attention and someone came over from the Ceramic Area saying she would be "a minute". After 5 minutes and a queue forming, I gave up. Disappointing experience overall. We have visited China Blue several times and found the staffing to be much better/efficient.
Written 4 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

LMLM16
Theale, UK2 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Took my eight year old granddaughter for a clay pumpkin carving tutorial. We both thoroughly enjoyed it and are looking forward to going back to paint our creations. The staff were great, very friendly, which put us both at ease and really helped my granddaughter to stretch her imagination.
I'd highly recommend this for kids and adults, a lovely way to relax and explore your creativity.
Written 31 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

CaptW254
Totnes, UK12 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Fabulous time was had, from toddlers to Grandparents in the group. Very well set out, organised and welcoming. It was nice to be able to order from cafe and have delivered to painting area.
We’ve been coming here since it opened and have since located to South Hams and still visiting.
Written 26 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jennifer M
1 contribution
Oct 2023 • Family
We went to have my little girls hand and foot plaque done, the employee helping us was lovely but when we asked for a few minor details we both felt like it was an inconvenience and was no where near the lovely experience we had when we came in 2021 with my son for the same service.
Written 15 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Although I am incredibly disappointed to read your feedback, we understand that this experience should be an incredibly positive one for your family, and our staff are usually excellent at providing just that. I am truly sorry to read that you felt otherwise on this occasion. I do hope you will consider trying our services again soon.
Written 26 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lynsay W
2 contributions
Oct 2023 • Friends
Staff were unfriendly and unwelcoming. Slow overall from being seated to being able to be paid. No assistance was offered, left own devices to then be told half way through painting the item I wouldn’t be able to use it in a judgemental manner.
Written 7 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. Although I am incredibly disappointed to read your feedback, please know that we are in the process of a significant system update, which will make the process much quicker and more efficient for our customers. Our team is usually known for being very helpful and friendly, so I am truly sorry to read that you felt otherwise on this occasion. I do hope you will consider trying our services again soon.
Written 26 October 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 350
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

CHINA BLUE: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about China Blue

China Blue is open:
  • Sun - Sun 10:00 - 16:00
  • Mon - Sat 09:00 - 17:00