Oceanarium

Oceanarium, Bournemouth: Hours, Address, Oceanarium Reviews: 4/5

10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Write a review
About
The Oceanarium is the perfect all weather attraction - discover the mysterious beauty of our watery world in a spectacular underwater journey. From stunning sharks, curious rare green sea turtles and brightly coloured clownfish, to menacing piranhas, venomous lionfish and the weirdly wonderful octopus – they are all waiting to be discovered!Experience the world's first virtual Interactive Dive Cage and take a magnificent adventure without getting wet.... Then discover the interactive Global Meltdown to unveil the potential effects of climate change. Be enchanted by two very cute Oriental small clawed otters, watch them swim, splash, feed and play in their exotic, naturally themed oasis.Open daily from 10am. Closing times vary throughout the year – please check before visiting. Closed Christmas Day. Tickets valid all day with nine daily feeding presentations.Book tickets online to make great savings.
Suggested duration
1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Oceanarium and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Popular mentions

4.0
3,091 reviews
Excellent
1,073
Very good
1,087
Average
647
Poor
195
Terrible
89

Ally24683
Isle of Wight, UK40 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
I really enjoyed the aquarium. It's quite small but nicely set out. The tunnel was fun and there was lots to look at.The cafe was nice and I would go again.
Written 29 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks so much for your feedback and we're glad you had a great experience.
Written 1 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KirbyJC
39 contributions
Jun 2022 • Family
The reception on arrival was OK. However after walking around and observing the various enclosures, we then entered the gift shop. During this time we were guided to the offer of a family photograph with varing backgrounds. At this time there was a 3 for 2 offer advertised and after speaking with a female assistant we were told that we could mix and match photographs from our 2 families which we proceeded to do. On returning to the shop counter, the female assistant had disappeared and we were confronted by another member of staff who we can describe as a obnoxious, difficult and aggressive in his manner.

I was asked which photograph I liked at which point I identified an image. He printed the photograph and issued a receipt of purchase before I had paid or received the image. My father then asked about the offer and the subsequent two photographs which we thought we were going to receive and he forcefully told us that the offer was no longer available as he had printed a picture and issued a receipt. He advised all he was waiting for was payment of £9.95.

This whole experience tainted our visit and this is not our first visit but will definitely be our last due to the total incompetence, unfriendly, aggressive and pompousness nature of this team member.

In addition to the above, the female assistant returned to the desk and he spoke to her in such an aggressive and demeaning manner.

Very disappointing visit.
Written 26 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
We are so sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience with our customer service. Customers are our number one priority and we apologise that you felt otherwise. Please could you email us via info@oceanarium.co.uk so we can investigate this further.
Written 1 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Lil_CD
Berkshire, UK7 contributions
Jun 2022
I wasn't overly impressed with Bournemouth Oceanarium. A fairly small venue, so you don't expect to see lots, but I did think some of the tanks were a bit small for the inhabitants. The electronic information boards changed pages too quickly to read all the information, and only had a very short bio for each inhabitant. I was left rather disappointed. The highlights of the visit are the penguins and the shark tank. Good fun for kids, but a little lacking for adults.
Written 23 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Emily S
High Wycombe, UK3 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
Cheap for a nice few hours out ! Plus you can re enter anytime of that day for when you got your ticket !
Written 9 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Shauns_Holidays
London, UK287 contributions
Jun 2022
We had a lovely time here. Central located for easy access. Lots to see, kept us entertained for a about an hour and a half. It’s worth a visit. Lots of information on display, price was reasonable. Negatives; narrow walk ways which when busy can get cramped, cafe and vending machines were closed, difficult to see the feeding times (only saw display on way out). Overall a good day out if you are in Bournemouth.
Written 5 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Katherine W
15 contributions
Jun 2022 • Family
Half of the enclosures/tanks were empty, they were just letting everyone in all at the same time, didn't matter if you had a booking or not. Most people were pushing to get to the front of enclosures and our child got knocked over 3 times by some very selfish, supposedly adults(!!!) who apprently couldn't wait for their turn at the front, before we gave up and left after about 20 minutes. They boast covid restrictions in giant wording on the outside of the building, yet there were none in sight inside, it was just a free-for-all. The toilets were in a shocking state also. We thought it was cheap ticket prices for an aquarium on booking, and now we understand why.
Written 5 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Shannon Masih
Oxford, UK92 contributions
May 2022 • Family
First time visiting this place as been to Bournemouth 4 times. Enjoyed the visit, although staff could’ve greeted and seemed more welcoming which they didn’t. Other than that had a nice time, daughter enjoyed seeing things and playing at the play area. Also not disappointed that the cafe area was shut..
Written 3 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Chanel
2 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
I found it sickening that the gift shop appeared to have been given more love and care than the animal exhibits. The aquarium is a sight for sore eyes and frankly quite saddening to walk around, a serious update is needed as there are far too many fish crammed into such small tanks, something witnessed with the poor turtle repeatedly bashing his face into the glass wall. Not to mention several fish in one tank with torn up fins and the spines of the fins showing. No stimulation, space, or love for the poor creatures. The bearded dragon and turtle “waterfall” set the tone for how the rest of the walk around the aquarium would be, very sad and disappointing. The otter and penguin enclosures need some tlc and updating, having them enclosed inside with painted walls was extremely sad. I’m shocked at how low the standards are to keep animals. This Aquarium was the epitome of using animals for human entertainment
Written 3 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jackievet
London, UK113 contributions
May 2022 • Family
We had a rainy day in Bournemouth and decided to do some indoor activities. The oceanarium is a great place to visit. It has a variety of animals fish, iguana, tortoise, penguins. It is entertaining and intellectual and I highly recommend it to everyone.
Written 28 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

jimmynat
Kent, UK61 contributions
Apr 2022 • Couples
Very expensive for what it is , walked around in 10 minutes , we went especially to see the penguins but on this occasion it was shut until further notice , this is something that you would do on a rainy day to pass time I wouldn’t otherwise waste my time or money
Written 2 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 3,019
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oceanarium

Oceanarium is open:
  • Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Buy tickets in advance on Tripadvisor. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel at least 24 hours before the start date of your tour for a full refund.

We recommend booking Oceanarium tours ahead of time to secure your spot. If you book with Tripadvisor, you can cancel up to 24 hours before your tour starts for a full refund. See all 1 Oceanarium tours on Tripadvisor