Komedia Brighton
Komedia Brighton
4.5
About
Winner of the Chortle Award for Best Comedy Venue (South) in 2023 and Winner of Best Venue in the South a record 17 times. Brighton's premier live entertainment venue presents one of the largest, most diverse arts and entertainment programmes in the UK. Every year we put on around 700 performances of comedy, music, cabaret and kids shows. We're also home to several of Brighton's most popular club nights. All taking place under one roof, Komedia incorporates two exciting, unique performance spaces with flexible set-ups and a kitchen serving freshly prepared food at most seated shows. Our programme includes a unique range of Komedia-grown resident shows such as the Komedia Comedy Club, Comic Boom, Bent Double, Down the Hatch and The Nest Comedy Club.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • smellslikesomeghost
    West Sussex, United Kingdom37 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent fun!
    We had such a fun evening seeing 4 comedians on a Sunday night. The evening was absolutely enhanced by the staff. From the very start it's very well organised. Someone manages the queue outside, someone checks your name, someone takes you to a table. Every single member of staff we encountered was professional and friendly. You can order food and drinks to your table and it all felt very civilised. The acts were inevitably variable but it was great value entertainment. A lovely evening and we will definitely come back.
    Thank you so much for your review, we really appreciate it! We hope to see you again soon.
    Written 19 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 18 April 2023
  • Amber U
    3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Care and consideration at Komedia!
    Just wanted to shout out to all the amazing kind & considerate staff at Komedia who were so patient with my elderly Mum at the flamenco show last week. Thanks to all! Great venue, accessible and clean, great show 💃🏻💃🏻, hurrah for Brighton
    Thanks for your kind words Amber, we hope to see you again soon!
    Written 14 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 6 June 2023
  • Nay
    2 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Fantastic evening full of laughs
    We went to the Komedia in Brighton last night and it was yet again another fantastic night. All the staff are so friendly and welcoming too. The acts were so funny and really included the audience which was so much fun. We took two friends that hadn’t been before and they have already got the Komedia addiction! Thank you Komedia for another fantastic evening!
    Thanks so much for your review Naomi, it's greatly appreciated! Thanks also for introducing your friends to Komedia, we hope to see you all again very soon.
    Written 19 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 18 June 2023
  • net07
    Worthing, United Kingdom33 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Comedy begins with a K in Brighton
    Comedy begins with K - we had the best idea of booking a couple of tickets for The Komedia on Friday evening. MC Laura Lexx kicked the night off by finding some people in the crowd from Luton (visiting for the following days football fixture) credit to them they had a good laugh as Laura rinsed them, top laugh was the lad who worked for his dad’s milk business who it turned out was Lactose intolerant!! The whole place erupted with laughter. Then we had 3 other top class comedians who kept everyone laughing right throughout the evening. We are going to book again in the next couple of weeks. If you are looking for a great comedy evening this is the place to go to.
    Wow! Thanks so much for the wonderful review, we really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!
    Written 16 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 14 August 2023
  • Jm
    Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom9 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Hilarious, entertaining and comfortable
    Excellent night! Went to Komedia on a Friday night with some friends. There were 3 acts and an MC. They were all new names to us but they were fantastically hilarious, each in their own style. The MC was so funny and really worked the crowd. I don’t go enough but every time I go I always say I should do this more! A great evening of entertainment, thank you.
    Thanks so much Jasmina, we hope to see you again soon!
    Written 5 October 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 20 September 2023
  • whitehd22
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Komedia every time!
    We’ve been to komedia many times. It’s one of our favourite local places for comedy. Great location, great venue, great drinks options. We arrive for doors open because we know where we like to sit! The comedy is always great and for a reasonable price.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 5 October 2023
  • Inka B
    4 contributions
    4.0 of 5 bubbles
    Not the best
    Hi we went to komedia Fri 3 Rd nov and we love going snd we’re regulars but Friday night was disappointing. The compare Katie wasn’t great and the 3 comedians were struggling . Not one of our best nights . Staff were fantastic as always
    Thanks for your review. Apologies the comedy wasn't to your taste on this occasion. Thanks for the comments about our staff. We hope you will give us another go in the future, it would be a shame to lose you as a regular customer.
    Written 20 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited November 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 6 November 2023
  • ArmadaIcy
    Brighton, United Kingdom113 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Always a good night out at the comedy club
    Visited here as the final part of a Hen Do party package, which I had won from a competition with a Brighton tourism business. We all laughed a lot and it was a great finish to the evening. I'd definitely recommend the comedy club as a place for groups.
    Thankyou for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your night and hope to see you again soon!
    Written 20 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited June 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 19 November 2023
  • DavidSimon
    Brighton, United Kingdom3 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Down The Hatch, Jan 24
    Had a great time at Down The Hatch at Komedia last Sunday. There were three excellent acts and a great MC. Although the cold weather seemed to have affected the number of attendees, the atmosphere was still great!
    Thanks so much David, we hope to see you again soon!
    Written 12 January 2024
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited January 2024
    Travelled with friends
    Written 10 January 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles463 reviews
Excellent
270
Very good
116
Average
28
Poor
26
Terrible
23

38Carole0909
Hailsham, UK106 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Family
Great value evening. It’s always a gamble as to who you’re going to see but we haven’t been disappointed either time we have been!
Written 9 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much Carol!
Written 11 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Donald W
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2024 • Friends
Disgraceful that Brighton Komedia send a cancellation for The Coral gig due to circumstances beyond their control. The fact that the Coral are now playing Bath Komedia on the same night is just a coincidence. Same company. Very dishonest approach. Disappointed as I had a hotel booked back in August 2023 for the gig in March 2024. Now way to do business. On the telephone the person claimed the businesses were nothing to do with each other. Companies House suggests otherwise. Disingenuous.
Written 21 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, we were also disappointed at the cancellation of this tour show, but the date was cancelled by the tour promoter and not by us. On further investigation it appears that Ents24 have wrongly listed the cancelled event at Komedia Bath, if you follow the ticket link through it will take you to the cancelled listing at Komedia Brighton, but we will contact Ents24 and attempt to get them to amend their error. Komedia Bath are not hosting The Coral. I assure you nothing disingenuous has gone on here, merely a third-party ticketing website have made an error beyond our control. To clarify your other point, Komedia Bath are no longer linked to Komedia Brighton, in fact they are no longer a Ltd company. In 2017, the owners chose to take the bold step to give control of the business to the local community, ultimately becoming one of the first community owned venues in the country. If you need anymore information, please do feel free to get in touch. Given your review was based on incorrect information, we would be very grateful if you could please delete it.
Written 26 February 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

DavidSimon
Brighton, UK3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2024 • Friends
Had a great time at Down The Hatch at Komedia last Sunday. There were three excellent acts and a great MC. Although the cold weather seemed to have affected the number of attendees, the atmosphere was still great!
Written 10 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much David, we hope to see you again soon!
Written 12 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Annonymous
15 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Couples
Amazing!!! We had the best time ever, we were unsure but laughed non stop throughout. Wish I could go every night! All comedians were incredible, highly recommend 😁
Written 2 January 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank so much for your kind review! We hope to see you again soon :)
Written 3 January 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Ruth Moyse
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Friends
We went to see best of the fringe 18th Dec. The layout means you are packed in on long tables at 90 degrees to the stage so impossible to watch the act without great discomfort. There are small screens hanging from the ceiling showing the stage but they are v poor quality. The drinks were truly terrible: my friend ordered a diet coke. It was a pint of the syrup that is mixed to make a cheap diet drink. He took it back, ordered a lemonade and this time got the fizzy soda mixer water with no syrup. Third time luck he went back and got a no alcohol pint. It was a poor unpleasant drink so he left it. Two of our party had gin and tonics. If there was more than a whiff of gin in there I will eat my shoes. This leads me onto the food: a small basket of fries with a wiggle of sauce, soo bad, cold and v poor quality. The nachos were like cardboard. The actual comedians were good and the crowd was good tempered but the acts were widely spaced between long breaks and loads of time with the compere double act, asking about christmas plans in the audience. Won't be back again .
Written 19 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your feedback we're glad to hear that you enjoyed the comedy. Apologies that you felt that the seating wasn't right for you, we need to lay out our tables like this to accomodate groups and also serve our food. There are also smaller tables and booths around the edge of the room, these are first-come-first-served so we always advise people to arrive at the door time if they want to choose certain seats. RE the drinks, Diet Coke from our bar guns (as it will be in any bar/pub) is indeed a mix of syrup and soda water, this is standard and the same with our lemonade but we do have bottles of Coke available also. If you did not enjoy your drinks, you can speak to a member of staff at any point on the night and they will be happy to help. We never water down drinks so there would have definitely been the amount of gin you ordered in your gin and tonics. RE the food, we usually get good feedback for our food but again, if you had any issues on the night you can always talk to a member of staff to remedy any issues. RE the breaks in the comedy, this was a multi line-up show with many acts performing short sets so this is the nature of this kind of show.
Written 20 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Askey
East Grinstead, UK187 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Couples
Gary Delaney Tour. The show was fantastic have not laughed so much since I saw him a year ago, and we had front row seats we had Nachos with chees and other dips very nice
However £16 for a pint of Coke and a 1/2 of Lime and Soda is daylight robbery
Written 10 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi askeya, thanks so much for your review. In regards to your feedback on the price of drinks, a pint of coke and 1/2 lime soda only costs £4.40 so either you're mistaken or your were overcharged. If it's the latter, please do get in touch with us. Many thanks.
Written 11 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Daniel H
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Couples
Amazing venue that felt intimate. We was there for Bent Double and the line up was amazing, lots of laughing and great atmosphere
Written 6 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks so much for the review, we're glad you had a good time at Bent Double and we hope to see you again soon!
Written 7 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ArmadaIcy
Brighton, UK113 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Friends
Visited here as the final part of a Hen Do party package, which I had won from a competition with a Brighton tourism business.
We all laughed a lot and it was a great finish to the evening.
I'd definitely recommend the comedy club as a place for groups.
Written 19 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thankyou for your lovely review, we're glad you enjoyed your night and hope to see you again soon!
Written 20 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Gazz4848
Bournemouth, UK80 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Friends
Awful experience! 8 of us cramped onto a small six seater table with the other 2 actually put on the next table with other people! It was down in a basement, very noisy and loud we couldn’t speak to one another, everyone was squashed in like sardines! Food was mediocre at best! Rolls were hard, filling was dry and chips were over cooked and cold. Took ages to get a drink at the bar. Comedians were ok but we’re only on stage for approx 20 minutes each, compère was talentless. Total waste of money and not as we imagined
Written 13 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that your experience was not what you expected it to be. We do not have any tables large enough to hold 10 people at once, so that is why you were sat on two. As the show was sold out, the tables were separated to create a little more space between the chairs. The staff are more than happy to deal with any issues on the night if you do have any. I have also passed on your feedback to our evening staff. We do hope that you will return in the future.
Written 20 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

hotroofer62
Bournemouth, UK15 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Nov 2023 • Friends
First time going to this club,booked up as a group of 10,on entering the staff all very friendly but on seeing our table we were cramped in like sardines some of us were on someone else's tables,I personally think they over crowd the venue no room to move at all,as for the food it's awful,tasteless rubbish, trying to get a drink at the bar is a nightmare not enough staff then try the obstacle coarse getting to your seat ,comedy was good to totally let down by clostrophobic conditions ,health and safety should look at this venue well overcrowded ,would not go again.
Written 12 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thanks for your feedback. We have responded separately to the other member of your party, who has also left a review here. Regarding your comments on overcrowding, none of our events are ever sold to our seated capacity, to ensure there is room to move around the space. As we've also mentioned to the other member of your party, we do not have any tables large enough to hold 10 people at once, so that is why you were sat on two. Our staff are more than happy to deal with any issues on the night if you do have any.
Written 20 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 463
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

KOMEDIA BRIGHTON: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about Komedia Brighton


Restaurants near Komedia Brighton: View all restaurants near Komedia Brighton on Tripadvisor

All Brighton HotelsBrighton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Brighton
All things to do in Brighton
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire