We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Royal Gardens at Highgrove

Review Highlights
Prince Charles

Prince Charles has always had radical views on farming , flowers , food ,plastic and the world. Now... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
A3303XQpaulh
,
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Very Special

Had a lovely Christmas lunch, very tasteful Quality food and reasonable price Lovely waitress and... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Mealey
,
Surrey, United Kingdom
Read all 862 reviews
51
All photos (51)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent83%
  • Very good12%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“prince charles”(133 reviews)
“garden tour”(100 reviews)
“champagne tea”(65 reviews)
About
Highgrove is the private residence of TRH The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall. Its organic gardens are open to the public for guided tours between April and October each year. Tickets must be booked in advance.
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Highgrove Estate | Parking: what3words ///fries.nicely.alcove, Tetbury GL8 0AY, England
Website
+44 303 123 7310
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (862)
Filter reviews
850 results
Traveller rating
700
111
26
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
700
111
26
6
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews prince charles garden tour champagne tea hour tour orchard room wildflower meadow carpet garden photo id two hours knowledgeable guide royal highness cottage garden organic garden security reasons different areas christmas shopping round the gardens
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 850 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Just before Christmas 2017 my wife and I did the 5 hour drive to Highgrove for the Christmas shopping experience and it was wonderful. There were 3 rooms. The first was full of wonderful baubles and Christmas decorations for the tree and your home along...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Brian S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Prince Charles has always had radical views on farming , flowers , food ,plastic and the world. Now everyone preaches his views as if they are new. God bless Prince Charles. The proof of his teachings and views are here at Highgrove. Staff are friendly...More

Date of experience: May 2018
3  Thank A3303XQpaulh
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dining by candlelight suggests a special event with a sophisticated atmosphere. We travelled a long way for this but it wasn’t worth it. The opportunity to view a collection of the prince’s watercolour paintings was a squash of so many people we couldn’t hear or...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank LizaDee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been going for years including evening functions and love going. My only gripe is they have changed some of the products they stock and we found it extremely hard to find anything to buy. All the lovely glass candles and sweets etc had gone. Several...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Margaret F
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely Christmas lunch, very tasteful Quality food and reasonable price Lovely waitress and hostess service Great Highgrove shop Like the interminate feeling Wish you were allowed to take pictures Small garden areas

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank Mealey
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My third Christmas lunch and shopping experience- what a disappointment. Gone are the elegant tablecloths and napkins - Bare tables and small - very small - plain paper napkins. Christmas shop is no longer a ‘wow’ experience and to top it all I found something...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Talisker2014
Reviewed 16 December 2018 via mobile

Pefect way to kick off the Christmas festivities. This place screams quality. We were greeted warmly and the security necessaries completed quickly and efficiently. We were booked on the christmas shopping event. After being directed to the parking we were served with a glass of...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank clairecC847TM
HighgroveGardens, Manager at The Royal Gardens at Highgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear ClaireC847TM, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is really important to us. We are pleased to hear that your festive visit to Highgrove was positive and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, The Customer Services Team...More

Reviewed 14 December 2018

Champagne on arrival. Lovely lunch with coffee and mince pies to finish. Excellent service with very friendly staff. The Christmas shop was very disappointing compared to last year, no magical atmosphere to be had (could of been in one of their highstreet shops). Probably won’t...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank PDEE60
HighgroveGardens, Manager at The Royal Gardens at Highgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear PDEE60, Thank you for taking the time to write a review which helps us to improve our service to customers. We are pleased to read that about the excellent service but apologise that the shop was disappointing. Due to a high increase in sales,...More

Reviewed 12 December 2018

My friend and I and her 3 month old baby had booked lunch and shopping at Highgrove. As soon as we arrived the staff there couldn't have been more helpful in ensuring we had enough space for the buggy and if we needed anything else....More

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank surfnirvana
HighgroveGardens, Manager at The Royal Gardens at Highgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Surfnirvana, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is really important to us. We are pleased to hear that your festive visit to Highgrove was positive and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, The Customer Services Team...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

We booked a visit to Highgrove House to enjoy a cream tea and christmas shopping. The experience was delightful. Our party of four enjoyed the venue and the atmosphere immensely. The afternoon cream tea was scrumtious with liberal amounts of jam and cream to compliment...More

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank G191ERpaulm
HighgroveGardens, Manager at The Royal Gardens at Highgrove, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear G191ERpaulm, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is really important to us. We are pleased to hear that your festive visit to Highgrove was positive and hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards, The Customer Services Team...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 7 nearby hotels
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
1,221 reviews
1.03 miles away
Hare and Hound
7 reviews
1.03 miles away
The Close Hotel
507 reviews
1.43 miles away
Snooty Fox Hotel
733 reviews
1.46 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 36 nearby restaurants
The Shore Hotel
227 reviews
1.79 miles away
Casa La Cucina Italiana
213 reviews
1.49 miles away
Cat and Custard Pot Inn
284 reviews
1.34 miles away
Cafe 53
431 reviews
1.49 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 25 nearby attractions
Chavenage House
367 reviews
1.95 miles away
Calcot Spa
72 reviews
3.29 miles away
The Rattlebone Inn, Sherston
29 reviews
3.60 miles away
Malmesbury Abbey
421 reviews
4.25 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
philippakb1
16 December 2018|
Answer
Response from G191ERpaulm | Reviewed this property |
If you go to the actual website the details will be there for all the visits in 2019. They have garden visits and guided tour visits with specially chosen experts to give detailed explanations of the gardens.
0
Votes
Phil O
15 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from JonH69 | Reviewed this property |
I doubt it. Didn’t see any dogs there
0
Votes
797dawn
2 May 2018|
Answer
Response from The_Highgrove_Team | Property representative |
Hi Dawn, Thanks for your query. The Orchard Restaurant at Highgrove is only available for visitors with pre-booked garden tour tickets, meaning there are always enough tables for our guests. We hope this answers your... More
0
Votes