We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
+44 23 8001 9192
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent friendly service.

If only all travel arrangements were so easy and smooth. Friendly happy staff, clean and tidy... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Tickledtrout23
Signature lounge

Second time in lounge love it so peaceful and quiet this is where I will be every time I go to the... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
broons19
,
Chippenham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 1,543 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Red Funnel has a proud history of serving the Isle of Wight since 1820, carrying 3.4 million passengers to the Island each year. We have won awards for safety, innovation & service including Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor every year since 2013. Choose between two stunning routes: our Southampton-East Cowes (former home of Queen Victoria) service takes 55 min, operates 365 days/year and carries vehicles & passengers. On board, enjoy free Wi-Fi, hot & cold food, a bar & coffee shops, or upgrade to the Signature Lounge, for a quieter club class experience. Our 2nd route connects Southampton to the world-famous yacht racing town of West Cowes. Our modern ‘Red Jet’ Hi-Speed catamarans take just 23 min to cross the Solent. Our entire fleet is dog friendly. Look to us for expert travel advice, accommodation bookings, attraction & event tickets. The opening times displayed are our contact center hours.
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“isle of wight” (489 reviews)
“earlier ferry” (75 reviews)
“red jet” (83 reviews)
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 18:00
LOCATION
Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8001 9192
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
Write a ReviewReviews (1,543)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"isle of wight"
in 489 reviews
"earlier ferry"
in 75 reviews
"red jet"
in 83 reviews
"car ferry"
in 67 reviews
"foot passengers"
in 28 reviews
"red falcon"
in 27 reviews
"wight link"
in 25 reviews
"loading and unloading"
in 24 reviews
"hour crossing"
in 18 reviews
"signature lounge"
in 16 reviews
"priority boarding"
in 16 reviews
"top deck"
in 28 reviews
"return journey"
in 48 reviews
"day trip"
in 69 reviews
"both ways"
in 34 reviews
"ferry service"
in 39 reviews
"efficient service"
in 21 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,522 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

If only all travel arrangements were so easy and smooth. Friendly happy staff, clean and tidy facilities, what more do you need. Answer, nothing!

Thank Tickledtrout23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Second time in lounge love it so peaceful and quiet this is where I will be every time I go to the isle of wight well worth the £10

Thank broons19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

There are limited ways to get to the IoW! If you are taking a car there's two ways ! This trip we were meeting up with family that unfortunately got held up on traffic driving down from Norfolk just missing the ferry. As they pulled...More

Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

The beautiful Isle of Wight really is a paradise lost - to sharks who charge the earth (reputedly the most expensive sea crossing in the world) to get there. Red Funnel and WightLink aren't just staying afloat, they're riding on the crest of waves of...More

Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Loved the service and staff. Not bored at all and great food. Wide space for vehicles and comfort which is second to none.

1  Thank Europe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Europe82, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the level of service received. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kindest regards Sandra Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awful service, got there in time for the fast jet and even though it had not left they would not let me on. Now have an hour wait for a ferry that takes 20 mins. No good enough red funnel. I thought wightlink were bad!!!!More

Thank Isobel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Isobel B, I am sorry that you were unable to travel on your preferred sailing time. However there has to be a cut-off point, people are always arriving very close to and past the sailing time. The cornerstone of our Red Jet service is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Both terminals quite confusing esp iow side. Tickets ridiculously expensive. Are red funneling to stop people going to iow? Monopoly and it shows.More

Thank Pete T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Pete T, Thank you for offering us your feedback. We have exciting new plans for our terminals, bringing them in line with the volumes of traffic that move through our business. East Cowes Terminal is in its first stages of redevelopment and our new...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed to take the car over for a day, and chose the 10am out from Southampton, first thing I noticed was how efficient they were, I pulled up to the man in a box, he said welcome Mr O, number plate recognition at its...More

Thank Andy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Andy, Thank you for the amazing 5* review of Red Funnel. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to let us know of your experience. We do have plug sockets in the main lounge however the Signature Lounge is more geared towards...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wanted to take a few minutes to review Red Funnel Ferries because they really impressed me on both the outbound and inbound journey to the Isle of Wight this week. The staff are really helpful, they run like clockwork and it is all super...More

Thank Kate28111972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kate28111972, It is always fantastic to know when we have done well and we very much appreciate that you have, so kindly, taken the time to say so. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Kindest regards Sandra Customer Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have used red funnel before and always find the staff to be friendly and helpful. Special mention to the guy directing cars off the 5.30 Southampton arrival on Monday 9th July. You made our day with your “performance “ On time service is also a...More

Thank lauren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lauren a, Thank you for the wonderful 5* review. Your feedback is exactly what we like to hear. Jim is our dancing man and local celebrity who has won a national Tourism Super Star Award for his contribution to the customer experience, we will...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 hotels in Southampton
room2 Southampton
76 reviews
.25 miles away
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,174 reviews
.27 miles away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,711 reviews
.29 miles away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,351 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
BAYLEAF kitchen
270 reviews
.11 miles away
The Jetty
240 reviews
.05 miles away
Everest Cuisine
590 reviews
.21 miles away
Ennio's
797 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Hythe Ferry
537 reviews
.05 miles away
Tudor House and Garden
525 reviews
.16 miles away
Southampton Town Walls
355 reviews
.11 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bear_Claire86
29 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Derek A | Reviewed this property |
No, if you have a booking and arrive at least half hour before the boat sails you will get on. I have arrived 10 minutes before the earlier boat leaves and been bumped up many times as I have to leave well in time in case... More
1
Vote
Rachel S
28 December 2017|
Answer
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Rachel, Sorry for the late reply. In future if you have any questions that need an instant answer please do not hesitate to give us a call on 02380 019192, or alternatively reach out to us by Facebook or Twitter and... More
0
Votes
Ontariosue
7 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Sue. We have 2 services to the Isle of Wight. The car ferry (taking an hour) or the Red Jet taking 25 mins. The ferry goes into East Cowes which is very close to Osbourne House, the home of Queen Victoria. The Red Jet... More
0
Votes