We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Red Funnel Ferries

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
Phone Number:
+44 23 8001 9192
Today
07:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 07:00 - 19:00
Sat - Sun 08:00 - 18:00
Description:

Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the...

Red Funnel provides car ferries and high speed Red Jet catamarans to the Isle of Wight. Enjoy a mini cruise across the Solent with or without your car on Red Funnel vehicle ferry to the port of East Cowes or take the Red Jet catamaran at 37 knots to (west)Cowes - a wonderful Victorian port and the global home of yachting and yacht racing. Both destinations are ideal for a day trip or a short break, and Red Funnel can also book all your accommodation and attraction choices - see our website for more info.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,073 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 564
    Excellent
  • 332
    Very good
  • 88
    Average
  • 40
    Poor
  • 36
    Terrible
Easy crossings

Well organised, helpful staff, comfortable crossings. The chap guiding us on and off in Southampton was hilarious, really made me smile.

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 days ago
andymichelle2016
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

1,073 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,060: English reviews
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
250 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

very smooth getting to the ferry from the east coates side we were bound for Osbourne house ...easy to find the ferry terminal and buy the ticket and practically no wait ..the ferry ride was enjoyable with big windows and not too overly crowded but it is off season ,,,we were there during the bitter cold snap last week.......this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank rlmptl
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are sorry to hear you were not totally satisfied with your experience travelling with us. All our booking are subject to Terms and Conditions. When you cancel a ticket, if it is within 24 hours of the sailing time, it would not be refundable. Whenever you make... More 

Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

There are only two main ferry companies serving the IOW. We are regular travellers. We much prefer wightlink. The main problem with red funnel is the passenger areas on board. There is far less space than wightlink. It all feels cramped. That said the external seating areas when the weather is nice is better.

Helpful?
Thank Shepdog120
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for taking the time to leave your review about your recent travel with us. When the Red Falcon and Red Osprey were refurbished we added to extra lounges (one being a pet friendly lounge). We also have some picture windows in these upper lounges which is the perfect place to sit to look at the scenery.... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Well organised, helpful staff, comfortable crossings. The chap guiding us on and off in Southampton was hilarious, really made me smile.

Helpful?
Thank andymichelle2016
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you so much or your 5* review. We aim to provide our customers with the greatest experience possible and it is lovely to know that we have succeeded. Jim (our loader) is very popular with our passengers. He certainly knows how to brighten everyone day with his dance moves!! On behalf of the team here at Red... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

How often do you turn up for a flight\train\boat that leaves when they say they will. We have used this service twice in the last month as we have a son training on the island. On both occasions the boat left on time and arrived at the time stated. I am sure there must be times when this is not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Hello Jeremy C Thank you for taking the time to leave your 5* review. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your overall experience travelling with us. It is always fantastic to know when we have done well and we very much appreciate that you have, so kindly, taken the time to say so. On behalf of the team... More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We were a party of eight adults, one baby and one four year old with two dogs and travelled to Cowes from Southampton on the Red Osprey, very friendly and helpful staff. Our little lad went to the bridge to see the Captain and got a certificate and a badge, he was so delighted. A very comfortable journey

Helpful?
Thank Mel B
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Hello Mel B Thank you for the excellent review. We aim to provide our customers with the greatest experience possible and it is lovely to know you enjoyed your time travelling with us. We will always do our best to look after both our two legged and four legged travellers to ensure a comfortable and stress free journey is had... More 

Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Had a very easy and pleasant trip to the Isle of Wight,very friendly had a great time. The ferry was very clean seating was good enough,very easy to book ad use.. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank couragejohn7
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Good morning Couragejohn7 Thank you so much! We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review. We work hard every day in order to deliver the very best possible service to and from the Island. It is fantastic to learn of your enjoyable experience travelling with us. On behalf of the team here at Red Funnel,... More 

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Often visit the IOW. We take the dog onto the "sun deck" which is the only place you can sit with dogs. People often mistake this for the luxury part of the ferry and this leaves people with dogs no where to sit. It's also quite an expensive journey. BUT staff are amazing and go out of their way to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teameasures
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Good morning Thank you for taking the time to leave your review about your recent journey. We will always do our best to look after both our two legged and four legged travellers. On all our ferries we do have a designated dog lounge with bowls of water readily available for the dogs. If you are ever unsure where the... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Red Funnel and Wight link are the only two companies serving the Isle of Wight and both are very similar. The ships are generally tired and dirty, especially the loos. The food onboard is not at all good and priced like a 5 star hotel, a total rip off for the captive customers. The service provided is reasonable but not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bob C
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for your review about your recent travel with us. We would first of all like to apologise that you did not experience our usually high levels of cleanliness. Our cleaning is hugely important to us and we have measures in place to check standards with our contract cleaning company. We will speak with the Manager and asked him... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely day out while on holiday in Southampton...inexpensive, great service and highly recommended...

Helpful?
Thank Alan D
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Hello Alan Thank you so much! We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a glowing review, we work hard every day in order to deliver the very best possible service to and from the Island. It is fantastic to learn of your enjoyable experience travelling with us and you had a comfortable journey. We hope you had... More 

Southampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The red funnel ferries are an exciting excursion for a family; we use it to visit the IOW frequently. It is a big, exciting part of a day outing for families, with clean toilet facilities, light snacks, hearty meals, quiet spaces, comfy chairs!! OR GO ON DECK and get wet & windswept on a blustery day which with children is... More 

Helpful?
Thank originalloveart
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this review

Thank you for the excellent review and your kind comments about our service and colleagues. We aim to provide our customers with the greatest experience possible as well as a comfortable and relaxing journey and it is lovely to know you enjoyed your time travelling with us. Many of our passengers (and not only children) have great fun on the... More 

Travellers who viewed Red Funnel Ferries also viewed

Southampton, Hampshire
Southampton, Hampshire
 
Southampton, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Funnel Ferries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Red Funnel Ferries and other visitors
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Red Funnel Ferries staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?