We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
+44 23 8083 4242
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Lost Opportunity

This is such a beautiful setting in central Southampton. A smart modern space in a beautiful... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2015
Claire O
,
Southampton, United Kingdom
Well presented and engaging museum with a lovely cafe.

A delightful museum of life in old Southampton town. Restored beautifully this house now tells the... read more

Reviewed 5 October 2015
DalyReporter
,
Southampton, UK
Read all 474 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive technology and fascinating displays a winning combination.
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide” (29 reviews)
“tudor times” (11 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 15:00
LOCATION
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Write a Review
Reviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 180 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2015

This is such a beautiful setting in central Southampton. A smart modern space in a beautiful historic garden setting absolutely spoilt by a narrow range of food and that available being of poor standard. A great chef and smart business plan could turn this into...More

Thank Claire O
Reviewed 5 October 2015

A delightful museum of life in old Southampton town. Restored beautifully this house now tells the story of the town through the people that lived there, with the help of a few friendly spirits. Add to that a lovely cafe and small garden it is...More

Thank DalyReporter
Reviewed 2 October 2015

Tudor House is a Southampton must see. Interesting displays. Visitors get a good idea about the house and its occupants. Garden is very pretty and relaxing.

Thank AnnaMarkodi
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Good display of what life was like. A lot of original features of the house were kept. Very nice garden area. The real WW2 bomb shelter. It was nice that the earphone were included that explained what we were seeing along with the sign boards....More

Thank steve5074
Reviewed 19 September 2015

We chose this venue due to its accessibility and because it was suitable for a very rainy day visit! However, it far surpassed our expectations. Not only was the information well presented and of great historical interest, but the staff went out of their way...More

Thank Ruth W
Reviewed 16 September 2015

When going as a child to the Tudor house with school excursions the house was laid out as rooms, how they would have been when the family lived there. Now everything is in cases and information is on boards. Not as interesting. Nice to see...More

Thank Looberta
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I first visited the Tudor House many years ago and therefore had little memory of the building. We visited today and were very impressed by the content and attention to detail. The initial ten minute audio visual in the Great Hall sets the mood and...More

Thank bsandrs
Reviewed 3 September 2015

It is truly remarkable that, despite the prices, the whole building tells the history of Southampton of its trade and the Old Town, as well as how Tudor House Museum came to be a museum. For the past four years, many generations, young and old,...More

Thank alwelch1992
Reviewed 1 September 2015

Waiting for bus in the rain. liked everything else. The Abbey had a video to view. and staff too answer questions. Found the display and commentaries about spy training detail and interesting. The shop had variety of goods. Bought some model cars. Food available OK....More

Thank maureen b
Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

I visited the Tudor House back in 2012/2013 and was less than impressed HOWEVER my visit today has changed that completely. The entrance cost is modest, with entry to the cafe free if that is your only reason for visiting. The staff are helpful and...More

Thank Mike H
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coriander Lounge
1,443 reviews
.10 miles away
Duke of Wellington
393 reviews
.05 miles away
La lupa
394 reviews
.10 miles away
The Standing Order
420 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Red Funnel Ferries
1,336 reviews
.24 miles away
Southampton Town Walls
309 reviews
.05 miles away
Westquay
293 reviews
.20 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
edwardwoodward147
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
0
Votes
Google Translation
speakeasy10
17 September 2015|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
We do have a French translated leaflet which covers the visitor experience in a basic detail but the visuals of the house, imagery and architecture are an experience in themselves.
1
Vote