We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium

Closed Now: 10:00 - 16:00
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Another fab trip

As a local to Winchester Science Centre we regularly pop in on days as a family. We took the girls... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Lulusmiles
,
Hampshire
via mobile
Lots to learn

This is a good place to find out about lots of scientific things but perhaps the organisers could... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
MJG3010
,
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Read all 981 reviews
142
All photos (142)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good33%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“all ages”(94 reviews)
“solar system”(18 reviews)
“soft play area”(26 reviews)
About
Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium is a self-funded, educational charity dedicated to sparking curiosity and building science capital for all. It is an important regional hub for informal science learning and a popular visitor attraction for...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
See all hours
Contact
Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Website
+44 1962 863791
Call
Reviews (981)
Filter reviews
974 results
Traveller rating
443
331
115
58
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
443
331
115
58
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages solar system soft play area pressing buttons rainy day interactive exhibits year olds half term school holidays hands on activities park and ride older children picnic area grown ups packed lunch great for kids two floors
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 974 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

£54 for a family of four (with planetarium) seemed very expensive. Large number of the installations not working correctly or had pieces missing. Wouldn’t bother unless you are desperate or can get in cheaply.

Thank GarethN25
Reviewed 1 week ago

Typically, the Saturday of our recent trip to Hampshire was wet. We needed to find something to entertain my kids and their older cousins that also allowed us to avoid the rain. Winchester Science Centre was the perfect solution. This indoor family attraction is a...More

Thank TinBoxTraveller
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and made the most of everything on offer here! We look forward...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfriendly staff, run down and depressing. Not a good place to take children as it will disappoint them. Very overpricedMore

1  Thank Barnstormer1
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're sorry to hear that you felt disappointed with your visit here. It is unusual to receive negative feedback about our staff...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

As a local to Winchester Science Centre we regularly pop in on days as a family. We took the girls to the CSI weekend. The centre was themed fantastic and set the tone. The girls took park in a crime scene workshop which was FREE....More

1  Thank Lulusmiles
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially the free CSI-themed activities! Our Explorer:Space zone has been extremely popular with...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Slightly frustrating start as the car park at the centre was full. So we were directed to the park and ride which was a considerable distance away. Upside was it was free and the bus was there waiting. My overall Impression was everything felt a...More

Thank SheWh0Heals
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you found our activities enjoyable and enjoyed the planetarium experience. With regards to the exhibition floor feeling...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fancy a long queue? How about nowhere to sit in the cafe? Then again - badly behaved children and parents fighting over equipment? Visit during the daytime for all of these things. No service in the cafe because mums take up space while their unruly...More

Thank Sasparilla H
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. Rainy days can be rather busy at the Science Centre. If you're looking for a quieter, more relaxed experience we would recommend...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a good place to find out about lots of scientific things but perhaps the organisers could use a bit of science to make the queues shorter to get in and shorter to get food and drink in the cafe. There is a 'one...More

Thank MJG3010
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you found there was lots to learn here. As we are an educational charity, we do rely...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We last visited the science centre about 18 months ago and had fond memories of our last visit so decided another trip was called for. However, today we were left unimpressed...there are now far fewer exhibits and many seemed to be in poor condition, either...More

Thank Katie W
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your visit here. There are a selection of brand new exhibits in...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We went to the science centre with our family including young grand kids. It was pretty busy as it was a rainy day. However, we managed to park ok on site without having to use the park and ride (as had been advertised as the...More

Thank lesley r
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you had a good day out at the Science Centre and found our staff to be helpful...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic planetary show which is bound to capture the attention of any visitor of any age. I could watched that several times over with my 10 year old son who also enjoyed it. In some ways it was pity there wasn’t two different types of...More

Thank Stephen R
WSCM, Public Relations Manager at Winchester Science Centre and Planetarium, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for visiting Winchester Science Centre and for taking the time to leave us a review - we really appreciate your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed the planetarium experience and your comments about the live science show have been passed on...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Winchester
1,101 reviews
.17 miles away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
953 reviews
1.59 miles away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
1,656 reviews
2.03 miles away
The Wykeham Arms
1,036 reviews
2.15 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 222 nearby restaurants
Diya
241 reviews
1.89 miles away
Chesil Rectory
1,411 reviews
1.82 miles away
THE GOLDEN LION
648 reviews
1.39 miles away
The Black Rat
702 reviews
1.81 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 97 nearby attractions
Winchester City Mill
620 reviews
1.85 miles away
St Catherine's Hill
92 reviews
2.07 miles away
Statue of Alfred the Great
319 reviews
1.91 miles away
Wolvesey Castle
258 reviews
1.94 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Lou C
8 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Moreteavicar13 | Reviewed this property |
Two years is certainly too young. Maybe 6 and upwards.
0
Votes
ROBERT H
30 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from Wandering840 | Reviewed this property |
Yes good for all ages!
1
Vote
Beccawte1987
5 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Sean L | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about Saturday as I haven't been on a Saturday. The last time I went I didn't have access but they sell lots of different types of tickets and events so maybe best to ring them?
1
Vote
James S
There is a very clear theme to the responses given by staff to either the poor or terrible reviews. The majority of responses at best ignore the complaints and are simply used as a way of the centre batting off critism or at worst the replies are simply rude and unprofessional, often from persons in a position which simply requires understanding and diplomacy. I don't know how much credit and or time you give or put into Trip Advisor reviews, but considering you have signs asking customers to specifically take the time to do it the very least you could do is give them due credit and consideration and never resort to inapropriate/ rude and or dismissive replies or responses. If you do not know what I mean then I suggest you review your own responses to reviews! Here is my question to you, considering just how many of your reviews are negative, approx' 1/3 and that the majority of those centre around exhibits being broken, not doing what they are meant to, refuting your estimate of just how many exhibits are working, the whole centre looking and feeling run down now and tatty. Etc etc.......when are you going to stop the pointless generic replied and actually realise that action is required and to act accordingly? It does show a certain amount of deniel of the facts and refusal to deal, why? James Surrey
21 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from James S | Reviewed this property |
Thanks Peter, you'll see from the date, this question/ feedback from me is now almost 18 months old, so long infact, I had completely forgotten about it and the Centre. It was raised to highlight the poor/ unprofessional... More
0
Votes