We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Marwell Zoo

Features Animals
Thompsons Lane | South Downs National Park, Winchester SO21 1JH, England
+44 1962 777407
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Disappointing

There seemed to be a lack of animals and deserted enclosures. I appreciate that some animals... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Jayde410
,
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Disappointed for Inhabitanta

We totally agree with previous review dated 17th July. It has been a few years since we last... read more

Reviewed yesterday
carel c
,
Bognor Regis
via mobile
Read all 2,434 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Our 140-acre park is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species, in beautiful, landscaped surroundings. Just by visiting Marwell Zoo (owned and operated by conservation charity, Marwell Wildlife) you'll be making a big contribution to our projects to conserve species and habitats, both here in Hampshire and around the world. If you're loopy for lemurs, be sure to look out for Lemur Loop. A walkthrough exhibit opened summer 2017. Coming 2018 - At a cost of £7.8M, our new Tropical House will be the largest exhibit ever built at Marwell. Opening at Easter, guests will be free to share the habitat and enjoy views of new, colourful and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects whilst learning about the flow of energy through life. Keep an eye out for new arrivals throughout the year too! Our £15-19 adult entry fee varies across the year and includes a voluntary donation of around 10%. Please check our website for full ticket prices.
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good30%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“road train” (99 reviews)
“tropical house” (84 reviews)
“snow leopard” (73 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Thompsons Lane | South Downs National Park, Winchester SO21 1JH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1962 777407
Write a ReviewReviews (2,434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"road train"
in 99 reviews
"tropical house"
in 84 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 73 reviews
"big cats"
in 66 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 46 reviews
"cafe graze"
in 37 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 38 reviews
"endangered species"
in 35 reviews
"red panda"
in 30 reviews
"giraffe house"
in 29 reviews
"animals seem"
in 28 reviews
"father christmas"
in 38 reviews
"lots of space"
in 28 reviews
"annual pass"
in 57 reviews
"christmas experience"
in 26 reviews
"great family day"
in 39 reviews
"gift shop"
in 101 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

There seemed to be a lack of animals and deserted enclosures. I appreciate that some animals would have been keeping out of the heat but even so it just felt empty compared with our visit a few years ago. The new tropical house was pleasant...More

Thank Jayde410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We totally agree with previous review dated 17th July. It has been a few years since we last visited so was looking forward to seeing updates and of course the animals. We realised due to the extreme hot weather they would be less active but...More

Thank carel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago

We arrived on a sunny mid-morning in July, and walked past the flamingos - mostly they were patchy white... flamingos get their bright pink colour from the shrimps they eat - are they getting the right diet?. Next, we walked past empty fields where the...More

3  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded today

Dear John W, Thank you for your recent visit and review. We're glad to hear you liked the new Tropical house, it's plants and butterflies. Our website recommends you spend 4-5 hours minimum in the park to enjoy all the fascinating animals we have here....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Marwell Zoo is a truly lovely experience (no matter the weather or day)! We went on a rainy day and it was still full of lots of lovely people also visiting and there's plenty of shelters if the rain does get too much and the...More

2  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Chris S, Thank you so much for your recent visit and extensive review! Great to know you think the trip is; affordable, a truly lovely experience, full of lovely people and plenty of shelters. Your acknowledgement of our great welfare standards is also very...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Visited on a very hot day and as mentioned in a number of other reviews, many of the animals were out of sight in the shade. We also didn’t manage to spot the red panda or the sloth which was a little disappointing We did,...More

Thank HoultFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello HoultFamily, Many thanks for your recent visit and review. We're glad you enjoyed your visit and found our staff knowledgeable and helpful. The heat seems to be having an effect on animal visibility, but patience is often rewarded particularly at the end of the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

My Husband wanted to visit Marwell again as it had been about 7 years since he last visited. There is ample free parking and Marwell is easily signposted. Luckily for us it was relatively quiet on the day we visited which made our day more...More

Thank Esmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Esmel, Many thanks for your recent visit and review. Great to hear your daughter loved the penguins and it was relatively quiet on the day you chose to visit. Our billboard on the way in displays sun conures and these can indeed be found...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited Marwell Zoo a couple of days ago as we were checking in to the Marwell Hotel next door later that day. It was a beautifully sunny day. We arrived in time for opening. Several coaches of school children arrived as we did but...More

Thank Lil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hello Lil G, Thank you so much for your wonderful review - we're delighted to hear you enjoyed your day and what a great idea to go arond the zoo twice - it just goes to show how different the experience is each time you...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A well laid out zoo with plenty of free parking. I would suggest taking a picnic as the food is quite expensive. There are plenty of picnic areas around the site as well as toilet facilities. The zoo is well laid out with plenty of...More

1  Thank milligan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello milligan1959, Many thanks for your recent visit and four star review. We're very pleased to hear you enjoyed the layout of the zoo and free parking. As you have pointed out, the recent hot weather can indeed make some of our animals more lethargic...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

I wouldn't recommend going in the hot weather, we didn't see many animals as the heat had gotten to them and they were all sheltered. We still had a good time as a family day out. However there was a few things that really disappointed...More

Thank GAllerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello GAllerton, many thanks for leaving us a review after your visit. We're pleased to hear you had a good family day out with us. The heat has taken us all by surprise this summer and naturally the animals will seek shade and shelter as...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited here last month, for the first time in over 15 years. We were pleasantly surprised to see that the zoo had progressed and changed with the times, whilst keeping its original ethos. Plenty to see and do, lots of places to eat and...More

Thank Ivagus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Ivagus, Many thanks for your recent visit and lovely review. We're delighted to hear you enjoyed the day and seeing the progress we've made to the zoo over the last 15 years. We're half way through a £17m development programme over a 10 year...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 hotels in Winchester
Marwell Hotel
1,384 reviews
.13 miles away
Travelodge Southampton Eastleigh
322 reviews
2.91 miles away
Travelodge Eastleigh Central
304 reviews
3.21 miles away
Holiday Inn Southampton - Eastleigh M3,jct13
810 reviews
3.90 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Dining Room
69 reviews
.11 miles away
The Fishers Pond
937 reviews
.95 miles away
Queens Head
223 reviews
.97 miles away
Marwell Wildlife
99 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Wyevale Garden Centre - Dummer
8 reviews
1.19 miles away
BellaCrafts
6 reviews
1.44 miles away
Hensting Alpacas
204 reviews
2.36 miles away
Twyford Waterworks
24 reviews
2.39 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Rachaelandmark
18 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 8 answers
Response from ClareG18 | Reviewed this property |
You can just arrive and pay at the gate, and there are kids play parks inside as well.
1
Vote
Tracy B
16 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from KevinHSwindon | Reviewed this property |
From the Marwell Website :-' "Dogs and all other animals are not permitted in the park or to be left in cars. When we find pets in cars we contact the police. Assistance dogs are welcome. We ask that guests using assistance... More
3
Votes