We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A wonderful secret, why is it not better known?

We nearly didn't arrive as the access road was closed due to the Boomtown music festival nearby but... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2018
lizandianp
,
surrey
A PLEASANT AND RELAXING AFTERNOON

Avington Park is a historic house with a history dating to the sixteenth century. My wife and I... read more

Reviewed 1 August 2018
amiddletonsct
,
fareham
Read all 60 reviews
39
All photos (39)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent70%
  • Very good23%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“cream tea”(20 reviews)
“charles ii”(5 reviews)
“tea bar”(4 reviews)
About
Avington Park is a privately owned stately home in beautiful secluded grounds, open May to September, Sundays, Bank Holiday Mondays and Mondays in August from 2.30Pm - 5.30Pm - last tour at 4.30Pm. Tea bar serves home-made cakes and locally made...more
Contact
Winchester SO21 1DB, England
Website
+44 1962 779260
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
41
14
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
41
14
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cream tea charles ii tea bar lovely house house tour guided tour great offer hha members box pews present owners groupon offer enjoyable afternoon hampshire countryside cake lovely sunny day interesting history tucked away
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

Set in a lovely little village Avington Park looks quite grand with pillars in the front . The drive up to the house is tree lined and the fields either have sheep or horses grazing. They put on quite a nice afternoon tea in pretty...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank paytutor
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We nearly didn't arrive as the access road was closed due to the Boomtown music festival nearby but when we said where we were going we were allowed through. Driving past elegant horses and a peacock one turns past the front of the house (which...More

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank lizandianp
Helen W, Public Relations Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2018

Thank you for such in-depth feedback, it is greatly appreciated. I am sorry to hear that you did not get to visit our beautiful church. If on your next visit, you still find that our church is locked, please ask one of our tour guides...More

Reviewed 1 August 2018

Avington Park is a historic house with a history dating to the sixteenth century. My wife and I spent two hours here on what proved to be the only day of rain in the whole of July. This did not diminish the visit. The guided...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank amiddletonsct
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such an in depth review and for your kind comments, which I shall pass on to the guide. I am so glad that the rain did not diminish the enjopyment of your visit.

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

A bit disappointing with not a lot to see. The house guide was excellent but there is only so much they can say in about three rooms and a entrance hallMore

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Len G
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

I am so sorry that you were disappointed by your visit, we do list the 5 open rooms on our website and indeed have just opened up a 6th room this year. Avington Park is still privately owned with the family and various tenants in...More

Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Very interesting history of Avington House. Great, informative guided tour. House has limited days/opening hours, so definitely check first before travelling: but, well worth a visit.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Paul B
Helen W, Public Relations Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to feedback, it is always useful. I shall let the guide know.

Reviewed 15 July 2018 via mobile

I took my friend who is visiting, to Avington Park today. We were late booking but everyone was very accommodating. We both really enjoyed the tour of the house and cream tea, which we had sat outside as it was lovely sunny day. We took...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank ZoeD401
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2018

Dear Zoe, Thank you so much for visiting us. We're so glad you had a chance to enjoy the grounds and wildlife as well! We look froward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 26 June 2018

I took my mum for an afternoon trip and we both enjoyed the house tour and creamy tea! The tour guide was very informative, friendly and funny. Beautiful house and grounds. We love the small church. Perfect place for a gentle walk on Sunday. The...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Kalaandmike
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you will be coming again!

Reviewed 14 June 2018

What a lovely house and views. Food and drink very acceptable. Worth a visit if you live history and houses

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Kesser1970
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit to us and thank you so much for your lovely comments.

Reviewed 28 May 2018

This is a really lovely house, set in beautiful parkland beside the River Itchen. It is only open from May to September on Sunday and bank holiday Monday afternoons (also Aug Mondays) from 2.30, but it is well worth trying to catch it open. The...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank ES1211
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

We're so glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you so much for visitng us and for informing our potential visitors so eloquently - we couldn't have put it better ourselves - much appreciated.

Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

Open from 2pm on Sundays during the summer. Beautiful spot for some tea and a delicious home made cake

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Amy J
Helen W, Front Office Manager at Avington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear Amy, Thank you so much for visiting us and for taking the time to mention us here. Just one slight correction, we are open from 2.30pm. I do hope you come again. Best wishes

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 12 nearby hotels
Days Inn Winchester M3
293 reviews
1.99 miles away
Holiday Inn Winchester
1,120 reviews
2.09 miles away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
986 reviews
2.86 miles away
The Swan Hotel
238 reviews
3.45 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 224 nearby restaurants
Cart & Horses
538 reviews
2.38 miles away
The King Charles
193 reviews
2.96 miles away
Winchester Coffee Roasters
30 reviews
2.54 miles away
Tichborne Arms
161 reviews
2.68 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 101 nearby attractions
The Mid Hants Railway Watercress Line
1,096 reviews
3.49 miles away
Alre Valley Trail
38 reviews
3.28 miles away
Itchen Valley Brewery
7 reviews
3.07 miles away
Winchester City Mill
634 reviews
3.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Mandy92
12 August 2018|
Answer
Response from amiddletonsct | Reviewed this property |
If you purchase advanced tickets via the GROUPON website £20 for cream tea with a guided tour of the house and grounds entry for two The rooms on show include: the Main Hall | Library | Conservatory | the Ballroom... More
0
Votes
Amanda W
21 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Helen W | Property representative |
Hi Amanda, Apologies for the delay! We charge £12 per adult and £6 for children under 14, for a guided tour of the house. We don't charge for entrance to the grounds. Kind regards Helen
1
Vote
Sheila J
26 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Helen W | Property representative |
Hi Sheila We've just been alerted to your message so apologies for not replying sooner. I'm not sure if you came along on the Sunday or Monday just past? If you did and all was well then that's great! Otherwise basically... More
0
Votes