Eastnor Castle

Eastnor Castle, Ledbury: Hours, Address, Eastnor Castle Reviews: 4.5/5

Eastnor Castle
4.5
Historic Sites • Castles
Read more
Sunday
10:30 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Eastnor Castle in the dramatic setting of the Malvern Hills and surrounded by a beautiful deer park, arboretum and lake - is the home of the Hervey-Bathurst family. Besides being a fascinating visitor attraction, the Castle fulfils other roles as an exclusive-use wedding venue, corporate and team building venue, as well as a venue for product launches and location filming. Business or private parties can stay in the castle’s beautiful bedrooms and our highly professional team is on hand to organise every aspect of your visit.
Suggested duration
More than 3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

Top ways to experience nearby attractions

Popular mentions

4.5
578 reviews
Excellent
368
Very good
147
Average
45
Poor
5
Terrible
13

Anne R
4 contributions
Apr 2022 • Family
We visited for the first on Good Friday this year with our 9 year old son and 12 year old Springer Spaniel. We were certainly not disappointed!
I’ve never been to a place which allows dogs everywhere, even into the castle!
Being Good Friday and an Easter event we had to queue to get in but the man on a penny farthing in a top hat entertained us while we waited!
Once through the entrance it was massive and didn’t appear busy at all! We made a good decision to get an ice cream early as later on in the day the queue was pretty long!
We managed to get a hot drink from the tea room with little queue.
There’s so much to do and see, we had a nice stroll around the lake with our dog (on lead but there is an off lead area).
There was a woodland play area for my son and another large play area near the castle, aimed slightly at younger ages but plenty of hidden swings in the trees on our walk which are great for all ages.
The staff were very friendly throughout.
The Knights maze near the entrance is brilliant, we got lost!! There’s another play area around the maze and a picnic area. Plenty of picnic areas and picnic spots everywhere!
We had to queue to go inside the castle and it was busy inside but lovely to see! Our dog felt very privileged to be allowed inside!
It was worth travelling from Birmingham to visit this place and we’d definitely return again!
Written 6 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review; it was a real pleasure to hear about your visit and we certainly hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Written 17 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

The Mighty T
1 contribution
Apr 2022 • Couples
We recently stayed at Eastnor castle for a wedding and I can honestly say it was one of the best experiences I've had. Everything was wonderful. The castle itself is beautiful and you can spend ages just taking it in. The scenery is stunning and those who run the castle, as well as others who work there were incredibly friendly and helpful. It was a perfect weekend. I hope to visit again. Highly recommended.
Written 1 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Eastnor Castle and we're so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful experience. Your feedback has been passed onto the relevant teams and we do hope to be able to welcome you again soon.
Written 17 May 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

debbie w
Bridgnorth, UK44 contributions
Apr 2022
A great day out especially good fun with children as there is plenty for them to do. There are lots of activities such as an assault course, maize, rope swings, various playgrounds and lovely large picnic areas. Plenty to keep them occupied. There is also a loveley walk around the lake with great views of the castle. There is a cafe and ice cream parlour. Dogs are allowed as well. Good value for a day out.
Written 23 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Eastnor Castle and we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We do hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Written 26 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Stephanie J
Old Leake, UK15 contributions
Apr 2022 • Family
What a fabulous experience. We went for the Easter weekend. Plenty to keep our grandchild amused, even having to walk around the lake a second time as we missed a clue. The castle was of great interest to us and to him, and cannot believe the owners allow dogs not only into the grounds but also the castle itself. So refreshing. We had a fab day and would.Highly Recommend as a day out for all the family. Thank you so much for sharing your home. My grandson wants to know ' quote' where is the tv Nanna 🤣
Written 21 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your lovely review and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon.
Written 26 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

AndThenThereWereFive
Bromsgrove, UK62 contributions
Apr 2022
Visited as a family of 7 on Easter Saturday.

The 'castle' (It's not authentic but a mock 19th replica) is visually impressive with superb grounds - plenty to keep the kids entertained, picnic area, lake, woodland walk etc - all great for good weather.

We had to go inside the castle as some of the clues for the Easter hunt were inside - and couldn't believe that, even if these Covid restriction-free times, that they were allowing uncontrolled freeflow fo guests. There were literally hundreds of people crammed into the building, no space to move, loads of queing - which when there are still 1 in 14 people catching Covid seems remarkable. I did mention this to the lady on the exit of the castle and she simply said "That's how we do things."
Written 16 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Eastnor Castle and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. Easter is one of our busiest weekends of the year and we had plans in place to deal with the crowds but we're sorry you felt it was too crowded. Please do get in touch with us by email or phone should you wish to further discuss your visit.
Written 26 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Jen H
Cheltenham, UK22 contributions
Apr 2022 • Family
Top day out!

There’s something for everyone here.

We visited with our 4 year old son for the Easter treasure hunt. I have to say it’s one of the best days out we’ve had as a family.

The grounds are vast and have rope swings and play areas dotted over the place. Plenty of space for children to run about. A small but decent tea room selling sandwiches and cakes, and beautiful picnic spots should you decide to take your own lunch.

The house is beautiful and although that type of thing is not usually “entertaining” for young children, ours enjoyed the suits of armour and weaponry on show.

We spent most of the day outdoors, which was perfect on a glorious day, but I can imagine it would be a different experience in the rain.

All very dog friendly too. We will be returning and recommending to all our friends and family! To top it off it’s part of the historic houses membership, so free entry to members.
Written 15 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Eastnor Castle and it's so lovely to hear you had such a good day out! We do hope you're able to visit again soon.
Written 26 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

lbrown165263
Cambridgeshire, UK6 contributions
Apr 2022 • Friends
Stayed for a wedding. Very clean staff were very friendly and food was amazing. The grounds are amazing with plenty to take in. Time passes too quickly. Would love to stay again. Thank you for making a memorable visit. .
Written 15 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to review Eastnor Castle; we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Written 26 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

margaret k
Aberystwyth, UK19 contributions
Sep 2021
My husband and I visited here on a Monday in early September -we had checked the castle information very carefully before booking online and noted that the castle is only open on Sundays and Mondays in September . It was one of the reasons that we visited the lovely town of Ledbury as we wanted to find somewhere to go where we could be outside . Parking was easy and we set off to walk around the lake before approaching the castle. There were several paths leading off in all directions but we kept the castle in sight and followed the path around the lake . It was a beautiful day and our first glimpse of the castle was breathtaking. It was very warm and we would love to have had a sit down but every time we came to a seat it was occupied by people with fishing paraphernalia all over the seat and camping equipment -its not a criticism -its just how it was -we reached the castle and made straight for the coffee shop and loos -which are not together but loos are located just as you come in to the castle at the main entrance . Enjoyed a lovely cup of coffee-lots of dogs and doggy bowls of water put out for them -very dog friendly place -even inside the castle . We then decided to explore inside and were informed that masks had to be worn which was ok with us . Its a beautiful castle -still lived in by the family and the rooms -furniture and tapestries are wonderful . Staff very pleasant and knowledgeable and the whole experience was great . We went back to the coffee shop to enjoy a lovely lunch before exploring the rest of the castle -battlements etc and then we just sat for a while taking in the beautiful view of the arboretum and enjoying the fresh air -we stayed at the Feathers hotel in Ledbury and our room was called the Eastnor room where pride of place was given to a huge painting of the castle . I had been looking forward to seeing it and the lake walk for ages and it did not disappoint .
Written 14 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of Eastnor Castle and we're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We normally only open on Sundays in September but took the decision to also open on Mondays throughout September this year to offer our visitors the chance of a more peaceful visit. It sounds as though that's exactly what you had and we're thrilled your visit didn't disappoint!
Written 15 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sian Evans
Ledbury, UK104 contributions
Sep 2021 • Couples
We thoroughly enjoyed the fireworks championships at Eastnor last weekend. Really well organised, amazing fireworks and pyrotechnics on display and wonderful atmosphere in the grounds of Eastnor. Definitely one for the diary next year. Just brilliant
Written 8 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thanks for your comments about the Firework Championships, we shall pass your feedback onto the organisers.
Written 15 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

tilly r
5 contributions
Sep 2021
Check if it’s open! I booked a ticket to stay at the camping grounds and then go into the castle for the day. I booked a camping ticket for the Tuesday and presumed the ticket for the castle would be for the same day. I paid and nothing came up to warn me it was closed!

Once I got to the castle I phoned and the women on the other end was very rude and hung up on me when I said it wasn’t very clear on the website. Really poor customer service.

I have no idea what the castle is actually like and I’m sure it’s great so this isn’t a review on the castle it’s self but the customer service and the lack of clear information on the website. They didn’t give me a refund and were not interested in helping me any other way.

On a positive note the camping was lovely and would highly recommend (the camping would get 5 stars)
Written 8 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Good afternoon, Thank you for your feedback and we're pleased you enjoyed your camping. The castle was indeed closed yesterday when you called from the gate phone asking why you couldn't get in. The gate speaker phone has a time limit on it so your conversation was cut short; we did not, and would never hang up on a customer. We obtained your name during the conversation and looked at your booking on our system; you had booked tickets to visit on 24th August (when we were open), not yesterday, which you will be able to see on your booking confirmation email. A manager drove straight down to the gate to explain this to you and to offer to help resolve the matter after we'd been cut off but you had already gone. Our website has our open days displayed very clearly in several places so we're sorry that you misinterpreted this information.
Written 8 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 572
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Eastnor Castle

Eastnor Castle is open:
  • Fri - Mon 10:30 - 17:30