We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
1,200
All photos (1,200)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent73%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“submarine tour”(138 reviews)
“hms ocelot”(80 reviews)
About
PLEASE NOTE WE ARE NOW CLOSED FOR THE WINTER. WE RE-OPEN ON 2ND FEBRUARY 2019. Steeped in history, The Historic Dockyard Chatham is home to historic warships, a working Ropery, museum galleries and hundreds of compelling stories.
Suggested duration: More than 3 hours
Contact
Church Lane, Chatham ME4 4TZ, England
Website
+44 1634 823800
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (2,242)
Filter reviews
2,206 results
Traveller rating
1,581
475
91
33
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,581
475
91
33
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews submarine tour hms ocelot historic dockyard victorian ropery wooden walls big space rope factory sailing ship rope works royal navy commissioners house hms cavalier all ages timed tickets dock yard large site annual ticket
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 2,206 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Love the historic dockyard since being a child they have added additional features throughout the years. So many things to do and learn from the ages of one of the most famous British dockyards. I would recommend this place if you love a step back...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank paulcJ7709NK
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

What an interesting place, plenty to see and do and full of rich history, well worth a day out especially if the weather is good, many a great movies filmed there also.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Darren H
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

I have taken my son here three times now and he absolutely loves it (aged 4,then 5). If you get there early you can get on the free activities which you have to book on the day. We loved the science experiments! I wish you...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jessica V
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

The dockyard is full of fab items from the call the midwife set to the war ships . It's great for adults and kids when go every year .

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Sherri B
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here for about 3 hours. They have a soft play which we would have used for sure if we had younger ones, plenty to see, better on a nice day, decent cafe, half a day visit is enough.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank pezianni
dockyardchatham, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear pezianni, Thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your day. As you now have annual tickets please do check out on our website our programme of events this year which is included in your ticket! We hope to...More

Reviewed 11 December 2018

Plenty to see, excellent displays. A must for people who like history. Much much more than just ships

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank michaeltidy
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear michaeltidy, Thank you for your 5* review. Glad to hear you were not disappointed and enjoyed seeing the displays and history shared here. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 9 December 2018

This was our fifth visit in 17 years, so having driven 150 miles to get here we started with an early morning breakfast and what a treat that was. The cafeteria is much improved since our last visit but still teteining. It's ancient character. We...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Leslie M
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Leslie M, Thank you for your recent review. It is lovely to hear you have visited us many times from far away and enjoyed your day here. We hope to welcome you back again in the future for breakfast and exploring again!

Reviewed 7 December 2018

Great full day out but way too expensive! Lots of history and hands on exhibitions, we really enjoyed our visit and fortunately got a 2-4-1 offer as I would not pay £24.50 per adult for this visit.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank LondonTravelAgent
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear LondonTravelAgent, Thank you for your recent review. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your day out here exploring a lot of the exhibitions. As your ticket is an annual one, we hope to welcome you back again in the future for our exciting programme of...More

Reviewed 5 December 2018

Our time was limited but we went inside a submarine and had an excellent guide who was hoping to soon be a submarine officer.A very enthusiastic guide explained how ropes are made and encouraged us to help make one. Very good amenities and lots to...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JohnandAnnAdams
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2018

Dear JohnandAnnAdams, Thank you for your 5* review. It is lovely to hear you both had a brilliant day out and especially loved the Submarine tour. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Reviewed 1 December 2018

Spur of the moment visit on our way home from Kent, accompanied by our dog. We received a warm welcome on arrival and allowed entrance with the dog, though advised that we couldn’t take the dog into the exhibitions. Sadly this included pretty much everything....More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Louise S
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2018

Dear Louise S, Thank you for your 5* review. Delighted to hear you had a great day out from your spontaneous visit. We look forward to welcoming you again when we reopen on 2nd February 2019.

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 6 nearby hotels
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
428 reviews
.16 miles away
Ship & Trades
456 reviews
.49 miles away
The King Charles Hotel
754 reviews
.55 miles away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
517 reviews
1.14 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 151 nearby restaurants
Boomers
176 reviews
.37 miles away
Cool Beans Coffee & Bistro
109 reviews
.35 miles away
Villagio Ristorante
439 reviews
.36 miles away
Popadom
74 reviews
.43 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 49 nearby attractions
HMS Cavalier
107 reviews
.17 miles away
Royal Engineers Museum
237 reviews
.48 miles away
Copper Rivet Distillery
149 reviews
.44 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
lisabarrett7
1 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from 502pastoro | Reviewed this property |
There are shops close by and the town centre is a close walk from the place.
1
Vote
SunnyHunnyPaul
27 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Heart-in-Taiwan | Reviewed this property |
Yep lots of free parking
1
Vote
Pamela J
29 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from maryL0809 | Reviewed this property |
Went there for a day trip with my wife, there is plenty to do from some ships to explore to the rope making demonstration, so plenty to keep kids occupied. I have mobility problems but was able to get around without... More
1
Vote