We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wheatsheaf

Closed Now: 11:00 - 00:00
Open today: 11:00 - 00:00
Review Highlights
A nice suburban pub

Nice suburban pub, menu a bit too ambitious but whoever is doing the food preparation knows their... read more

Reviewed 12 February 2019
Bill_scarborough
,
Scarborough, United Kingdom
via mobile
Bad Friday

Visited with friends , service was good but omg the food portions were so small. I was still hungry... read more

Reviewed 21 December 2018
mini843
,
kingston upon hull
via mobile
Read all 61 reviews
34
All photos (34)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good18%
  • Average16%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible18%
12 Feb 2019
“A nice suburban pub”
21 Dec 2018
“Bad Friday”
About
'Situated right in the heart of Kirkella and minutes from Hull golf course. We have 3 separate areas to suit most people from a sleek cocktail lounge, a separate bar showing Sky & BT Sports, a restaurant dining area and a private garden We offer a...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 - 00:00
See all hours
Contact
2 Packman Lane, Kirk Ella, Kingston-upon-Hull HU10 7TL, England
Website
+44 1482 653207
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
26
11
10
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
26
11
10
3
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2019 via mobile

Nice suburban pub, menu a bit too ambitious but whoever is doing the food preparation knows their business. Friendly, warm and comfortable.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Bill_scarborough
Reviewed 7 February 2019 via mobile

I visited wheitsheif last weekend after a strenuous walk, I had a pie on my mind all day,so me and my husband went here, the pie was delicious and cooked perfectly. The food was very efficient and the workers were all very friendly and quick...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Mrsrobinson12234
Reviewed 22 January 2019

Ordered and had the chicken and leak pie with veg and mash potatoes - the pie pastry case was so hard, I struggled to get my knife through it. I certainly couldn't eat the base of the pie. Also I found a piece of aluminium...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TePeter
Matthew T, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Hi TePeter I'm Sorry about your experience but this is the 1st time its been brought to my attention i can assure you that if it had been on the night it would have been dealt with in a better manner. If you could message...More

Reviewed 10 January 2019

Marstons food and ales are poor quality, not even any lemon or lime to go with gin and tonics! Told us they had run out and waiting for Marstons supplier to arrive. They could have walked 200 yard to the nearest supermarket and bought some...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank BeeEssTea
Matthew T, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Hi BeeessTea We always have an abundance of stock when it comes to lemons and limes as they come into us every other day so i'm not sure why you where told there wasn't any. All our Ales are treated with the greatest of attention...More

Reviewed 27 December 2018

Myself and family had a pre Christmas lunch. The food was delicious and really big portions. Service was really good and staff very friendly. I did notice the place now has a much better atmosphere, very welcoming and wow how they have cleaned the place...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Pinotlush123
Matthew T, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Glad you had a great time we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 21 December 2018 via mobile

Visited with friends , service was good but omg the food portions were so small. I was still hungry and went home and made a sandwich I mentioned this to the staff but they really didn't care . Don't waste your moneyMore

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank mini843
Matthew T, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Hi mini843 Most of our meals are too much to handle and most people leave feeling stuffed, might i ask what meal it was you ordered. We do have a light bites menu and might have been ordered from this by mistake. Our Staff are...More

Reviewed 13 December 2018

Excellent lunch in bright, airy, nicely decorated pub dining room. Great food. Friendly and helpful staff.Most of us shared a meal deal, two main courses for £10. Quality very good. I will definitely go again. I have already recommended it to friends. I understand there...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Annie B
Matthew T, Manager at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Glad you enjoyed yourself hope to see you again

Reviewed 12 December 2018

New landlord finally in place after months of temporary stand ins. Hopefully the pub can be restored to its former glory as our favourite local. Too many visits recently have been less welcoming than an undertakers waiting room with even less sympathetic staff

Date of experience: December 2018
2  Thank davidrherd
Reviewed 8 October 2018

It seemed like a scene out of American werewolf in London. An almost deserted bar with locals glaring as we walked in. Most of them seemed to be vaping but it was hard to see in the fug they were creating. We were planning to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Chris D
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

This is long, brace yourselves. We were a family of three adults (there's no option for that on Trip Advisor). I work in customer service and if any of my staff gave service like the bar staff here, I'd be embarrassed. What I will start...More

Date of experience: September 2018
3  Thank DanniMac86
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 nearby hotels
Best Western Willerby Manor Hotel
697 reviews
.61 miles away
Innkeepers Lodge Hull, Willerby
240 reviews
.78 miles away
Mercure Hull Grange Park Hotel
906 reviews
.85 miles away
Premier Inn Hull West Hotel
698 reviews
2.28 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 752 nearby restaurants
That's Amore
322 reviews
.79 miles away
Papas Fish and Chips
1,985 reviews
.69 miles away
Nu Bar
263 reviews
.77 miles away
Star inn willerby
215 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 201 nearby attractions
Tea & Bisque-it
68 reviews
.78 miles away
Humber Bridge Country Park
110 reviews
2.49 miles away
Church of St Mary The Virgin
17 reviews
2.55 miles away
Beauty969
6 reviews
2.93 miles away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines