We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
30min wait for lunch

I took my daughter to Salthouse for a treat as had been at her school sports day. The reason we... read more

Reviewed 27 June 2018
JohnR2259
via mobile
Could improve

They have just not got it right in this pub since the refurb.The layout seems to have split the... read more

Reviewed 28 January 2018
hullbug
,
hull
Read all 30 reviews
19
All photos (19)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent16%
  • Very good20%
  • Average20%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible38%
Travellers talk about
“spicy sauce”(2 reviews)
“free section”(2 reviews)
About
The Saltshouse Tavern is a large, two-roomed, friendly local pub, in the heart of east Hull, close to the village of Sutton, Howdale Road, Saltshouse Road and Gleneagle Park. From noon to 8pm we serve a great menu. We show all major sporting events...more
Contact
1 Dunvegan Road, Kingston-upon-Hull HU8 9JD, England
Website
+44 1482 713981
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
5
6
6
2
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
5
6
6
2
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spicy sauce cooked chicken free section hot chips updated menu game machine drink deal pulled chicken served quickly varied menu pleasant staff bacon loop quiz quid fab pubs
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

Worst pub ever, went for a quiet drink and it was ridiculously rowdy and music stupidly loud clubs probably have their music quieter than this pub. Witnessed a lot of drug deals and lots of underage drinking and some of the underaged kids were also...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank hullreviewer2018
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We were regular diners when it was Salthouse Tavern before the refurb. We visited after the takeover and were very disappointed the food was not of a decent standard, we both had tomato soup which was lukewarm and tasteless, I had fish and chips, the...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Biggunm
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

I took my daughter to Salthouse for a treat as had been at her school sports day. The reason we picked Salthouse was it was just around the corner from her school and felt we would have plenty of time to get some lunch and...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JohnR2259
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

Excellent service from both staff and landlady. Food to an excellent standard, 10/10 would recommend. Atmosphere in the pub was great, definitely coming back more often.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank iantripplett20345
Charlotte H, General Manager at The Saltshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Thank you for the great review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

10/10 pub, 10/10 staff, 10/10 beer, just one thing wrong - “George” from behind the bar has a bad music taste ! Not impressed, #bandana-boy

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank Alfie R
Charlotte H, General Manager at The Saltshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for the great review.

Reviewed 12 April 2018

I have been a regular for many years but, as with many other locals, I will not be returning. Despite recent refurb, pub is still in the same poor state as only short term cosmetic improvements appear to have been made. The layout does not...More

Date of experience: March 2018
2  Thank PollyPocket74
Charlotte H, General Manager at The Saltshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi, I am so sorry that you haven't been happy with your recent visit. We have had a few issues recently with equipment in the kitchen which has forced early closure. Because you mentioned the bar being unmanned and glasses not being collected, I will...More

Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

Realy nice make over, now spoiled by lots of young kids doing drugs in the toilets, which by the way are still a dump! Underage drinking in the bar is rife! But the big problem is the drugs! Very blatantly used (coke) and nothing has...More

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank Andy C
Charlotte H, General Manager at The Saltshouse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hi Andy, We are really sorry you feel this way about our pub. We are doing our utmost to make sure that this a family friendly place during the day and somewhere you can enjoy a night with friends in the evening. We take any...More

Reviewed 28 January 2018

They have just not got it right in this pub since the refurb.The layout seems to have split the lounge and the main entrance as been moved to were the glass sliding doors were located,so now if they have a band/group on they appear to...More

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank hullbug
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

The Saltshouse (FKA Saltshouse Tavern) is my local which I hardly ever went into, since it’s refurb, I’ve been in twice and had two very nice well priced meals. The lounge feels more modern and they have a good selection of drinks. I would recommend...More

Date of experience: December 2017
2  Thank andywQ1948PH
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

My daughter took her 4 year old daughter for a teatime treat at this newly refurbed venue we have all previously used. From the minute they got in a group of loud mouth lads blasted out disgusting abusive language in the eating area , even...More

Date of experience: November 2017
1  Thank Pauline C
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 21 nearby hotels
Cornmill Hotel
59 reviews
2.12 miles away
Trinity Hotel
219 reviews
2.24 miles away
Premier Inn Hull North Hotel
520 reviews
2.61 miles away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
733 reviews
2.86 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 722 nearby restaurants
The Lodge Bar and Grill
32 reviews
.41 miles away
The Lambwath
434 reviews
.70 miles away
The Duke Of York
89 reviews
.49 miles away
Merit Chinese Takeaway
20 reviews
.49 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 199 nearby attractions
East Park
1,051 reviews
.95 miles away
Humber Car Museum
68 reviews
2.13 miles away
P&O North Sea Ferries - Hull to Rotterdam
527 reviews
2.21 miles away
P&O Ferries
212 reviews
2.60 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Richard A
12 July 2018|
Answer
Response from hullbug | Reviewed this property |
approx 1981?
0
Votes