We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Unit 1, Ambleside LA22 0EE, England
Phone Number:
+44 15394 39906
See all hours
Thu - Mon 10:00 - 17:30

Rufty Tuftys a large, indoor play centre, offering adventure, exercise,...

Rufty Tuftys a large, indoor play centre, offering adventure, exercise, exploration and excitement for children in a clean, safe, stimulating environment right in the heart of the Lake District.We have free parking on our front and also we have an overflow carpark, again free just to the left of our building.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 54 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 25
  • 16
    Very good
  • 5
  • 1
  • 7
Decent soft play

Good for 90 minutes especially in the rain. Clean premises, toilets regularly cleaned, tables cleared. Equipment looked to be well kept and in good condition. Food prices as... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 August 2015
Andrew P
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 54: English reviews
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2015 via mobile

Good for 90 minutes especially in the rain. Clean premises, toilets regularly cleaned, tables cleared. Equipment looked to be well kept and in good condition. Food prices as expected, pot of tea was fine along with beakers of juice. But cold but the door was open most of the time. Good fun!

1 Thank Andrew P
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2015 via mobile

The soft play was great, coffee ok, staff terrible. We were served by a rude young girl with black hair and glasses. She sighed and huffed when asked the simplest of questions and God help you if you dragged her out of the kitchen away from her phone/iPad. We would have spent a lot more money if it wasn't for... More 

1 Thank Paul N
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your review. As you may know you cannot sack someone for not having good interpersonal skills. As you will see from our reviews lately the staffing has been a big issue for us. Fortunately as of yesterday we have now resolved the issue with this member of staff. She has resigned. We have a policy of... More 

Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2015 via mobile

Rundown. The people in charge have clearly given up on this place which is a shame because soft play is big business Baby section was tired, dirty and full of broken toys with no 'fencing' to keep them from wandering off. The toilets were grim and the staff looked like they were in a POW camp not a children's play... More 

1 Thank Rob B
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review

Hi Rob. Many thanks for your review. We do appreciate go and bad reviews. If I may respond to your comments. With regard to the toilets we pride ourselves on having clean and hygienic toilet facilities for both kids and adults. You will have seen the sign that states that if the toilets are not clean when you visit them... More 

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2015 via mobile

Went there with my 2 kids, they loved it! The play areas perfect, and the staff were lovely they made sure the food was acceptable for my kids, as they have specific dietary needs. I found the place to be to a high standard of cleanliness and well looked after. I will definitely be going back there again!

Thank CatherineVS9
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2015 via mobile

When Rufty Tufty's first opened it was our favourite soft play centre. Always spotless,even at peak times. The owner was always here with a smile and an eye on maintaining high standards of cleanliness & service. Great coffee, really good food for adults and kids. However, in the last 2 years I am sad to say that it really feels... More 

3 Thank Compelledtosayit
barrymporter, Owner at Rufty Tuftys, responded to this review

We are committed to creating a clean, welcoming, place for children to play. We were really upset by your comments. Although it was quiet when you arrived it could well be that there had been a large birthday party before and the toilets had been “well used” . It is however totally unacceptable and although we have systems in place... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
377 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

This is a typical single storey children's play-barn type facility located just outside the village. The staff were friendly and welcoming and there was a reasonable number of items to occupy the children. Our Grandson particularly liked the large pedal tractors. The facility itself is showing it's age a little but compared with other similar places we have been to... More 

Thank Andy810
Dalton-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2015

Hi, I have visited the place with my friend and 3 children during half term. It was busy but not very busy. We have ordered food for ourself and the kids and been told there is 45 minutes wait. That was fine, however after an hour we have very politely asked the staff, how much longer we will have to... More 

2 Thank Hana S
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2015

Came here to put a morning in with my Sons (7 and 2) as play areas go it's pretty decent nice cup of coffee staff were friendly enough and the food was what you'd expect decent price for a cheese sarnie - but my pet hate is uncleanliness it wasn't just a couple of days worth of grime either it... More 

2 Thank Tapper125
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2015

Although the soft play was a reasonable option for a rainy day, the lunch was an experience not to be repeated. We waited 50 minutes for it to arrive. Having paid £3.75 each for 'homemade soup' we watched them open cartons of soup and place them in the wrong bowls. My husband's mushroom soup arrived with large chunks of potato... More 

1 Thank Dougal30
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2014

We visited on New Year's Eve - it's not that easy to find (could do with some signs from the road) but it's worth it - our nearly 4 year old had a blast. The soft play frame is quite large with a couple of slides and lots of bits to climb around. Adults are asked to accompany under 4's... More 

Thank Britinbaku

Travellers who viewed Rufty Tuftys also viewed

Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District

Been to Rufty Tuftys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Rufty Tuftys staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?