The Blackpool Tower Dungeon

The Blackpool Tower Dungeon

The Blackpool Tower Dungeon
4.5
Speciality MuseumsGame & Entertainment Centres
Saturday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
About
Journey into the belly of the theatrical Blackpool Tower for the trip of a lifetime; a full cast of brilliant actors, ten shows backed with laughs and frights as well as a whole host of authentic sets, amazing special effects and an exciting drop ride make The Blackpool Tower Dungeon the best attraction for those who like a mix of fun and fear.Take a trip through 1,000 years of Lancashire’s gruesome and funny history and experience the dark and mysterious past of the pool that is black.
Suggested duration
< 1 hour
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Admission tickets
from £15.99
All you need to step foot in the door.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.

Top ways to experience The Blackpool Tower Dungeon and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Jenn Cara
    Birkenhead, United Kingdom66 contributions
    Always worth the time.
    If you have been to one of the Dungeons you have pretty much seen them all BUT they are always an enjoyable experience. I think the staff are always so full of energy and seem like they enjoy what they do. I feel like a trip to the dungeons are always a good idea. The Blackpool dungeons were one of the better ones, and the gift shop is full of unique merch.
    Hello, Thank you for your review of the Blackpool Tower Dungeon. I am thrilled to hear you had such a good time with us and I totally agree the Blackpool Tower Dungeon is a must visit when you are in town. Thank you very much for the positive feedback on our actors. We are always happy to hear that they have helped you enjoy your day; I will pass on your compliments! Kind regards Kenny
    Written 15 April 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2022
    Written 13 April 2023
  • Tam B
    10 contributions
    Well done but perhaps not suitable for young children.
    I took my kids, 6 and 8, and they couldn't handle it and we had to ask to get out. We were not the only ones as another family didn't even make it past the first room and their kids freaked out. The little that i did get to see was very good and was actually quite funny and i would deffo stayed for the full show. For anyone above say 14 it would not be scary in the least and worth a visit but kids see things differently. If we had made it to the end I suspect it would have been a 4/5 star but as we only lasted 5 mins and left with two crying children, it has to be a 3 star unfortunately.
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon; We recommend the experience is suitable for children 8 years and above, but this is at the discretion of the parent or guardian. The Blackpool Tower Dungeon brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects and a ride in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that takes you on a journey through 1000 years of Lancashire history. It’s hilarious fun and it’s sometimes a bit scary. Kind regards Aaron
    Written 14 July 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Written 10 July 2023
  • Garedandrew4
    2 contributions
    Full price for not the full experience. Staff to lazy to be bothered.
    Beware of the height requirement and lazy staff. I booked tickets online for my whoe family. The ticket prices are OK for the experience however the end of the experience involves a ride. The ride requires a hight requirement to take part. This requirement was not made obvious until the entry point within the attraction. The booking website does not show anything obvious regarding this information. I was told afterwards that at the door of the attraction there is a hight measurement which the lazy reception staff didn't bother pointing out. Right at the end of. Our visit I was told my son was just not tall enough by maybe a few mm' s. This then stopped my whole family going on it ruining the whole experience. The staff don't want to hear complaints and are just not bothered. They rake the full entry price off you without discount for smaller riders. The child tickets are from 3 years old so it should be obvious when selecting those tickets. I feel it is a poor experience and I am out of pocket for it.
    Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon. I am sorry you were disappointed that your child could not go on our drop ride. Health & Safety is paramount at our attraction and therefore we are very strict with the height restrictions for our ride. However, we do communicate the restrictions on our website and our front desk. I am sure you understand that we act in your child’s best interest as your health & safety is our top priority. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Aaron
    Written 6 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 30 July 2023
  • Jonathan K
    Altofts, United Kingdom15 contributions
    It was Ok.
    Visit for the 4th time with my new partner July 27th. Not as good as previous visits to the Blackpool Dungeons. Sadly they have removed the burning Pendal Witch scene which is definitely a loss to the whole experience. I would also like to add the actors / actresses this time round sounded tired and wooden, not sure if this was just the time of day or this date in particular but it wasn't on a par with previous visits.
    Good Afternoon, I am sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at The Blackpool Tower Dungeon. All of our actors are trained professionals who have been through a rigorous recruitment and training process. We have many reviews stating how good our actors are. Thank you for your feedback and I will take your comments on board. Kind Regards, Aaron
    Written 6 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 3 August 2023
  • laura W
    25 contributions
    Brilliant experience, great actors, highly recommend!
    We booked the tour and escape room for us and our 8 year old daughter (who is a pretty nervous kid) and we all absolutely loved it. Its scary, but not terrifying. Definitely ok for kids for anyone who’s worried. Its interactive and funny. The actors are incredible, I was really impressed with how good the whole experience was for the price. The escape room was great too highly recommend doing both activities. That said, I wasn’t impressed with getting to the front desk to start our escape room to be told it’s been pushed back and hour and a half and no one had told me. This after I’d already been contacted and asked if I minded our initial slot being brought forward 30 minutes which meant me changing our initial dungeon booking. (Which absolutely wasn’t an issue) Whoever it was that changed it left it to the poor girl on the desk to tell us on arrival aswell which really wasn’t fair to her. Luckily, our accommodation was close by and we hadn’t yet checked in so wasn’t really too much of an inconvenience and It wouldn’t put me off booking in again if we go back with friends / family.
    Hello, Thank you for leaving a review for the Blackpool Tower Dungeon, we are thrilled that you had such a brilliant experience with us. We try to ensure that every guest has a scary yet fun experience inside The Blackpool Tower Dungeon and I am thrilled that you had a great time with us and thank you very much for the positive feedback on our actors. We are always happy to hear that they have helped you enjoy your visit. I do apologise you arrived to find the time of your booking had been changed and you had not been made aware of this. Kind Regards Aaron
    Written 12 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 10 August 2023
  • Rich F
    Derby, United Kingdom21 contributions
    Overall a good albeit crowded experience. One major let-down that was resolved to satisfaction.
    We (myself and my 9 year-old son) were on the 13.45 tour on Sunday 27 August. Overall, this was an enjoyable experience, very entertaining with interactive elements, kind of like a Horrible Histories of Blackpool but better. Perhaps a little too crowded with people being left with nowhere to sit in certain stages and others jostling to be at the front of the group. The only major let down was an overzealous employee upon reaching the end of the tour. She seemingly took delight in telling my son that he did not meet the 1.4m height restriction for the drop tower ride. This was despite my son being let on the 1.4m rides at Alton Towers over 2 months ago, and being obviously tall enough on the height measurement poster at the entrance to the Dungeon. I explained this to the employee, but to no avail. Not wanting to hold up the people behind us, we left the dungeon. This made my son cry as he was really looking forward to the drop tower. Fortunately, this was swiftly resolved upon complaining to the manager on duty who confirmed that my son should have got on the drop tower and apologised for what had happened and provided us with a refund - very good customer service skills and ultimately this was the difference between a 1/5 and a 4/5.
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon; I am thrilled to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. The Blackpool Tower Dungeon brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that takes you on a journey through 1000 years of Lancashire history. It’s hilarious fun and it’s sometimes a bit scary. I am pleased to hear the issue regarding the drop ride was quickly sorted and hope this does not put you off visiting us again. Kind Regard's Aaron
    Written 1 September 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited August 2023
    Written 29 August 2023
  • Dawn R
    United Kingdom1 contribution
    Rude staff member
    The dungeons on theirselves were very educational and exiting. Additionally, most of the staff were respectful and welcoming. However, at the end of our tour we came across a very rude member of staff. My friend suffers from heart problems and so it was advised not to go on the ride. When we attempted to leave we were told we needed an adult to escort us out, despite the fact we did not enter with an adult as our adult supervisor was waiting for us at the exit doors. When we tried to explain this he was extremely rude and dismissive, this was frustrating as we were not able to explain due to constant interuption and were told to 'calm down' when we got upset. This ruined the experience which we enjoying untill we encountered this member of staff. Overall , the other staff were amazing and the experience was fun.
    Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon; I am thrilled to hear you had an exciting time with us. The Blackpool Tower Dungeon brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects and a ride in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that takes you on a journey through 1000 years of Lancashire history. It’s hilarious fun and it’s sometimes a bit scary. I have passed your feedback onto the Dungeon management team. Kind Regards Aaron
    Written 3 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 29 October 2023
  • TheFussyTeenager
    Manchester, United Kingdom687 contributions
    The Escape Room is a Truly Horrifying Experience 👎
    Please note that this review is for the escape room only. Having done over one hundred escape rooms, the ‘Escape Room Experience’ here noticeably lacked in terms of quality, immersion and gameplay. It’s location inside The Red Lion pub is ill-considered: the chatter and general noise from patrons massively took away from the story. The room itself- a mostly empty space- is uninspired (impracticably dark, too). This surprised me given the detailed/engrossing environments found in the Dungeons themselves. The host’s delivery was fine, but they were far too keen to give us clues. As soon as we moved on to the next puzzle, a hint flashed up on the screen. A review from 2018 echoes my feelings about this, so it’s clear that staff simply hold players’ hands and pull them through as quickly as possible. Needless to say, we got out with about 1/3 of the time left. At £22.50 each, it was undeniably overpriced. I emailed Merlin who assured me that the feedback will be taken onboard and provided me with a full refund (I only asked for vouchers for another attraction, so this was a surprise).
    Hello, Thank you for your review of the Blackpool Tower Escape Room We take pride in upholding the highest of standards and value all of your feedback or suggestions so we can improve your experience even more. Kind Regards Aaron
    Written 4 November 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 2 November 2023
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
4.5
4,997 reviews
Excellent
3,309
Very good
1,113
Average
362
Poor
108
Terrible
105

CM-2016
Majorca, Spain200 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
What an experience this was, we had so much fun. My daughter loved the different rooms and history. The actors were so good and a brilliant ride at the end. Ended in a cute bar.
Written 9 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon; I am thrilled to hear you and your Daughter had a fun time with us. The Blackpool Tower Dungeon brings together an amazing special effects and a ride in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that takes you on a journey through 1000 years of Lancashire history. It’s hilarious fun and it’s sometimes a bit scary. Thank you very much for the positive feedback on our actors. We are always happy to hear that they have helped you enjoy your visit; I will pass on your compliments! Kind Regards Aaron
Written 11 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Michelle Beer
Swansea, UK1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
Not sure if this is the right place but myself and my daughter in law where both ill whilst waiting in the pub at the end of the dungeon experience and would just like to say a massive thank you to the staff as we were both ill in the toilet and how the staff handed it we are truly grateful and can't apologise enough for the mess we caused and I must add it was nothing to do with the attraction
Written 7 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you very much for the positive feedback on our team. We are always happy to hear that they have helped. Hope you and your Daughter in law are feeling better Kind Regards Aaron
Written 11 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Dawn S
11 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
Absolutely amazing experience, although wouldn't recommend for children, it's extremely dark, loud and jumpy! But if you're looking for a scare and enjoy things jumping out at you this is a must!
The ride at the end is optional although when you are already hyped up its a definite cherry on the cake. An experience I'm glad we participated in!
Written 6 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon; I am thrilled to hear you had a fantastic time with us. The Blackpool Tower Dungeon brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects and a ride in a truly unique and exciting walkthrough experience that takes you on a journey through 1000 years of Lancashire . It’s hilarious fun and it’s sometimes a bit scary. We hope to see you again soon Kind Regards Aaron
Written 6 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Lisa-marie l
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
Absolutely amazing time, had a good laugh and a good scare. Kids loved it.
The Actors were fantastic, really added to the experience.
Written 5 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello Thank you for your review of The Blackpool Tower Dungeons I am so pleased that you had an amazing time and I hope you will visit us again! Kind Regards Aaron
Written 6 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

R123321
Cardiff, UK130 contributions
Nov 2023 • Family
We visited the dungeon 30/10/23 as something spooky to do over Halloween. It was fantastic we all enjoyed the kids were scared but the actors were fab x
Written 3 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for your 5* review of the Blackpool Tower Dungeon. I am very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time with us. We are a family attraction so try to make the Dungeons a scary but fun attraction. Kind regards Aaron
Written 4 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

TheFussyTeenager
Manchester, UK687 contributions
Sep 2023 • Friends
Please note that this review is for the escape room only.

Having done over one hundred escape rooms, the ‘Escape Room Experience’ here noticeably lacked in terms of quality, immersion and gameplay.

It’s location inside The Red Lion pub is ill-considered: the chatter and general noise from patrons massively took away from the story. The room itself- a mostly empty space- is uninspired (impracticably dark, too). This surprised me given the detailed/engrossing environments found in the Dungeons themselves.

The host’s delivery was fine, but they were far too keen to give us clues. As soon as we moved on to the next puzzle, a hint flashed up on the screen. A review from 2018 echoes my feelings about this, so it’s clear that staff simply hold players’ hands and pull them through as quickly as possible. Needless to say, we got out with about 1/3 of the time left.

At £22.50 each, it was undeniably overpriced. I emailed Merlin who assured me that the feedback will be taken onboard and provided me with a full refund (I only asked for vouchers for another attraction, so this was a surprise).
Written 2 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for your review of the Blackpool Tower Escape Room We take pride in upholding the highest of standards and value all of your feedback or suggestions so we can improve your experience even more. Kind Regards Aaron
Written 4 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Brian C
Glasgow, UK142 contributions
Oct 2023 • Couples
Fantastic.
The whole thing was brilliant from start to finish.
Will definitely be back when I return to Blackpool!
Written 2 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for your 5* review of the Blackpool Tower Dungeon! I'm so pleased to hear that you had a fantastic time and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards Aaron
Written 4 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

terri m
Hampshire, UK6 contributions
Nov 2023 • Couples
The actors were absolutely brilliant, the scenes were set up so well. It was an absolute blast, and the drop ride was such fun. It was a fun way to spend an hour or so and would definitely go again
Written 2 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for leaving a great 5* review for the Blackpool Tower Dungeon, we are thrilled that you had such a ghoulish experience with us. We aim to give every guest a memorable experience and it’s great to hear that our actors delivered that with you. Kind regards Aaron
Written 4 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sioned E
16 contributions
Oct 2023 • Family
Absolutely fantastic 🎃
The actors were amazing, I enjoyed every minute I was there, highly recommend
Written 2 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review the Blackpool Tower Dungeon. I'm so pleased you had a fantastic time at the Dungeons and thank you very much for the positive feedback on our actors. We are always happy to hear that they have helped you enjoy your day; I will pass on your compliments! Kind regards Michelle
Written 4 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Delyth E
1 contribution
Nov 2023 • Family
We didn’t know what to expect, we weren’t disappointed with the experience, from start to finish it was amazing.
We have precious photos of the day
Thank you so much
Written 2 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, Thanks for the 5* review of the Blackpool Tower Dungeon. We try to ensure that every guest has a scary yet fun experience inside The Blackpool Tower Dungeon and I am thrilled that you had an excellent time with us Kind regards Aaron
Written 3 November 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 4,980
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

THE BLACKPOOL TOWER DUNGEON: All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Blackpool Tower Dungeon


Restaurants near The Blackpool Tower Dungeon: View all restaurants near The Blackpool Tower Dungeon on Tripadvisor