We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Chuan Spa

Neighbourhood:
Marylebone
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Get directions
Address: 1C Portland Place, London W1B 1JA, England
Phone Number:
+44 20 7973 7550
Website
Today
10:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:00 - 21:00
Sat - Sun 09:00 - 20:00
Description:

Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s...

Offering a tranquil haven in the heart of London, Chuan Spa is London’s first hotel spa to incorporate ancient principles of Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) into its signature treatments, ambience and décor. Guests can relax in the vitality pool, salt-sauna and steam room before visiting the spa treatment area.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 62 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 29
    Excellent
  • 7
    Very good
  • 10
    Average
  • 9
    Poor
  • 4
    Terrible
An oasis of calm and Tranquility

Went with a companion, and what a Xmas treat this place is. A quiet and relaxing Spa, everything about the visit is fantastic. It was a great place for spoiling and pampering and... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 January 2016
Graeme M
,
London, England, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

62 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 59: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2016

Both toilets in the men's loo were blocked, I reported this at the beginning of my 2 hour trip and they were still blocked at the end, the tea after the massage tasted a bit of washing up liquid, the jakuzzi had so much chlorine in it that I couldn't get into it, I had booked a very expensive deep... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Antlp
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Antip, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are investigating all your points raised as it is very concerning that you didn't experience the high levels of service we are known for. Please do contact me directly to discuss this matter further. Erinn Cracknell Director of Spa Erinn.Cracknell@chuanspa.com More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2016

Went with a companion, and what a Xmas treat this place is. A quiet and relaxing Spa, everything about the visit is fantastic. It was a great place for spoiling and pampering and the afternoon tea afterwards was amazing.

Helpful?
1 Thank Graeme M
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2015

The Towels are old don't smell fresh. Very low on cleanliness. Showers looks not cleaned in weeks. Toilets not flushed!! Skip

Helpful?
5 Thank Hassan1123
langham08, Owner at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Hassan1123, Many thanks for taking the time to review Chuan Spa. We endeavour to keep our standards at a five star level so I am very disappointed to read your comments and would like to apologise for the service you experienced. I have been investigating this further and if you would like to contact me directly please do so.... More 

Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

This was my second visit here and I was blown away with the level of service and the experience recieved. We were running slightly late and arrived just in time for our treatments. After being greeted by the very pleasant staff, we were whisked through to the treatment rooms and pampered to within an inch of our lives. I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank M_in_the_city1981
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2015

From the moment you walk in, the soothing music & fragrant scent put you at ease, the staff are polite & professional, great facilities to use before your treatment, I would advise booking at least a week in advance.

Helpful?
Thank christopherbQ4118NQ
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2015

I needed some me time, I have been to quite a few spa,s. I would definitely say this is top of my list. I had a back massage and use of facility saunas and Jacuzzi pools :-). after your treatment you are given a bowl of fruit, berries & grapes some tea, you can help yourselves to bottles of water... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol D
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2015 via mobile

First of all I had tried to call the spa over a 2 day period where I was continuously getting voicemail. This is not great at all. I finally got through and booked my treatment a facial. I was greeted by a very polite and smiley lady. The customer service was great however the issues I had made a huge... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Preeti K
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear MsP, Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted you found our staff to be polite and smiley. Please accept our apologies for the problems with reserving your treatment, air con and lack of music. I shall be investigating each thoroughly. If you would like please do contact me directly to discuss your experience... More 

london
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2015 via mobile

Had an amazing massage here. Staff were friendly and helpful. Veronica who was my therapist was fab! Will return soon.

Helpful?
Thank AliceCWLondon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2015

I treated my wife to a day at the Chuan Spa, which involved an hour massage in their VIP (twin) room, followed by an afternoon tea in the Palm Court. Both my wife and I were extremely happy with the service, and how professional the team where. We felt very relaxed, de-stressed, very well pampered and looked after. I wouldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank 83GBH1
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2015

I was given a Chuan Ritual voucher for my birthday, and finally got round to using it today. While I found the overall experience relaxing and the treatments themselves pleasant, I must say that the facilities were disappointing. Like the user below, the jacuzzi wasn't working (pathetic little jets) and so I headed to the pool - only for the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kikassgal
langham08, Manager at Chuan Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kikassgal Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, we are very disappointed to read your review. Please accept our sincerest apologies in regards to the workmen in the area, we were experiencing some difficulty with our pool on that day which is why they were around, however any remedial works should have been made when the... More 

Travellers who viewed Chuan Spa also viewed

 

Been to Chuan Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Chuan Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?

Staying in Marylebone

Neighbourhood Profile
Marylebone
Marylebone offers what so many London neighbourhoods cannot: a village feel coupled with urban convenience. Much of its success rests in its location. Wedged between the northeastern corner of Hyde Park and the southern end of Regent's Park and with a number of Tube stations within easy reach, Marylebone is as pedestrian friendly as Central London gets. The bustling shopping mecca of Oxford Street separates it from Soho and Mayfair, exclusive Regent Street marks its border with Fitzrovia, and cosmopolitan Edgware Road serves as its western edge. Within this enviably situated quarter are an array of outstanding restaurants (from Michelin darlings to down and dirty cheeseburgers), an impressive assortment of independently owned shops, and some of the city's quietest and most pleasant nooks, crannies and cobbled lanes.
Explore this neighbourhood