We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Proud Camden

Chalk Farm Road | The Horse Hospital, London NW1 8AH, England
+44 20 7482 3867
Website
Save
Review Highlights
EXPENISVE

Thanks to Esmeralda and Proud Camden for making a huge cut in our holiday budget. Around 150... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
Death D
Worst place of camden

Hey londonien and tourists this is the worst place to go out in Camden. If you are looking for... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Claire C
via mobile
Read all 958 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
Proud Camden is located in the 200-year-old Grad II Listed Horse Hospital in the Stables Market, Camden. Adorned by images of rock royalty throughout, the venue has been systematically designed and painstakingly restored. It retains many of the beautiful and genuine features, including the original stables that once housed the horses that were injured pulling canal barges.Throughout the day Proud Camden is the ideal place to come and relax with your mates. Hot beverages and food are available, and each stable has HD flat screen TVs with Sky Sports and Movie channels. If that doesn't tickle your fancy, we also have a vast selection of DVDs and PS3 video games you can choose from or why not be a rockstar with Xbox Rock Band. Click here for PDF of 7 different stables!The venue is transformed into a live music venue and bar from 7.30pm, with each night hosting the best eclectic music in North London.Known for its commitment to programming the very best live music- Peter Doherty, Dizzee Rascal, The Kooks, Stereophonics, and Johnny Borrell all have played intimate sets. The bar has developed a cult following and become a celebrity hang-out, with regulars Amy Winehouse, Sadie Frost, Carl Barat, and The Arctic Monkeys.Recent performers at the venue have included: Dirty Pretty Things, Lethal Bizzle, The Enemy, Lykke Li, Vivian Girls, Kissy Sell Out, Black Lips, Manchester Orchestra and I Blame Coco with thanks to London' best industry club nights.Proud's new outdoor terraced café also means Proud guests can now escape indoor gig madness to relax and enjoy the sun with drinks and food served all day. Originally an abandoned and dilapidated market shop, the glass-walled space has been redecorated to do justice to the café's epic views of the notorious Camden streets.
  • Excellent80%
  • Very good8%
  • Average3%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“fantastic night” (24 reviews)
“bar staff” (19 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 02:30
LOCATION
Chalk Farm Road | The Horse Hospital, London NW1 8AH, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7482 3867
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Thanks to Esmeralda and Proud Camden for making a huge cut in our holiday budget. Around 150 (!!!) Pounds for 4 double whiskies is real serious (photos attached). It's much more serious than prices in the most of the elite clubs in London. Thanks Esmeralda...More

Thank Death D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hey londonien and tourists this is the worst place to go out in Camden. If you are looking for underground rock culture. You are in the worst random commercial place in London. Give the power to random idiots and you find the security of this...More

Thank Claire C
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There must be 1000s of places to go in London but I'd take this one of my list. We almost didn't get in, even though we'd booked a private booth for a birthday, we had the confirmation email but none of us had any ID....More

Thank rutland1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A good place to party hard if that's what you need. The staff was very friendly and helpful including their bouncers something hard to come by nowadays specially in London. Drinkwise as long as we are in London you know what to expect. I've been...More

Thank SalustianoJurandi
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here for my 21st birthday and it was utterly awful. Bouncers here are just thugs with the right uniform. They were verbally abusive and offensive, never been spoken to in a such a way in my life! When we asked to speak to the...More

Thank Izzy F
ProudGroup, Public Relations Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Izzy, I'm sorry to read this, however this incident was a result of a member of your party behaving in a aggressive and abusive manner towards our staff resulting in a police incident as can be attested by our records. The rest of your...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went to Oktoberfest for my boyfriends birthday. No idea what we paid £10 entry for? It was absolutely shocking - wait at the bar around 40 minutes at some points with bar tenders that couldn't even pour a pint of (non German) beer. Staff were...More

1  Thank Rowan T
ProudGroup, Public Relations Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding your bad experience with us, we also welcome people’s comments to try and achieve the extremely high standards we set ourselves. In your case, it is extremely helpful for us to know where we let you down. Please do...More

Reviewed 8 October 2017

completely rip off!! so not worth the money bad service, fold up tables were not worth £250 that my friends paid, it looked cheap and so did the environment and everything aroundMore

1  Thank Maria D
ProudGroup, Public Relations Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback regarding your bad experience with us, we also welcome people’s comments to try and achieve the extremely high standards we set ourselves. In your case, it is extremely helpful for us to know where we let you down. Our most...More

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We went here for my birthday over the summer and had an awful experience. We spent a lot of money before we had even arrived on making sure we had a nice time, however all the plans we had discussed with staff prior to arrival...More

1  Thank holly434
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Total rip off, nothing remotely German about their Oktoberfest party. Warm dutch beer, no food, garage music and bemused staff. I was staggered that they actually have the balls to do this - sell tickets to an even that is nothing like it's described. Total...More

1  Thank RanchoGrande82
ProudGroup, Public Relations Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our most sincere and deepest apologies about this having happened in one of our venues and we take your complaint very seriously. Please do get in contact with us by emailing custmerservices@proud.co.uk so we can discuss this matter further with you in person.

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

The event was a complete joke. It was just a crap club with not the slightest similarity to Oktoberfest, other than it said it in big letters on a screen. They didn't even have German beer! Only one small bar was working fully and this...More

1  Thank StuHu72
ProudGroup, Public Relations Manager at Proud Camden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our most sincere and deepest apologies about this having happened in one of our venues and we take your complaint very seriously. Please do get in contact with us by emailing custmerservices@proud.co.uk so we can discuss this matter further with you in person.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Proud Cabaret Camden
1,433 reviews
.01 miles away
Seawise
497 reviews
.03 miles away
Magic Falafel
48 reviews
.04 miles away
Cereal Killer Cafe
216 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Camden Locks Canalside
246 reviews
.13 miles away
Cyberdog
418 reviews
.04 miles away
Camden Assembly
56 reviews
.05 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Cheryl B
10 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Vlad V | Reviewed this property |
yes it is a cloakroom!
0
Votes
Emmabohea
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Raúl T | Reviewed this property |
Hey Emma! My experience was on a sunny day, so e spent the eve at the terrace bit. The dress code was mixed, I don't think you would look like idiots, but it's true that it's a very relaxed atmosphere! Hope this helps you!
0
Votes
Jamityj
29 June 2017|
Answer
Response from Raúl T | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the late answer. I was wearing trainers on the terrace but and had no issue. I think is a very laid back place."!
0
Votes