We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George

77 Borough High St., SE1, London SE1 1NH, England
+44 20 7407 2056
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great for a casual drink

This pub is great for a casual pint in summer, with a very big outdoor seating area that could... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
James C
via mobile
Fantastic dinner at the George

We went to The George for dinner while on holiday in London. We had a fantastic time and had such... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
laylajadew
via mobile
Read all 173 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good43%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“national trust” (17 reviews)
“borough market” (14 reviews)
“coaching inn” (6 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 11:00 - 23:00
LOCATION
77 Borough High St., SE1, London SE1 1NH, England
Southwark
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7407 2056
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"national trust"
in 17 reviews
"borough market"
in 14 reviews
"coaching inn"
in 6 reviews
"london pub"
in 4 reviews
"can feel the history"
in 2 reviews
"interesting building"
in 2 reviews
"dickens"
in 14 reviews
"shard"
in 9 reviews
"surviving"
in 3 reviews
"parliament"
in 4 reviews
"carriage"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This pub is great for a casual pint in summer, with a very big outdoor seating area that could cater for up to 100 people. The pub itself is quaint, but often very busy, so get there early after work if you want a seat...More

1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna Jean S, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi James thanks for the lovely review. I agree with the heater issue but you will be happy to know we are getting loads more heaters this week fingers crossed. Please come back and enjoy our outdoor beer garden in warmth while watching the Rugby....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went to The George for dinner while on holiday in London. We had a fantastic time and had such wonderful service from Dean. The food was really great, according to my son he hasn’t ever had a burger that good. All of our meals...More

1  Thank laylajadew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna Jean S, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Layla I hope you have returned safely back to South Africa. I will be sure to pass on your accolades to Dean he will be chuffed. Hope to see you on your next visit to London. Kind Regards Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

That Shakespeare actually walked these boards, lifted a pint here! I was overcome. The history has surely seeped into the very walls. I'm not often awed, but this was a powerful experience. Well preserved, clean, amiable help, good pub menu. I will never forget it.

1  Thank lisa s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna Jean S, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Lisa thank you so much for a positive review of historical proportions. It is mindblowing to think of the folk who have drunk ale in these premises. Glad you have joined a well respected list. Hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards Lorna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2018

This pub was a huge disappointment. Though the atmosphere is congenial, the food is mediocre at best. And contrary to most every pub in England, they don't allow dogs.More

Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna Jean S, Manager at The George, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Justine I am so sorry that you had a negative experience. Are you sure that you have the correct pub? We do allow dogs, we love our four legged companions. The only place we do not allow dogs to enter is into the restaurant...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

We went from Gatwick to Croyden for lunch. There were several lunch specials posted on a chalkboard. You could have a soft drink, or for £1 more a choice of one of several beers on tap. We had a 6 oz. Burger, which came with...More

Thank 3stars1wish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Had Saturday lunch here in a large group of 16. Fortunately the pub had reserved a large table for us as the pub was packed. Bar service was bit slow and one barman was downright unhelpful, but the rest of the staff made up for...More

Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017

One can feel the history all around. A National Trust Property, it cannot be altered in any way, so the vibe is one of days gone by. However, the crowd (usually quite busy) brings things present day. There is a fireplace and an outside courtyard....More

Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

After a day's sightseeing we fancied a beer and a pub meal. The George had been recommended to us and it didn't disappoint. It was a warm evening and the yard was absolutely packed. Fun for a beer. We were going to move on to...More

Thank ladyhotelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Avoid if you can. The quality is way below standard. They are letting down locals and ripping off tourists. This is not just my opinion, but also an opinion expressed openly by the bar staff. This is a fabulous historically building, owned by the National...More

Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017 via mobile

Fourth time of coming - great vibe from customers - only trouble is the hapless bar staff. Slow in serving when not busy - when it is busy might as well go over the courtyard to the Heeltap bar and get served there - either...More

Thank HopeUseful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PreviousNext
12345616
Nearby
Southwark
Even before the arrival of the instantly iconic Shard,
the riverside scene in Southwark had moved well beyond
any up-and-coming phase of development. For quite some
time, locals and out-of-towners alike have loved
browsing the boutiques of Bermondsey High Street,
foraging through the bounteous stalls at centuries old
foodie haven Borough Market, and flocking to the banks
of the Thames to enjoy some of Britain's biggest
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,081 hotels in London
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough High St) Hotel
266 reviews
.08 miles away
London Bridge Hotel
2,814 reviews
.11 miles away
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
3,361 reviews
.15 miles away
Premier Inn London Southwark (Bankside) Hotel
1,321 reviews
.22 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Padella
642 reviews
.05 miles away
Tapas Brindisa London Bridge
1,132 reviews
.05 miles away
Maria's Market Cafe
171 reviews
.03 miles away
George Inn
609 reviews
.00 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Borough Market
10,065 reviews
.08 miles away
The View from The Shard
13,988 reviews
.15 miles away
Southwark Cathedral
654 reviews
.11 miles away
Old Operating Theatre
597 reviews
.08 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Margaret C
22 August 2016|
Answer
Response from Thrappledouser | Reviewed this property |
Hi, They don't do table reservations, unfortunately. I just double checked on their website to make sure. It'll be first come first served. I imagine that a Sunday afternoon would be busy, but, if you were to get there early... More
0
Votes