We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

London Wine Academy

12 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

London Wine Academy

12 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from US$77.79
More Info
from US$56.57
More Info
from US$77.79
More Info
from US$28.28
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
London SW1W 9TR England
Getting there
Hyde Park CornerUnderground15 min
KnightsbridgeUnderground16 min
Get to know the area
Regents Canal Waterbus boat tour Camden Town to Little Venice
Historical & Heritage Tours

Regents Canal Waterbus boat tour Camden Town to Little Venice

56 reviews
From modern day urban graffiti, unique architecture, industrial history to landscaped gardens and wildlife, the route gives an insight to the unique mix that forms this part of London.<br><br>Travel on a converted traditional narrowboat
US$15.56 per adult
12Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
  • 5
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Robinson wrote a review May 2019
1 contribution
Website works to pay for vouchers but does not work to use them. Had two vouchers purchased for me as a gift. First class cancelled at the last minute. Now trying to use my second voucher, website doesn't work and have no response to my e-mails. In 2019, this is a pretty shocking customer service experience. I consider this a breach of the terms and asked for a refund to no response. At this point, I'm assuming this is a 140 pounds never to be seen again.
Read more
Date of experience: May 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from LWAcademy, Guest Relations Manager at London Wine Academy
Responded 16 Dec 2020
We are sorry to hear you experienced problems with the website. We use a booking system called Bookinghound which issues all vouchers electronically and we can assure you that providing the voucher numbers are typed in correctly on the website when you try to redeem your voucher via the "redeem voucher" section, the system works 100% of the time. If a voucher code is accidentally mistyped, unfortunately the system would not be able to find it. Kindly please get in touch with us if you require any further assistance. We always aim to reply to all emails received within 2 working days or sooner. If we did not respond to your emails, it sounds like your correspondence may have ended in a spam filter for which we would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Read more
Laura C wrote a review Mar 2019
London, United Kingdom3 contributions3 helpful votes
Purchased a tasting afternoon as a Christmas present for my husband. Tried to change the date (within 3 weeks of booking) as my husband was called out of the country on the date I booked. Advised £35 “admin fee” to change - steep on top of £147 course fee. Reluctantly, I did pay this and then the new class was cancelled with four days notice. New dates offered were 3-9 months away. After previous unhelpful correspondence I’ve given up and am resigned to a ~£190 loss. Terrible customer service - I cant really understand how this company is still in business.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2019
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from LWAcademy, Guest Relations Manager at London Wine Academy
Responded 16 Dec 2020
We are sorry you read your comments. As we use external venues to host our courses, we are bound by their cancellation policy which is pretty standard these days for hotels and venues in London. If the booking numbers drop after it has been confirmed, we are still charged the full day delegate rate for your places by the venue who specially order in food and staff for our events. The delegate rate at the 5 star hotel is substantially higher than the £35 per person. The booking policy is clearly displayed in our terms which you have to accept before you can complete your booking. It is truly upsetting to ready this review when you changed your booking within the chargeable period. The financial loss we incurred is far greater than the £35 and at such short notice we are unlikely to fill those spaces in time. Our class sizes are kept small to provide a personal experience and as most people tend to book weeks or months in advance, we may not always be able to fill your places with just a week or so before the event. Unfortunately our profit margins are just to small for us to be able to absorb those losses, I am so sorry. Similar to flight and other event bookings, such as theatres, please check the terms and conditions before you continue to book, to avoid any disappointment afterwards. Surely if your husband was called away unexpectedly for work, did his company not offer to pay the admin fee for you? Also, just so you know, we would also be more than happy to pencil places for our guests on a course if they are uncertain if they can make a certain date, until much closer to the time, before confirming a booking. As numbers have not been confirmed with the venue in such a case, we will not incur a penalty for any last minute changes and therefore do not have to pass the admin fee to our guests. Please just email us and we would be more than happy to assist. As a goodwill gesture, please get in touch and we will refund the admin fee. Unfortunately in rare occasions a very small percentage of classes are cancelled and it is usually due to last minute date changes or booking cancellations which is out of our control. We would always do our best to fill and run all events as scheduled, but on some occasions this sadly just isn't possible. We are sorry to hear your event was cancelled and trust you have rebooked. If not, kindly please get in touch so we can assist you.
Read more
ADocUk wrote a review Feb 2019
Cambridge, United Kingdom175 contributions56 helpful votes
The Port Masterclass was great. Very friendly group and excellent tutor. I would thoroughly recommend. However, the “back office” customer service was very poor. I was bought the Masterclass as a present. The voucher was only valid for 6 months (and the port Masterclass only happens once a month at best). Extending the voucher so I could book a date I could attend cost me 40% of the original voucher cost, blamed on the difficulty for the back office of doing it. This is either rampant profiteering or an indication of a very poor back office set up. I would have given this 5 stars except for the above.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2019
Helpful
Share
Resort453194 wrote a review Nov 2018
27 contributions16 helpful votes
The course is grossly overpriced in my opinion (the wine you drink really does not justify it) and whilst one of the hosts Seonaid was fantastic, the venue and the general customer service from Leta was appalling to the extent I have never come across in a consumer facing business. Be careful with hidden fees such as an "admin fee" of £50 to try and change your booking from one month to the next. You simply cannot run a business the way Leta does and I suspect if I look back on this page in a years time there will be plenty more like it. A real shame.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2018
Helpful
Share
Meals D wrote a review Jan 2018
4 contributions5 helpful votes
There are many wonderful wine tasting experiences and this is by far the worst I have a experienced. Arrogant management, a poorly informed host and terrible value
Read more
Date of experience: December 2017
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Leta B, Front Office Manager at London Wine Academy
Responded 24 Oct 2018
Dear Meals D Our customers are important to us and we were wondering which course you attended so we can look into your comments. All our tutors are Masters of Wine trained and are always keen to help. We would be delighted to invite you back if you get in touch. Best wishes The London Wine Academy Team.
Read more
Previous