We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Herbert Woods

Bridge Road | Potter Heigham, Norwich NR29 5JF, England
+44 800 144 4472
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Wonderful week on the Broads

We had a wonderful week with our baby son on a Herbert Woods boat, the Dawn of Light. Picking up... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Sarah S
via mobile
Exceptional Service

We booked a 3 night trip online the night before arriving because of the weather forecast being... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
sunsetlakes
,
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Read all 441 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Located in the Broadland village of Potter Heigham Herbert Woods is the perfect place to begin your Norfolk Broads Adventure.
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good16%
  • Average2%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“boat yard” (39 reviews)
“norfolk broads” (63 reviews)
“potter heigham” (30 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 08:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Bridge Road | Potter Heigham, Norwich NR29 5JF, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 800 144 4472
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"boat yard"
in 39 reviews
"norfolk broads"
in 63 reviews
"potter heigham"
in 30 reviews
"large boat"
in 8 reviews
"fantastic holiday"
in 14 reviews
"short break"
in 17 reviews
"enjoyable week"
in 5 reviews
"boating holiday"
in 23 reviews
"night break"
in 5 reviews
"life jackets"
in 12 reviews
"trial run"
in 5 reviews
"just returned from a week"
in 6 reviews
"bow thrusters"
in 5 reviews
"whole process"
in 5 reviews
"fuel deposit"
in 9 reviews
"great boat"
in 7 reviews
"ferry inn"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

We had a wonderful week with our baby son on a Herbert Woods boat, the Dawn of Light. Picking up the boat couldn't have been easier. The reception check-in process was very quick and the boat handover was in-depth but allowed us to be onboard...More

Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

We booked a 3 night trip online the night before arriving because of the weather forecast being fantastic - We are just a couple and neither of us have any experience of boating in anyway. I have 2 knee replacements and was slightly worried about...More

Thank sunsetlakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Sunsetlakes, Thank you for your review. I am glad we were able to assist you on arrival and offer you alternative accommodation in the Sunlight which was much more suitable for you. I am glad you had a good time and on reflection hope...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Hired boats from day boats to the large boat pictured and just received consistently great service and advice from this superb company. Always very happy to please and make your day that extra special whatever you decide to do! An amazing way to properly visit...More

Thank Shane95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi Shane95, Thank you for your review, it's great to read that you have hired both days boats and holiday cruisers. Thank you for comments I will pass them on to all the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards,...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything we expected, We only live an hour away and spend a lot of time on or around the broads so took a short break on Olympic Light and it was fantastic along with the weather (apart from one windy day). Herbert Woods had it...More

Thank fairgame2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi fairgame2016, Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your short break on board the Olympic Light and made the most of the weather! We agree that our prices are competitive and always best to keep an eye on our special offers...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

In our 8th year now with current school,we take 5 or 6 Of the biggest cruisers and a party of 52. Once again Herbert Woods staff excelled themselves from Corinne’s front desk bookings though to service and maintenance and cleaning staff. All cruisers were immaculate...More

Thank sim0n1baker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi sim0n1baker, Thank you for your review. We look forward to our school trips and your pupils are some of the best! (And the teachers!) We think it is a great way to educate the children and it's brilliant as they get older to welcome...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just got home from a fabulous holiday on The Broads! It was our first boating holiday and we absolutely loved it. The boat Limelight 2 didn’t disappoint as it was very well equipped and the staff at Herbert Woods were very helpful and friendly! Highly...More

Thank 753sara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hi 753sara, Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a fabulous holiday on the broads and found the Limelight to be well equipped. We hope to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Amy Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had the use of a day boat during our stay at a boatyard apartment and chose to visit Hickling Broad then downriver to Ludham Bridge. The boat was easy to handle but not the most comfortable for any length of time. The weather was...More

Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Andy S, Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed your time both on board one of our standard boat and our new Starlight 24 Picnic boats, I will pass your comments on to the all team and we look forward to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We started our holiday on the Saturday and it became clear to me that Weymouth Light had mechanical problems. I contacted the boat yard on the Sunday morning and arranged to return for assistance. After a few Engineering checks it was confirmed that the boat...More

Thank Roohaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Roohaa, Thank you for your review. I was sorry to hear of the problem with the Weymouth but I am glad are staff were able to arrange the Sunlight 2 as a replacement. With all things mechanical, things can go wrong from time to...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fabulous holiday. All the staff are fab, especially the engineer who came out to us. We have been coming for 7 years and will not go anywhere else. Boat was old but clean and had everything we needed for the week. Highly recommend mooring early,...More

Thank Claire11883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Claire11883, Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a fabulous holiday on board the Bright Light and thanks for the tip regarding the recruiting sergeant! We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Amy Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Monday 3. Of us hire a day launch from you it was very clean and pleasant staff on reception and tuition when we were given our life jackets. Well done well be back soon.

Thank shirley q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy H, Front Office Manager at Herbert Woods, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi shirley q, Thank you for your review of your hire of one of our day launches. I am glad the staff were able to assist you - we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards, Amy Customer Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 50 hotels in Norwich
Sutton Staithe Hotel
86 reviews
3.99 miles away
The Kingfisher Hotel
1 review
5.17 miles away
Travelodge Great Yarmouth Acle
393 reviews
5.28 miles away
Wayford Bridge Inn
547 reviews
5.96 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Bridge Stones of Potter
169 reviews
.02 miles away
Potter Tea Room
94 reviews
.02 miles away
Falgate Inn
92 reviews
.61 miles away
Bangers and Beverages
8 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Phoenix Fleet LTD
32 reviews
.05 miles away
Wind Energy Museum
13 reviews
.83 miles away
The Bridge at Potter Heigham
10 reviews
.39 miles away
Norfolk Outdoor Adventures
5 reviews
.62 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lma78
31 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steve P | Reviewed this property |
Yes I have seen it pass under Wroxham Bridge but it depends on water level. You have to pay the bridge pilot a small fee and they actually take your boat through for you.
2
Votes
Thomas1108
22 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Granniesgirl17 | Reviewed this property |
Hi only if they low voltage x
0
Votes
Ann W
9 May 2018|
Answer
Response from Amanda M | Property representative |
Hi yes we do welcome dogs. Please note however that all of our boats are self drive. If you would like any more information please give us a call on 0800 144 4472. Kind regards, Amanda
1
Vote