We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get the full experience and book a tour
Recommended
Our most popular tours and activities
Nearby Experiences
Other experiences in York
Full view
Location
Contact
York YO60 7DA England
Get to know the area
The Bloody Tour of York - Tourism Award Winner 2020
Historical & Heritage Tours

The Bloody Tour of York - Tourism Award Winner 2020

331 reviews
Skip the standard group tours and enjoy an alternative history of York during this award-winning, immersive guided tour of the city. Pass by top attractions—such as the Shambles and Jorvik Viking Centre—as you listen to your guide tell tales of witches, queens, and murderers that you wouldn’t hear on most other tours.
US$16.64 per adult
3,479Reviews35Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 2,126
  • 853
  • 300
  • 133
  • 67
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
traveller87654 wrote a review 8 Jan
4 contributions6 helpful votes
Of all the attractions we have visited during the pandemic, this is where we felt least safe. Very little evidence of Castle Howard successfully implementing a Covid safe environment. Not only this, but the grounds were appalling. A complete mud bath. It was a very disappointing family day out. We visited Lotherton during the same period and it was the opposite experience - would recommend going there instead.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CastleHoward C, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are very sorry that you left us feeling disappointed, we have implemented lots of social distancing practices across the estate and worked hard to achieve the Good to Go status. We are very sorry if you didn’t feel these measures were sufficient on your visit, it’s always valuable to hear feedback from our visitors. The heavy rainfall and wet winter has meant that the Gardens are saturated and we have found footfall to be higher than in usual times due to being one of very few venues allowed to stay open. We are awaiting additional wood chip and matting to help the particularly muddy areas and our Gardens team are working hard to help these areas recover whilst we are closed throughout this current lockdown. Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.
Read more
Sonica191 wrote a review Dec 2020
23 contributions15 helpful votes
We have just returned home after an amazing visit to castle Howard. So much for us all to do , the grounds are very well maintained and beautiful to walk around . They had plenty of food and drink options which were all well socially distanced . We opted for the stone baked pizza with good topping choice including vegi and vegan options. Hot Chocolates , Toasted marsh mellows which the kids loved doing and some lovely cakes to finish. The kids had lots of fun in skelf island including the big kid (granddad) It was hard to get them to leave. We also took some food to feed the ducks down at the lake . I would definitely recommend this place to anyone , the staff are amazing , especially Matthew Nicholson , great customer service , Thank you so much for everything , we will definitely be back very soon.
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CastleHoward C, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your visit to us. We are delighted that Grandad enjoyed his visit to Skelf Island, our Adventure Playground as well as the children! Many thanks again, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Read more
julie D wrote a review Dec 2020
Carnforth, United Kingdom61 contributions17 helpful votes
Expensive !!! £9.99 to walk round muddy gardens on a cold winter day. Acknowledged , yes it’s a pandemic ! Yes we understand restrictions are needed . But after visiting every Xmas to see the lovely house ,enjoy a festive lunch and absorb the magnificence if this wonderful place ..... this was massively over priced . £6 would have been more acceptable . Even with take away brew we were all done in an hour and a quarter ..... it was a mud bath ... yes it’s rained loads this last month , but if you don’t walk the paths , it’s a costly trip to walk around the paved areas . Felt ripped off this year
Read more
Date of experience: December 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from CastleHoward C, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard
Responded 6 days ago
Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review following your recent visit to Castle Howard. We are very sorry that you left feeling disappointed with your visit to the Gardens, unfortunately due to COVID-19 we were unable to open the House for visitors at Christmas and we share your disappointment on this. The heavy rainfall and wet winter months have meant that the Gardens are saturated and we have found footfall higher than usual in times, due to being one of very few venues allowed to stay open. We are awaiting additional wood chip and matting to help the particularly muddy areas and our Gardens team are working hard to help these areas recover whilst we are closed throughout this current lockdown. Apologies again that you left us feeling disappointed, we do hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes
Read more
2bluebell wrote a review Nov 2020
York, United Kingdom58 contributions76 helpful votes
All I can say is bring your own food and drink if your travelling and especially with children. Zero effort on CH part. We went this week 19th Nov mid week. The car park was packed. It was a lovely day but very cold. The garden centre is open so is the butchers, the only place to get a drink was the entrance at the courtyard, it’s a shop selling cakes and drinks. But only one person allowed in at one time, which takes ages, if there’s a queue, which there will be, reckon on an hour to get served, then you sit outside in the cold, no covering at all. But this has been the norm all year, the court years cafe didn’t bother opening even in summer, has remained closed, why, other cafes have opened. The larger cafe in the house opened in summer but only a few days a week, that’s shut now and even the boathouse cafe and the kiosk aren’t open during the week. They’ll be open weekends when it’s rammed full of people and small children all packed together, no social distancing here. I know because we came a few weekends ago. We are members paying weekly for membership. For goodness sake open another outlet for hot drinks and food. Open by the lake during the week. There’s enough people going to warrant it.
Read more
Date of experience: November 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from CastleHoward C, Public Relations Manager at Castle Howard
Responded 20 Nov 2020
Many thanks for taking the time to post feedback following your visit. I can confirm that we are regularly reviewing the catering offer on site, working within government guidelines and responding to demand where possible. We have found the Gardens busier than usual at this time of year, due to being one of the only venues allowed to remain open. Once inside the gardens there's plenty of room to distance from others and we are going to now be opening the Boathouse Cafe during November weekdays to help to ensure there's a good service across the site. Many Thanks.
Read more
HughMc wrote a review Nov 2020
Cheadle, United Kingdom684 contributions245 helpful votes
Booked visit here to go inside castle and was not disappointed. The drive up to to the Castle is quite spectacular the organisation at the stable courtyard was very efficient and it was good to see so many people wearing masks and it was a pleasant walk up to the entrance providing a panoramic view. We went into the castle were you can download a visiting guid to your phone, but will need to have bought your ear buds with you or buy some at the entrance. The architecture is amazing as is the length of some of the corridors and the spectacular dome. There is a special exhibition on Brideshead Revisited but it is the set up in the older rooms which is so interesting. The docents in each room were very helpful and full of information. There was also lots of pictures, artefacts and great views from the Castle looking out to the grounds at the front and the back including the Atlas Fountain, pyramid and Great Lake. After the house we went for some lunch in the Fitzroy Cafe which was Covid safe -but cold as both doors were open but also slow in serving as one person appeared to have to serve everything bar the drinks and take the money which was 2 other people's jobs. However, the soup and cake were very tastey. Afterwards we walked out to to see the Atlas Fountain and then down to the lake and the Boathouse which also had a wonderful children's adventure play area, a wood burning outside pizza stove and a marshmallow fire pit! After a walk round here we headed to the walled garden which was bigger than expected symmetrically set out with not only flowers but also vegetables -well worth the visit. There are also some shops in the courtyard and other walks to explore. We'd happily come back to explore these at another time.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Castle Howard