We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

City Cruises York

Open today: 09:00 - 17:30
Book In Advance
571
All photos (571)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good33%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“boat trip”(103 reviews)
“top deck”(84 reviews)
“evening cruise”(31 reviews)
About
City Cruises York are delighted to offer a unique perspective of York on-board one of our comfortable riverboats. We have something for everyone including sightseeing trips,BBQ cruises, party cruises and self-drive boats. Escape the city rush and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:00 - 17:30
See all hours
Contact
York YO1 7DP, England
Website
+44 1904 628324
Call
Improve This Listing
Ways to Experience City Cruises York
from US$10.94
More Info
from US$11.50
More Info
from US$32.00
More Info
Reviews (1,221)
Filter reviews
1,208 results
Traveller rating
575
399
138
58
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
575
399
138
58
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boat trip top deck evening cruise informative commentary minute cruise relaxing cruise pleasant trip relaxing hour sat upstairs self drive red boat lendal bridge live commentary running commentary different perspective sunny day hen party
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,208 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Myself and my neice attending the Santa cruise on Sunday 9th. This is the first time we had been. It certainly won't be the last. It was absolutely amazing. All the staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming. The activities were well thought out. A wonderful...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank jeanettehutchins2018
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for your very kind words and thank you for attending the Santa Experience with your niece, we certainly hope that you can make it your annual event and we look forward to seeing you both again

Reviewed 4 days ago

We were visiting from Australia and spending the day in York sightseeing so took the opportunity to rest our legs and enjoy a glass of wine while sailing along the river Ouse on a sunny but fresh afternoon in October. Great commentary to listen to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Gwyneth H
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of one of our sailings, we really do appreciate your very kind words and hope you enjoyed your stay here in York

Reviewed 4 days ago

This is our second year booking the Santa cruise as our young foster children loved this last year. Due to heavy rains the river levels were raised and the boat couldn't fit under the bridges. Did it make any difference? No. The staff are super...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank AT132
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to type a wonderful review of our Santa Experience, we really do appreciate you all joining us and hope that you can make this an annual event

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Travelled to York especially for the Santa cruise and we were disappointed to learn after we had boarded that it wouldn’t be sailing due to river levels. I understand they dont want to disappoint but perhaps asking groups before they get on, if they want...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Vicki R
LynneWr, Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Good Morning, Thank you for your recent review of our Santa Experience. We do appreciate any feedback that we recieve as we are constantly looking at ways to improve our services for our customers I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy the...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took our 3 year old on this special santa cruise. They tried really hard to make this fun with a great santa and friendly crew. Chief disappointment was that we didn't go anywhere due to river being in flood. Obviously they couldn't help that but...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank spellfast
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for joining our Santa Experience and for taking the time to write a review, we are sorry that we couldn't sail due to the rising river level but are glad that your 3 year old enjoyed it

Reviewed 1 week ago

I bought this for a very good friend for her birthday as I knew she was going to York, Unfortunately she was unable to take it in April as York was flooded, But they allowed her to swop it to the summer, here's what she...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank julie i
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we are glad to hear that your friend enjoyed her rearreanged cruise, we hope that you both can join us next year and enjoy a drink on board

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We went on the city cruise as it was heavy rain and we thought it was a good way to sightsee without getting wet. You can sit inside or outside depending on the weather. There was only 8 of us on the trip in late...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank JoJo M
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review and for taking the time to join us for a sailing on a miserable day, we are glad to hear the always wonderful Keith and just as wonderful Vicky were very helpful, we look forward...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This cruise basically goes down the river and turns around goes past where you board and then comes back. Not very exciting. If you decide to go on the cruise make sure you buy your tickets and the TI. You save a little money.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank RobTennessee_USA
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to join one of our sailings, we are sorry that you didn't enjoy the cruise but hoped you appreciated the city and all it's wonderful sights

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited York with friends. We love a good boat trip. Our commentator was Les and he was great, he had some great jokes!! It was a cold day but well worth the boat trip on the top deck!

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank SHargr
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking a cruise with us on a cold day, we really appreciate you taking the time to write a 5 star review and we will pass on your comments to Les

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really enjoyed this - it's nice to see the city from a different perspective. I pre-booked to save a bit of money but you can buy just before you board (bring cash). The commentary was informative and funny. I sat upstairs, it was a chilly...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Polly_Louise
City_Cruises_York, Guest Relations Manager at City Cruises York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your very kind words and 5 star rating, we really do appreciate you joining us at this time of year, we hope that you can join us again in warmer conditions

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 46 nearby hotels
The Judges Lodging
1,258 reviews
.07 miles away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
4,719 reviews
.13 miles away
Park Inn by Radisson York
2,561 reviews
.15 miles away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1,905 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,007 nearby restaurants
Circles Cafe
203 reviews
.02 miles away
Brew & Brownie
906 reviews
.08 miles away
The Perky Peacock Coffee Shop
276 reviews
.04 miles away
Burr Coffee
167 reviews
.06 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 431 nearby attractions
Yorkwalk
81 reviews
.04 miles away
St. Mary's Abbey
656 reviews
.07 miles away
Museum Gardens
1,928 reviews
.10 miles away
Yorkshire Museum
938 reviews
.11 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
661mikki
19 August 2018|
Answer
Response from City_Cruises_York | Property representative |
Hi, sorry for the delay, all our boats have space to bring a pram /pushchair on board
0
Votes
elaine-7
17 May 2018|
Answer
Response from City_Cruises_York | Property representative |
Hi, the Ice Cream boat has cleats on the side where the boat can tie up alongside so there is no need to tie the boat up anywhere else
0
Votes
Infamous5ontour
22 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from City_Cruises_York | Property representative |
Well behaved dogs are always more than welcome on our sightseeing cruises, please note we do finish our sailings this weekend, our Christmas Cruises are on selected weekend dates in December
0
Votes