We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 8 Talbot Street, Nottingham NG1 5GG, England
Phone Number: +44 115 950 6547
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 280 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 118
    Excellent
  • 94
    Very good
  • 27
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 20
    Terrible
Always wanted to go here

I used to read about this place in Sounds, years ago, they always seemed to have the best bands playing. Well I finally went to see The Damned there and it was brilliant... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 weeks ago
TheHoodedCrow
,
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

280 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 275: English reviews
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Best venue to see a band , the sound quality is superb and the atmosphere is great . Easy parking and we like the 10pm finish because we work very early.

Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I used to read about this place in Sounds, years ago, they always seemed to have the best bands playing. Well I finally went to see The Damned there and it was brilliant. Excellent view of the stage, sound was brilliant and the crowd made the atmosphere electric. A great gig venue.

Helpful?
Thank TheHoodedCrow
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's exactly what it offers. I came to see Jack Garrett recently and found rock City to be a perfect venue. The atmosphere was electric and the sound was good. I would definitely come back to see gigs here again.

Helpful?
Thank Benable
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I`m from Nottingham,born/raised here...since 1981/82,i`ve been to most Rock/Heavy Rock/Metal gigs...still going nowadays...its still ok for gigs but...as the local student population don`t like the noise the venue creates,it has to have-during the week-a 10pm curfew and on weekends its student club night so any/all Rock/Metal gigs must be done by 10pm-which can be a pain....the toilets still are abysmal,the... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Mike R
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
366 reviews
122 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have not been here for over 5 years, and it's not changed much! the place could do with a deep clean.. I ordered a lemonade, which tasted of jägermeister and dishwater. The toilets are disgusting, one was covered in sick, so was the floor. We watched the gig from the balcony as it was so packed downstairs you couldn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank RandRH
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
400 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Had a great night at Rock City even if it was absolutely rammed in there! Not sure what the capacity is meant to be but it was like sardines. Been some time since my last visit but the place hadn't changed a bit. Great venue to see a band. I never buy drinks in there as it's just too difficult... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank big-blue-eyes
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and a friend were really looking forward to our thursday night out in Rock City. After queueing for a really long time, we were pretty desperate for the toilet. The queue for the ladies was ridiculously long, but we were told by a random clubgoer that the door opposite was also a womans toilet, we walked in and saw... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Francesca L
RockCity1980, Manager at Rock City, responded to this review

Hey Francesca, Really sorry to hear this feedback. We would like to investigate this complaint and look into this Further as this obviously isn't meant to happen whilst simply looking for the toilet!! If you could please drop and email with as much info as possible to Info@rock-city.co.uk that would be really helpful. Thanks, Rock City More 

lincolnshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love the venue, I haven't been here for 18 years and nothing as changed 😂 the sound was awesome. .. only reason I didn't give 5 stars was down to the bouncers, I know they have a important job but seriously try doing it professionally instead of acting like thugs , no need for how they treated concert goings ...... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank trueman6671
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Super let down! after going previously I was so disappointed with rock city. Over priced on everything and it's just become so sleezy now! Really awful night. Save your money and go much better places in Nottingham.

Helpful?
2 Thank JosephDales
RockCity1980, Manager at Rock City, responded to this review

Hey Joseph, If you could drop us a DM to info@rock-city.co.uk and let us know a bit more about your experience that would be great. We like getting feedback as we are always aiming to improve. Thanks, Rock City More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Rock City is my favourite club in Nottingham easily but today that has changed! I got ripped off! I paid with £20 note and they claimed i paid with £10 it was so obvious that the bar tender has taken money and put it in his own pocket. I wont be coming back until this issue is resolved! Disgusting!

Helpful?
Thank Max E
RockCity1980, Manager at Rock City, responded to this review

Hey Max, Could you please provide us some more information about this? We hate it when people come and have bad experiences and we want to do everything we can to look into any issue that anyone has. If you could send over when this happened and a rough time and which bar you were at then we can double... More 

Travellers who viewed Rock City also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Rock City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Rock City and other visitors
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rock City staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?