We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 45 Chapel Street | Exning, Newmarket CB8 7HA, England
Phone Number:
+44 1638 577237
Website
Description:

A charming Suffolk gastro pub just 2 miles from the racing town of...

A charming Suffolk gastro pub just 2 miles from the racing town of Newmarket. Friendly service, great atmosphere with 6 En suite letting rooms.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 11 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 4
    Excellent
  • 1
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Uncomfortable.

Room was clean, bed was very very uncomfortable , shower was terrible . A minute wash basin. Will definately not return.

2 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 November 2016
Gordon C
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

11 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016

Room was clean, bed was very very uncomfortable , shower was terrible . A minute wash basin. Will definately not return.

Helpful?
Thank Gordon C
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

This pub has kitted out rooms to make money with no aforethought for it's customers. The room was badly laid out, making it suffocating and oppressive. Breakfast is not included but we couldn't wait to get out both mornings. We arrived on a Monday afternoon to be told there was no food available either at The Wheatsheaf or anywhere else... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maudestan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2016 via mobile

We live in the village and invited friends to come with us to the charity day bash. We had terrible trouble getting served, the landlords and staff would blatantly ignore you and serve those people who I assume we're friends or regulars even if you had been waiting for several minutes and they just walked up to the bar. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ron w
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

I am sorry your visit was so terrible. We had no idea we were going to be that inundated with people hence the lack of bar staff. I can assure you people were not blatantly ignored they were just extremely busy. As for you being charged £4.50 for a hot dog. They were jumbo hot dogs with cheese which is... More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

We had a family party here and booked 6 rooms for relatives. The staff were amazing and very friendly, they made us feel like nothing was to much trouble the whole weekend. The food for the party was great and plenty of, the breakfast was also great. My relatives enjoyed the stay and said the rooms were comfortable and clean.... More 

Helpful?
Thank luciab06
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2016

Lovely pub. Friendly landlord/bar staff. Have been visiting here over a number of years but hadn't been for a couple of years. Unfortunately food very poor and disappointing. Chips very over cooked unable to eat any of them Pasta carbonara in a thick mushroom sauce that looked and tasted very unappealing we will not be returning. The quality of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank SallyG25
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

I'm sorry you had a bad experience. We've had 3 very good reviews on other sites this week on our food and we very rarely get any complaints. We would be happy to offer you a free meal should you wish to return and once again would like to apologise. Management Team More 

Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2016

Popped in here for a quick lunch today and WOW! what a great surprise. The inside is nothing like the outside of this hidden gem (and it really is hidden). The staff were so friendly and attentive. I was surprised at the range of wines on offer and ordered a cheeky little Argentinian Malbec which was very lovely. I also... More 

Helpful?
Thank NinnynGrumpy
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

Had Sunday Lunch with a group of friends including 8 children and I have to say it was a very pleasurable experience! Very well organised and friend staff, very good food and a great selection of drinks to suit all tastes at a very reasonable price! The pub and garden are lovely and I believe newly refurbished. I will definitely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert M
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments. They are very much appreciated and we hope to see you again soon. More 

nr. Colchester
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2015 via mobile

Friendly local as a pub. We stayed overnight and had an early start the next morning, but even though they were aware of this, our bedroom (4) was directly above the bar and very noisy jukebox. We expect some noise when staying in a pub but this was unacceptably loud until midnight - we couldn't go downstairs to complain as... More 

Helpful?
Thank essexgirl23
Carolyn P, Owner at The Wheatsheaf, responded to this review

I would like to point out to other Tripadvisors we were not the owners of The Wheatsheaf at this time. We took it over in November 2015. Many thanks Carolyn and Chris More 

Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2015

Great food, top class, lovely venue, great staff, whether you are dining in the evening, or lunch time, or for Sunday lunch, you really cannot go wrong with eating here.

Helpful?
Thank Romana H
Newmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2015

Just returned from the Wheatsheaf after a three year absence, for a carvery lunch. Was somewhat surprised to find that the meat (lamb, beef or chicken) was pre-carved on the hot-plate. This, however, did not detract from the overall enjoyment of the food. The vegetables were excellent, although a few more green choices would have been nice. The gravy was... More 

Helpful?
Thank goodlookingsolly

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?