We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Dirty Duck

Open Now: 11:00 - 23:00
Open today: 11:00 - 23:00
Share
Review Highlights
Lovely Lunch

Accommodated 30+ people and the service was splendid. A lovely lunch with a super dessert... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wonderwheeler01
,
Waco, Texas
via mobile
Outstanding value for money

Visited for a late lunch at this olde worlde pub, situated right on the waterside but slightly... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Jack K
,
Silverdale, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 296 reviews
47
All photos (47)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good25%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible14%
Travellers talk about
“lovely pub”(12 reviews)
“pub grub”(6 reviews)
About
This notorious tavern is still frequented by thirsty actors after an evening's performance at the Swan Theater.
Open Now
Hours Today: 11:00 - 23:00
See all hours
Contact
Waterside, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6BA, England
Website
+44 1789 297312
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Stratford-upon-Avon
from US$29.40
More Info
from US$19.60
More Info
from US$8.40
More Info
from US$22.90
More Info
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I just this place, seriously, the management could not give a blind toss about the tourists/customers views as they have the luvvies accctooors and locals. It's is a true pleasure to hear the management bollock the customers or dismiss any complaints with breath taking disregard....More

4  Thank TeenagersDad
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 12 November 2014

I visited this pub on February 1st 2014 at around 8pm, we were served by some foreign staff and took a nice window seat. What followed was a bizarre case of staff behaving badly, two members of staff (if they were) decided to try out...More

11  Thank daytripper1154
Reviews (296)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
106
74
34
37
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
106
74
34
37
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely pub pub grub the black swan lamb shank hunters chicken favourite pub mixed grill signed photos the river sunday roast pre theatre dinner royal shakespeare theatre across the road value for money visiting stratford actors waterside
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Accommodated 30+ people and the service was splendid. A lovely lunch with a super dessert. Beautiful location right on the Avon. Worth the trip to the country.

Thank wonderwheeler01
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

thanks for the kind review and you enjoyed your visit sam

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We came after reading about the pub before we visited stratford upon avon and we weren't disapointed the pub is in a nice spot by the river and has been nicely decorated inside and has a lovely open fire inside. We ordered 2 lagers and...More

Thank maxwellrm
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

thanks for a great review Sam

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Returned to day to The Dirty Duck. My friend and I went there last month for the first time for many years. Had a lovely lunch time meal and a lovely bottle of Prosecco at a reasonable price. When to our surprise a fabulous singing...More

Thank Anthony3055
Sam P, Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your lunch with live music in the background. I do hope you will visit us again really for another great venue. Kind regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a late lunch at this olde worlde pub, situated right on the waterside but slightly away from the more expensive eating houses in the centre. The menu is varied the food is good, and competively priced, the place had a real buzz about...More

Thank Jack K
Sam P, Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for taking a time to write a review for us. Me and my whole team are pleased that you enjoyed yourself and food was up to your likings. Hope to see you again very soon Regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited The Dirty Duck today and was not disappointed, we were recommended by a friend so decided to try and chose off the lunchtime menu. Not only was the food fantastic and at a very reasonable price we were served by Patryk who just made...More

Thank Russell B
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you very much for taking a time to write this beautiful review. I am pleased to hear that our team provide you with great experience. Hope to see yourself and your friends very soon for yet another great lunch. Wishing you all the...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a lovely time at the pub on a miserable Sunday. Was delighted with the service by Gemma, who couldn’t do enough for us.

Thank Amy B
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

thanks for the review and gemma looked after you well done Gemma

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Food is ok overall. My salad which accompanied my chicken and bacon sandwich was brown but the sandwich itself was ok. Husbands fish finger butty wasn’t very hot. Great chunky chips! The pub feels a bit grubby, not sure how often tables are cleaned. We...More

Thank SurreyRachel
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Came here as a party of 6 this evening the man who served us with grey hair was very accommodating and the food was lovely and good value

Thank DubbyWarwickshire
Sam P, Guest Relations Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2018

thanks for the review and picking out Sam that looked after you

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Some colleagues and I went here for some drinks. Full of character and known locally as The Black Swan or The Dirty Duck. Frequented locally by Thespians. A Greene King pub in a lively setting. Great to sit outside. Friendly staff who genuinely enjoy their...More

Thank Stumpy12345
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Thanks for the review and your enjoyed your visit thanks Sam

Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Sadly rather rubbish. V poor service and disappointing food. Almost expecting a dodgy tum after raw prawns and v salty burger can't say much good to be honest.

Thank Rachel D
Sam P, General Manager at The Dirty Duck, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

First to say sorry that you did not like your visit we will take your comments on board

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 29 nearby hotels
The Arden Hotel
1,303 reviews
.04 miles away
Thistle
4 reviews
.10 miles away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
2,083 reviews
.12 miles away
Hotel Indigo Stratford-upon-Avon
1,196 reviews
.13 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 235 nearby restaurants
Loxley's Restaurant & Wine Bar
3,774 reviews
.13 miles away
Lambs Restaurant
2,186 reviews
.12 miles away
The Opposition Bistro
1,643 reviews
.12 miles away
The Fourteas
2,048 reviews
.12 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 164 nearby attractions
Shakespeare's Schoolroom & Guildhall
450 reviews
.14 miles away
Royal Shakespeare Theatre
3,062 reviews
.08 miles away
Swan Theatre
617 reviews
.06 miles away
River Avon Chain Ferry
240 reviews
.05 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Allin2014
31 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from a_londoner_20121027 | Reviewed this property |
Plenty of paid car parks within 5 mins walk. Also street parking opposite pub (restrictions and payment apply). Street parking usually all taken as there is contention with the theatres nearby.
0
Votes
Ryan B
12 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
Kingy53
30 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from guinress | Reviewed this property |
A very good selection
1
Vote