We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Active Cymru - Snowdonia North Wales

Caernarfon, United Kingdom
More
About Active Cymru - Snowdonia North Wales
Your Adventure Coasteering Gorge Walking Canyoning Mountain Walking Rock Climbing We welcome all group size and ability contact us and find out why our customers return and choose active Cymru as their outdoor adventure activity leaders outdoor adventure if you've never tried any of the increasingly popular 'adventure sports' this is a perfect way to have a go. It's fast, fun and exciting and you'll always be in safe hands with some of the best outdoor instructors. We supply all the necessary technical equipment so all you need to bring with you is enthusiasm. Our Experienced mountain training instructors Active Cymru are a local team of experienced and NGB qualified climbers and mountaineers specializing in delivering safe and fun outdoor adventure activities in Snowdonia and the North Wales area. We are available 7 days per week and provide all safety equipment. We have coached and instructed people taking part in outdoor activities some making their first steps onto the rock.
Read more
Open Now
Hours Today: 00:00 - 23:59
See all hours
Travellers talk about

Active Cymru - Snowdonia North Wales
Booking unavailable on Tripadvisor

Want other options you can book now?
27Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 25
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Charlie O wrote a review 14 Sep
1 contribution
AWFUL ORGANISATION!!! We booked our coasteering experience with Matt and unfortunately couldn’t make the original date. Matt allowed us to rebook which were very grateful for and we agreed a date. Matt then forgot to book it into his schedule, but by this time we had drove 4 hours a night before and stayed in a hotel to ensure we didn’t miss it. He offered us a refund but now ignores my calls and emails. He didn’t even apologise. SHOCKING!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2021
Helpful
Share
Gm24 wrote a review Sep 2020
2 contributions
The whole experience was just brilliant. Matt was clear with instructions and helpful allowing us to explore and enjoy an amazing canyoning experience knowing we were in good hands. Highly recommend Active Cymru. Seriously good memories from this trip and an absolute buzz. Adrenaline fixes aside the location and natural beauty of the place was unreal. Feel lucky to have seen bits others can’t access unless on an organised experience like this.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Andrew W wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
Absolutely terrible experience. Our party found Matt to be rude, unprofessional and to blunt a con artist. We booked three separate half day trips over three days, which got progressively worse. Day 1 - Matt rearranged our itinerary at the last minute citing problems with the nearby power station, also our party size of 9 was somehow a surprise to him, and he later argued that we hadn't paid despite us sending him the receipts! There was no pre thought or preparation made by Matt into this half day trip, and circa 50% of the time was spent waiting and watching while he set the kit up, why he didnt have another instructor is beyond me. Quite whether one instructor is in fact legally safe for 9 people is another matter, there was no preparatory work undertaken by Matt and his demeanour was dour and miserable at best. That evening one of our party called Matt to see if we could juggle the next half day trip around to suit the forecasted weather, and received nothing short of abuse down the phone, with argument that we had not paid (then acknowledging that we in fact had) to the point that he admitted that the party size was too large to be safely monitored on his own (which was extremely alarming when 6 of our party were children). His attitude and manner over the telephone was nothing short of disgusting, but given the inclement weather we felt that the next two half days that we had booked (coasteering and canyoning) would represent less risk and that we should give him the benefit of the doubt. As an example - one of children was apprehensive about abseiling only to be harnessed up and pushed over the edge and then made to wait whilst Matt then hooked another child up. Luckily our children are quite robust, but I still think that this could have really upset a child with a gentler manner. Day 2 - Matt turned up 20 minutes late with the wet suits etc but with an assistant this time (who was very helpful by the way), but he then did not speak to any of our party all day. It says it all when a six years old child says "I dont like that man, he is very grumpy and rude". Day 3 - One of our party texted Matt to say we were running 8 minutes later, and yet despite the fact that Matt was 25+ minutes late on day two himself (following which it took between 30-40 mins for the full party to get kitted up with wet suits etc), he had already left.. complete lies, as his car wasn't on the car park, and it would have taken at least 10+ minutes to get any other guests kitted up in wetsuits anyway. The man has no charisma, was rude, abrupt and unpleasant to be with. Whilst it is clear that he has good local knowledge he brought absolutely NOTHING to the experience whatsoever - More than happy to speak to anyone regarding this - hence my mobile number 077200 78174
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from AdventureSportUK, Owner at Active Cymru - Snowdonia North Wales
Responded 10 Sep 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. Andrew we understand that people have a fear of heights abandoning the abseil halfway through left the other two parents short-handed. Children in that setting (quarry) loose rock with big drops requires careful management as they are unaware of the consequences. My staff received two text messages saying you were going to be late, the clients for coasteering on the day were happy to wait but with gorge walking they were booked for zip world and could not. Safety Rules. Coasteering Do not jump from a height into the water without knowing the depth. Abseiling Do not leave a stance and scramble up loose boulders in a quarry. If our clients choose not to listen and take the advice of the instructor we will intervene immediately by ending the session. We apologise for this approach as a necessity in delivering adventure on steep ground. Thank you
Read more
Bondrr wrote a review Aug 2020
Swansea139 contributions40 helpful votes
Unfortunately the weather was rough on the coast so we had to cancel the booked coast steering trip, but we’re offered the gorge walking instead. Matt was a great guide and coach and helped push the kids through and past their comfort zones with encouragement. Wonderful experience all round - id recommend its to anyone!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Cyssa1 wrote a review Jul 2020
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom20 contributions13 helpful votes
What a brilliant way to spend a rainy day! We had a fantastic time. Thanks to Matt who managed to encourage our nervous 11 year old and engage our thrill seeking 15 year old. Thoroughly recommend! Thanks
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous