We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holyhead Maritime Museum

Closed Now: 10:00 - 16:00
Open today: 10:00 - 16:00
Review Highlights
A walk in the past

Great place to visit. Totally worked at by informative volunteers. Very chatty and helpful. The... read more

Reviewed 29 October 2018
linda_whittle1
,
Colne, United Kingdom
via mobile
Ringing the Bells

We visited this small, but interesting museum during half term with our daughter and grandchildren... read more

Reviewed 26 October 2018
shortserved
,
Lancs
Read all 213 reviews
87
All photos (87)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent76%
  • Very good18%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“world war”(9 reviews)
About
The museum is a fascinating experience for the whole family. Step back in time at the oldest lifeboat station in Wales (circa. 1858), Which houses a wonderful collection of exhibits telling the enthralling maritime history of Holyhead. Situated...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
See all hours
Contact
Newry Beach | Beach Road, Holyhead LL65 1YD, Wales
Website
+44 1407 769745
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Holyhead
Reviews (213)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
154
34
9
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
154
34
9
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air raid shelter lifeboat station world war bistro attached guided tour well worth a visit absolutely everything volunteer staff friendly volunteers local history entrance fee free entry on display great place to visit exhibits memorabilia ww2
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2019

Very interesting museum of local history. However for such a small museum it expensive especially if you are visiting as part of a family group and local residents have complained that the price excludes them from visiting and learning about local history. Interesting artefacts and...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank David R
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2019

Dear David R - Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you considered a visit to the museum expensive. Unfortunately as an independent museum, managed and run by a team of dedicated volunteers, we receive no local or central government financial support and...More

Reviewed 29 October 2018 via mobile

Great place to visit. Totally worked at by informative volunteers. Very chatty and helpful. The community donate memorabilia of interest to the general public. Loved ones of the past heroes donating full military dress wear.easy to find and great to have such a good selection...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank linda_whittle1
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to add your very informative review. It looks like you enjoyed your visit to us.

Reviewed 26 October 2018

We visited this small, but interesting museum during half term with our daughter and grandchildren. We received a warm welcome from the ladies on the front desk and the guide inside. There was a quiz available for children so we decided to give it a...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank shortserved
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for adding your very detailed review. We are pleased that you enjoyed visiting us and found the museum of interest. We have taken your views regarding the children's quiz on board and will look to see how we could make it easier for...More

Reviewed 26 October 2018

A really interesting maritime museum. It explained the development of shipping in the area, and the building of the unusually long breakwater.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Jackie D
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found the museum of interest.

Reviewed 22 October 2018 via mobile

What a surprise this museum was. The knowledgeable guide made all the difference to our visit. We learned a lot about the story of the lifeboat service and Holyhead's shipping history. Added bonus was coffee and Sunday lunch in the bistro next door. Don't miss...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Vimval
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and for the interest you showed in the maritime heritage of our town.

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Visited on a cold, rainy day but got the warmest of welcomes. A fascinating range of exhibits and informative, enthusiastic guides. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Claire T
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Great museum made all the better by the very knowledgable local guides who offer to show you round, they bring the whole museum to life. Thanks guys and keep up the good work. Very good Bistro attached.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank minibusmike
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

This little gem is packed with maritime models and goodies. Knowledgeable staff are happy to guide your through the displays, or just let you wander yourself.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank JasonMichaelJones
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We spent a fascinating 2 hours in this very interesting Maritime Museum today. It is full of wonderful exhibits and powerful stories of extreme bravery by all those marvellous Mariners and lifeboat men throughout the years. You need to take time to read all the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Mac62Hertfordshire
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Thank you very much for your very extensive and generous review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and especially that you took the time to appreciate the maritime heritage of the town. We are lucky that we have a very...More

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Visited the cafe next door after a great recommendation and was not disappointed. Would have visited the museum had it not been too expensive which was a shame. We thought £5 each was too much for such a small museum. To attract passing visitors we...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank jii001
HMMuseum, Trustee at Holyhead Maritime Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal at the Bistro. However, we are dissapointed that you considered the admission charge for the Museum expensive. We have kept this to £5 for adults for a number of years. We offer...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 nearby hotels
Travelodge Holyhead Hotel
657 reviews
.79 miles away
Trearddur Bay Hotel
795 reviews
2.54 miles away
The Beach Motel
253 reviews
2.83 miles away
Anchorage Hotel
128 reviews
3.68 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 359 nearby restaurants
The Harbourfront Bistro
539 reviews
.01 miles away
Langdon's
194 reviews
.31 miles away
Simply Street Bar and Grill
73 reviews
.34 miles away
The Stanley Arms
99 reviews
.35 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 213 nearby attractions
Nature's Work
22 reviews
.49 miles away
Stena Line Limited - Day Trips
775 reviews
.66 miles away
St. Cybi Church
50 reviews
.39 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kimberly H
4 June 2018|
Answer
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
Yes, for single buggy type prams. Double or 'twin' prams would be more difficult.
0
Votes
RachelWirral
7 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
£5 for adults, £4 for concessions and all children 16 and under are FREE! Look forward to welcoming you.
0
Votes
Poppy L
28 June 2017|
Answer
Response from HMMuseum | Property representative |
Thank you for your enquiry. Unfortunately, with the exception of Assistance/Guide Dogs, we are unable to allow access for dogs inside the Museum. This is also the case for inside the attached Bistro. However, dogs are... More
0
Votes