We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Poppelwood

Closed Now: 10:00 - 17:00
Open today: 10:00 - 17:00
Review Highlights
Small but fun!

Small soft play. Excellent for my 2 year old. Able to see her play. Small food menu but good... read more

Reviewed 8 March 2018
EmU202018
via mobile
Nice but could do with more padding

First visit to Popplewood and initial thoughts are its small (nothing wrong with that) and clean... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Snookie12cat
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Read all 12 reviews
29
All photos (29)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good8%
  • Average33%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible0%
8 Mar 2018
“Small but fun!”
3 weeks ago
“Nice but could do with more padding”
About
A fully immersive and interactive fantasy land for children ages 8 and under. Explore the story of Poppelwood in idillic woodland surroundings with 10 foot tall mushrooms and enchanting Poppel acorn houses. Features a forest-themed play frame and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Unit 19 Trecenydd Business Park, Caerphilly CF83 2RZ, Wales
Website
+44 29 2088 8444
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
6
1
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
6
1
4
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First visit to Popplewood and initial thoughts are its small (nothing wrong with that) and clean, nice atmosphere but also that there wasn't a huge amount to do. The only climbing equipment is a wooden structure which is very much the same all the way...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Snookie12cat
Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

Just love it here, have been 4 times and will continue to go. Small but that’s what’s lovely about it. Soft play area is really safe so no need to watch the little ones every move. So clean!! Friendly staff, nice food and good value...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Sbl1985
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Lovely woodland theme play area but disappointed with the safety of the play area. To me there is not enough soft padding when children are Crawling about through the apparatus. My daughter who’s 3 hit her head 3 times there and the third time I...More

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Vacation155807
Olivia P, Manager at Poppelwood, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hi, Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear you enjoy the woodland theme of our play centre. I'm sorry to hear about the experience with your daughter and we hope this won't discourage you from bringing her back in future. To put...More

Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

I visited today with my 10 month old son, together my friend and her baby and my brother and sister in law with their two under 2’s. When we arrived we were really impressed with the setting, it is magical. However the organisation at the...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank FarAway618648
Olivia P, Manager at Poppelwood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Hi, Thank you for your feedback I'm pleased to hear you were impressed with the magical setting and theme of Poppelwood, it sounded like your little one enjoyed the woodland theme. As for the busyness of our venue, the 24th August was one of our...More

Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

First heard about this place when looking around on Facebook for activities for my little ones (4 & 2 year old) We’re from the Lisvane area so it took us about 15 minutes to get there. When we went in my 4 year old was...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Leanne305
Reviewed 10 August 2018

I was very excited to visit here as my Daughter loves all things magical - and whilst I still think that the idea is fantastic and I do think that areas of Popplewood make you feel like a little pixie in the woods - the...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jennifer J
Olivia P, Manager at Poppelwood, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Hi Jennifer! Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. One of the biggest challenges our business has and continues to face is turning an industrial unit into a fully immersive woodland area. Your point about the warehouse setting is something we are always looking...More

Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 4hrs Both girls enjoyed the whole time there Lovely and clean Staff very friendly Perfect for small children. Will be returning :-)

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank ShelliH_11
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Went here today with high hopes but sadly disappointed. First the good bits... It’s new so it’s very clean. Lovely idea of a magical woodland. Now the not so good..... It’s not cheap, £10 for a 3 year old and a 1 year old The...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank kgward
Olivia P, Manager at Poppelwood, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit to us recently. To clarify on what you paid, our prices are higher outside of the school terms in line with many other play centres as this...More

Reviewed 30 May 2018 via mobile

Having visited many soft plays of varying size and calibre over the years, I can safely say, Popplewood wins hands down. It’s not massive, but that’s part of its appeal, I’ve visited 3 times, always in school holidays, at varying times of the day, and...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank elmalouie
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Small soft play. Excellent for my 2 year old. Able to see her play. Small food menu but good quality food. Very friendly staff. Only complaint is the small tables. I feel they are awkward to sit at and slightly dangerous with hot drink in...More

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank EmU202018
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 3 nearby hotels
Travelodge Caerphilly Hotel
328 reviews
.69 miles away
Premier Inn Caerphilly (Corbetts Lane) Hotel
502 reviews
1.09 miles away
Premier Inn Caerphilly Crossways Hotel
426 reviews
1.19 miles away
New House Country Hotel
897 reviews
2.09 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 99 nearby restaurants
Angel Bar and Grill
84 reviews
.54 miles away
Grazing Ground
130 reviews
.57 miles away
The Old Library
60 reviews
.32 miles away
Trecenydd, Fish Bar
100 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 27 nearby attractions
Caerphilly Castle
1,670 reviews
.51 miles away
The Visitor Centre - Caerphilly
194 reviews
.64 miles away
Y Galeri
20 reviews
.63 miles away
St Martin's Church
12 reviews
.66 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
VJB0000
19 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kgward | Reviewed this property |
I think it was £5 per child. Even for a 12. Month old. Was lovely and clean but to be honest there’s not much there. I wouldn’t go back.
0
Votes