We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Havannah Street | The St. David's Hotel, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales
Phone Number: 442920454045
Website
Today
07:00 - 22:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 07:00 - 22:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

The world-class Marine Spa at The St. David’s Hotel & Spa is...

The world-class Marine Spa at The St. David’s Hotel & Spa is undoubtedly the best Spa in Cardiff and Conde Nast Traveler regularly places it in the top 5 spa’s in the UK. The spa has also been awarded Platinum standard by Thalgo.

Whether you have an hour to de-stress or maybe a whole day to completely unwind and relax, the Marine Spa provides the perfect environment where you can immerse yourself in relaxing surroundings and indulge in a little spa therapy right on the edge of Cardiff’s trendy waterfront.

The Spa offers an indoor swimming pool, sauna, water corridor leading to swan neck fountains, hydro therapy spa pools, plus a fully equipped gym. And for pampering the luxury treatment rooms deliver a range of treatments, as well as those everyday must-haves such as manicures, pedicures and tanning. New to the Spa for 2016: we are excited to launch our brand new product house Decleor; with treatments and products on offer.

For home pampering there is a range of indulgent spa and beauty products for sale, plus a wide range of beauty products from high-end beauty companies. Guest passes for the day to use facilities, hydrotherapy pool, relax lounge, waves, gym, and juice bar.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 93 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 21
    Excellent
  • 22
    Very good
  • 20
    Average
  • 19
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Cardiffs best...?

I've been to most spas Cardiff has to offer and I would say this is the best. Trained staff, nice pool, relaxation room. Views are special, good value!

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 July 2016
JPMcQ
,
Penarth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review

93 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 93: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016

Well, what can I say, this was another brilliant experience. I had a wonderful facial and back massage by Holly who very kind and a great masseuse. She managed to locate a whole range of knots and got rid of most of them, which was great. My skin felt soft and really good after the facial and after the whole... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma C
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emma C, Thank you very much for your review. I am thrilled you have had a brilliant experience with us at our Marine Spa. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our colleague, Holly, who I am sure will be very pleased with your feedback. I hope to welcome you back in the near future.... More 

Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Did not enjoy and did chat to manager re this so manic no one knows what they are doing my Massrge was not good girl keep leaving room

Helpful?
Thank teddyhead12
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear teddyhead12, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. I am very disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your experience at our Marine Spa and hope our Spa and Leisure Manager was able to act on your feedback and rectify the shortfalls you experienced. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a relaxing day in one of Cardiff's premier hotels look no further. After booking the spa day for a recent birthday including a treatment, I half expected additional treatments to be expensive due to the tremendous offer available for the inclusive day. To my surprise additional treatments were very reasonable. The hotel is very clean... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidTML
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear DavidTML, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted that the Marine Spa was to your liking and that we met your needs during your recent visit and the team looked after you. I trust that it will not be too long before we welcome you back. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This is a review of the spa/ treatments at the St David's hotel. Having booked a treatment, I arrived 15 early and waited for the therapist, who eventually called my name, only to advise me that she only had 10 minutes to complete my treatment. I was advised to rebook which was extremely disappointing, but I couldn't return on another... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara I
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sara I Thank you for your time in posting your review. I was extremely concerned to read your comments regarding your Spa treatment during your recent visit to the hotel. I understand that you did speak to a member of my management team on the day in question, however, if you would like to discuss your experience further please... More 

Penarth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I've been to most spas Cardiff has to offer and I would say this is the best. Trained staff, nice pool, relaxation room. Views are special, good value!

Helpful?
Thank JPMcQ
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear JPMcQ Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience and facilities during your visit. I will pass on your kind comments to my team. I look forward to welcoming you for another spa day in the near time future. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager More 

Pembroke Dock, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

I booked this a treat for mum as it was her birthday. I'd been to st David's on a course with work and was quite impressed. This was our first spa day. The price is not bad, for me locally were I live the spa's including afternoon tea are a similar price. The lady on the desk was lovey, she... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lydz-j
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lydz-j, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am delighted to read that you and your mother enjoyed you time with us in The Marine Spa, having enjoyed the treatments, facilities and your afternoon tea. Thank you for your comments regarding the ladies changing rooms. We are planning a major refurbishment of the whole hotel... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2016

My girlfriend and had a spa day followed by afternoon tea at this venue. We were given the offer that included everything for a total of £178. I was then charged an extra £53 which I noticed had come out the day later. As I was charged this extra amount it then put me into a unplanned overdraft therefore effecting... More 

Helpful?
Thank BenKrizan
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear BenKrizan Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you received during and after your recent spa day. I understand that the Guest Relations Team have been in contact since your review and have rectified the issues brought to our team. Your valuable feedback will be discussed with the... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2016

While staying for the weekend, I treated myself to a couple of spa treatments. Helene gave me a warm welcome on reception and directed me upstairs to the waiting area. Kelsey and her magic hands gave me a relaxing scalp massage. She was very firm but gentle - I imagine that her neck and shoulder massages would be good too.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear Emma C Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your experiences and relaxing treatments during your visit. I will pass on your kind comments to my team. I look forward to welcoming you for another spa day soon, Very Best Wishes, Graeme Barclay General Manager More 

Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016

My wife and I spent the afternoon here today and were pretty disappointed by the facilities, standards and extremely short treatments. Although advertised as a 5* spa it's very far from this, it's a glorified local leisure centre in our opinions. We found it to be dated and in massive need of a refurbishment as the pool area and changing... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChippyCraig
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear ChippyCraig I was disappointed to read your review, especially as this issue had been discussed with the spa therapist when you were with us and you declined to fill out our feedback form following your departure. St’ David’s is currently in the process of a rolling refurbishment, with 40 of the bedrooms having been completed, along with the Tempus... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2016

I attended the spa and used some of your facilities last week with two friends who were visiting me. As a 5 star hotel you expect a level of service and the website alludes to 'offering 5 star luxury' and 'the award winning spa is a must to feel pampered'. When I booked the treatments about 4 weeks prior I... More 

Helpful?
Thank NicR1982
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The Marine Spa, responded to this review

Dear NicR1982, I am sorry to hear that you felt your experience of The Marine Spa and subsequent acknowledgment was not up to the required standard. It is not the quality of experience we aim to deliver and hope you will see a notable improvement in future visits. Kind Regards Graeme Barclay More 

Travellers who viewed The Marine Spa also viewed

 
Cardiff, Southern Wales
 

Been to The Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Marine Spa staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?