We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Retro Cardiff

Open Now: 12:00 - 04:00
Open today: 12:00 - 04:00
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Brilliant night

4 stars purely because the doorman lied to us about no guest list. Contacted well in advance for... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
MarkHadley
,
Kent, United Kingdom
via mobile
Amazing!

I visited retros for the first time this year and at first I was reluctant as I was unsure of what... read more

Reviewed 24 July 2018
Natasha D
,
Cardiff, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 338 reviews
68
All photos (68)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent82%
  • Very good7%
  • Average5%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“vip area”(36 reviews)
“hen party”(29 reviews)
“amazing night”(24 reviews)
About
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 - 04:00
See all hours
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
16°
10°
Sep
12°
Oct
Nov
Contact
7A Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1FL, Wales
Website
+44 29 2034 4688
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cardiff
from US$16.80
More Info
from US$16.80
More Info
from US$55.60
More Info
from US$37.70
More Info
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
269
27
19
2
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
269
27
19
2
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvip areahen partyamazing nightguest listqueue jumpbooked vipvip entrycracking nightreserved seatingbangersthe birthday girlreserved areabottle of proseccolittle touchesbirthday nightlovely touchbooked a table
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

4 stars purely because the doorman lied to us about no guest list. Contacted well in advance for 8 people to be on the guest list. As we approached the club , we weren’t a rowdy bunch, not in fancy dress, yes intoxicated but not...More

Thank MarkHadley
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

I visited retros for the first time this year and at first I was reluctant as I was unsure of what type of club it was and none of my friends had been there. However, once inside I had the best time ever! The music...More

1  Thank Natasha D
RetroCardiff, Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Hi Natasha, Thankyou so much for your five star review! So happy you all enjoyed! We hope to see you all again soon! Take advantage of our 2 for 9 cocktails when you next visit! Hollie

Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

I have been going to retros for years and now I will never return. Rude dj, horribly rude bartenders acting like it’s our fault they’re in work on a Saturday night. Not welcoming or friendly at all just miserable not one smile at all from...More

Thank KLM1995
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi We are sorry to hear your time at retro wasn’t the best! If you would like to discuss further please call us or email directly at info@retrocardiff.co.uk then we can look into this for you. Hollie

Reviewed 13 June 2018

Visited at the weekend with the girls and had booked a cocktail making masterclass on Groupon at this venue. It was so much fun - we had our own area, the bartender 'Shakill' made it really special, and the cocktails were gorgeous.

Thank nj0nes4
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Hi We are so glad you enjoyed our cocktail masterclass, we appreciate your feedback on them. I will be sure to pass this on to shaq wjo no doubt will be delighted with the review! Hope to see you again soon Hollie

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Went with friends for drinks on a hen night, bar tender was quite rude and telling another member of staff that she was cheesed off with making cocktails, not great when people are waiting to be served and within earshot. Floor was really dirty that...More

1  Thank Samantha D
Reviewed 8 June 2018

Booked a vip are for 27 people. Plenty of space, lovely decorations we had a wonderful time! Ellie was lovely at helping me organise everything and they even provided us with free shots on the night!More

1  Thank daniellelintern
RetroCardiff, Director of Sales at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Hi Danielle We are so pleased with the five star review! We are glad you had a lovely night! I will pass the message on to Ellie she will be delighted you had a great night! We hope to see you again soon here at...More

Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Myself and 10 others went to Retros Cardiff for a hen party, we were a mixed aged group between 22-60. Ellie was great at helping me with organising and making sure the booking went smoothly! When we got there our table had been decorated and...More

Thank chl0eclements
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2018

Hi Chloe, Hen Parties are very important to us here at Retro and it really does make my day when I read reviews like this one! I'm so pleased that you all enjoyed, especially our drinks packages as they are great value for money! We...More

Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

What a night! This place is brilliant. Great music and friendly staff. Rhys ran the cocktail masterclass and it was so much fun! I would highly recommend! Thanks to Rhys and all the staff & Tyler the photographer for making it a special night xxMore

Thank Victoria J
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Hi Victoria, This was a lovely way to start the week, thank you so much! Rhys and Tyler are both very happy that they made your night and I'm so pleased that everything went well for you. Good luck with the rest of the wedding...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Booked through Groupon and got an amazing deal. Ellie at the club also provided a fantastic drinks and VIP package. As a group we had a great evening and cannot wait to visit again

Thank tony c
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Tony, Thank you so much for this lovely review, I'm so happy that you all enjoyed. Our cocktail classes are proving to be very popular so we really do appreciate the feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon, Ellie

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

-Entry was easy (lady allowed everyone to split the bill which saved me a massive headache) -Staff friendly -DJ excellent -VIP Area perfect -Plenty of drinks for everyone We had a really great, fun night. Perfect for Hen party or group

Thank jessicastovell
RetroCardiff, Social Media, Sales & Reservations Manager at Retro Cardiff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hi Jessica, Thank you for your five star review! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Retro and that the staff were as welcoming as always. Hope to see you again soon, Ellie

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 73 hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
1,611 reviews
.03 miles away
Travelodge Cardiff Central
885 reviews
.06 miles away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
2,493 reviews
.08 miles away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
2,685 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,368 restaurants in Cardiff
Servini's Cafe
211 reviews
.04 miles away
Cote Brasserie - Cardiff Central
763 reviews
.03 miles away
Fresh
57 reviews
.06 miles away
Mocka Lounge Cardiff
315 reviews
.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 389 attractions in Cardiff
Cardiff Central Library
86 reviews
.05 miles away
Royal Arcade
60 reviews
.11 miles away
Cardiff Tourist Information Centre
56 reviews
.11 miles away
Wyndham Arcade
6 reviews
.04 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
carolemaddy
4 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Yes we do karaoke, there isn’t a fee at the door! We hope to see you soon!
0
Votes
Christina S
13 June 2018|
Answer
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Hi Christina Yes we only do kareoke on Thursday nights! We hope to see you here soon!
0
Votes
Georgina F
28 May 2018|
Answer
Response from RetroCardiff | Property representative |
Hi Georgina, We pay anything right through from the 80s to current chart toppers!
0
Votes