We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cottrell Park Golf Resort

St Nicholas, Cardiff CF5 6SJ, Wales
+44 1446 781781
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Brilliant event

Had a great evening for our post wedding celebration. Great value, great food, great staff who... read more

Reviewed today
Sian P
A good game with my Welsh Cousins-in -law

This was a long-awaited game with my welsh wife's family. The course was in good condition and... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
fifedoc2016
,
Fife, United Kingdom
Read all 157 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Visit a friendly and welcoming leisure destination, perfect for golfers, friends and families alike. Cottrell Park Golf Resort has a wide range of facilities that welcome both members and guests. From two championship-maintained 18-hole golf courses, a driving range, a putting green, two indoor golf and grand prix simulators, a snooker and pool room, a restaurant and bar, sports bar, function and meeting rooms and a 9km nature trail for walking or cycling. Set in 400 acres of historical parkland and ten minutes from Cardiff City Centre, this is an ideal setting for a day out or an evening event. The draped permanent marquee hosts beautiful weddings, corporate dinners and golf day celebrations for up to 400 guests. With a built-in bar and patio doors running along one side of the marquee, the space can be conveniently enjoyed whilst overlooking the mature landscape and private lake. As a golf club, Cottrell Park Golf Resort has forged a reputation for being friendly and welcoming - making it one of the most popular golfing venues in South Wales. Due to an exceptional attention to detail and care, both courses can sustain themselves throughout the bleaker winter weather and Cottrell Park Golf Resort is renowned as one of the best draining parkland courses in the area.Cottrell Park Golf Resort also offers activity and team building days, with raft-building, archery, paddle boarding, quad biking and much more. A tailored outing can be organised to suit families, stag or hen parties, corporate teams - anyone looking for a different adventure.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good21%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“sunday lunch” (22 reviews)
“golf society” (12 reviews)
“pro shop” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 07:00 - 19:30
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
St Nicholas, Cardiff CF5 6SJ, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1446 781781
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Cardiff
from US$357.70
More Info
from US$16.90
More Info
from US$37.80
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sunday lunch"
in 22 reviews
"golf society"
in 12 reviews
"pro shop"
in 12 reviews
"played both courses"
in 3 reviews
"parsnips"
in 2 reviews
"waiter waitress"
in 2 reviews
"presented lovely"
in 2 reviews
"lovely meal"
in 4 reviews
"celebrate a birthday"
in 2 reviews
"bacon roll"
in 3 reviews
"plenty of choice"
in 4 reviews
"lovely touch"
in 2 reviews
"pot roast"
in 2 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 2 reviews
"bar staff"
in 3 reviews
"carvery"
in 14 reviews
"marquee"
in 13 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 156 reviews

Reviewed today

Had a great evening for our post wedding celebration. Great value, great food, great staff who couldn’t of been more efficient, friendly and helpful!

Thank Sian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago

This was a long-awaited game with my welsh wife's family. The course was in good condition and challenging. The same thing could be said of my golf! The pro shop is well stocked and my debit card was held as a guarantee on the cart...More

Thank fifedoc2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review and we are pleased you enjoyed your visit here despite the slip up with the deposit card. Thank you for returning the plastic card. Much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cottrell Park sometime soon. Kind...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Attended wedding here yesterday at marquee 10/10 . Fabulous venue light and airy.lovely outside area . great service from friendly staff and reasonable prices at bar . Hot meats ,pots and salads for buffet which was delicious . Spotlessly clean , nice size dance floor...More

Thank magsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a great review! We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

My husband and I went for Sunday lunch which we have done several times and recommend to many people. The food is of excellent quality the only problem is that as a vegetarian you have to ask separately for gravy which was made to order...More

Thank Holidaymakers03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

We played the McIntosh Course and enjoyed It, good variety of holes and in good condition. The course was not too busy and with the lovely sunny weather it made for a good day. The only thing I found disappointing was when booking in I...More

1  Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

Hello Mick Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to post a review and pleased you enjoyed the day. The reason we ask for deposits on hiring a buggy is so that customers remember to return the buggy keys. We've had...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 night with 3 rounds of golf, the accommodation was good, not to far away from the club house, 8 of us shared the downstairs apartment, it has everything you need for a great trip away, the only thing is there...More

1  Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Adam Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you do return for a repeat visit. Ill pass your comments to the team including Kevin and Fraser and the shop team. Kind Regards Gaynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2018

What an absolute brilliant golf club! Even though the rain didn't help my golf, enough can't be said about the incredible staff that work there. Nothing was too much trouble, they even brought us out chocolate and drinks even though I was only messing around....More

1  Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hello Matthew Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are really pleased you had a great day with us. We hope you spread the word and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Gaynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

Had a beautiful , tasty luch today , buffet style , had chicken pate , and beef main course with carrot swede puree , excellent roasted potatoes and parsnips and greens . Plenty of choice of sweets , which my husband indulged , which he...More

1  Thank ainsd49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed Sunday lunch with us. We hope you visit again soon. Kind Regards Gaynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Me and my family visited Cottrel Park yesterday as we were looking for a venue for our Wedding. We decided to have a spot of lunch before heading into Cardiff so we went into the Cotrell bar/restaurant. The waitress approached our table straight away with...More

1  Thank Sazsmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this excellent review. I will make sure Sarah see this and inform all the team. We hope to welcome you again to Cottrell Park in the near future. Kind Regards Gaynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

We met friends here for an informal lunch. The food was deliciousBritish fayre. You don't need to play golf to enjoy the lovely informal lunches here. Delicious food in the Vale of Glamorgan countryside.

1  Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CottrellPark, Director of Sales at Cottrell Park Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Hello Ruth Thank you so much for your lovely comments and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon. Kind regards Gaynor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 74 hotels in Cardiff
Greendown Inn Hotel
14 reviews
2.22 miles away
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
1,216 reviews
2.56 miles away
Vale Resort
1,737 reviews
2.88 miles away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
406 reviews
2.97 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Red Lion
116 reviews
.76 miles away
The Sportsmans Rest
102 reviews
.94 miles away
McDonald's
51 reviews
2.48 miles away
Walston Castle Beefeater
319 reviews
2.97 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Dyffryn Gardens
381 reviews
1.75 miles away
Hendrewennol Fruit Garden
146 reviews
2.23 miles away
Hensol Golf Academy
6 reviews
2.66 miles away
Giles Gallery
33 reviews
4.73 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Howard F
23 April 2017|
Answer
Response from CottrellPark | Property representative |
Hello Howard Sure, which menu did you want to view? The Merricks Bar Menu? Kind Regards Gaynor
0
Votes
;