We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1940s Swansea Bay

Is this your business?
Baldwin's Crescent | Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea SA1 8PT, Wales
+44 1792 458864
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Wartime Swansea

This is a very small museum portraying wartime Swansea, which suffered bombing during the blitz on... read more

Reviewed 30 December 2017
BarryNapier
,
Wales
A great little place

Called here when staying along Swansea Waterfront. The museum is like a Tardis , plenty to see and... read more

Reviewed 6 October 2017
MorgyGwent
,
Gwent
Read all 100 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...

Overview

More
NOVEMBER 2017 - CLOSED WEEKENDS and RESTRICTED WEEKDAYS. Sorry for any inconvenience, we know youngsters my be doing school projects. Schools visit every weekday so during this period of staff shorthages even weekdays may be restricted to the public. Once we get our staffing back to normal we will open daily 10am, from the living history weekend 16-17th Dec 17 onwards.
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good33%
  • Average10%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“war museum” (9 reviews)
“school trip” (9 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 15:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
Baldwin's Crescent | Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea SA1 8PT, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1792 458864
Write a Review

Reviews (100)

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"war museum"
in 9 reviews
"school trip"
in 9 reviews
"air raid shelter"
in 5 reviews
"swansea bay"
in 21 reviews
"anderson shelter"
in 3 reviews
"gas mask"
in 2 reviews
"amazing trip"
in 2 reviews
"extremely fun"
in 2 reviews
"the pub"
in 6 reviews
"follow the signs"
in 2 reviews
"interesting experience"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 5 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"ww2"
in 11 reviews
"quiz"
in 12 reviews
"exhibits"
in 20 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017

This is a very small museum portraying wartime Swansea, which suffered bombing during the blitz on the docks and housing. Though small it is run by genuine enthusiasts, who also have special events, with uniforms etc. There is a section where you can dress in...More

Thank BarryNapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Called here when staying along Swansea Waterfront. The museum is like a Tardis , plenty to see and we particularly liked the dressing up outfits and hats. A friendly member of staff at the entrance who explained about the museum. The museum is a fascinating...More

Thank MorgyGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

We had driven 2 hours and came from Australia to find the CLOSED sign on the door due to a school group how very disappointed and annoyed we four we.More

Thank Barry Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Due to a member of staff being absent we went ahead with the pre-booked school visit but weren't able to have someone full time on reception. We did answer the telephone and emails and the two couples that 'phoned from the car park and the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2017

We visited a few years ago. I love all the history relating to ww1, ww2 and collieries etc. So much time and effort has gone into this museum. Realistic views on what happened during war time.

1  Thank deborahcare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Although a little cloudy...and the tide was out. Many possibilities...there is a good flat footpath all along the bay ...next to the beach...nice little cafe .....did not get to sample city life it was Sunday and mostly closed. .non the less a good walk and...More

2  Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Thanks for your kind words about Swansea Bay, as members of the local tourist trade association I completely agree that this area is a fantastic place to visit and enjoy all year round, in all weathers. We are the 1940s Swansea Bay museum, telling the...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

My girlfriend and I visited the 1940's museum in Swansea a couple of weeks back. On arrival, the gates were locked, even though the opening times online suggested they'd be open. The answerphone message said they were closed due to a house clearance. Really, there...More

Thank garethgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Really personable, interested and knowledgable guides bring this place to life. I took my nine year old with another adult and we all found it very interesting. Good for immersive experience (you can dress up in clothes of the time and it's set out as...More

2  Thank Babyrooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

We try to give a flavour of everyday life in the 1940's, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

Following a short stay locally decided to visit the 1940s Swansea bay experience before journeying home. Not expecting it to be like by all especially younger generation but is worth the visit pleasant hosts and a good lot of exhibits

1  Thank 19marko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

1940's Swansea Bay aims to please all generations. We find our more mature visitors enjoy reminiscence, whereas younger ones often enjoy a dressing up session. We have seen some fantastic photographs of visiting families lately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Second visit to this exhibition after quite a few years. It was just as entertaining and surprising. I love the items in the shop and had a coffee for 50p! Well worth a visit to try on the vintage clothes alone!

3  Thank elizabethdX3792ZP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2017

Glad you enjoyed your visit. We try to update the exhibition and add extra items to add to the experience for returning visitors whenever possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Visited on a very wet day & were not disappointed. Not a big place but enough to see for a couple of hours. The highlight was visiting the pub replica (no beer!) where one of the staff told us stories of the war time in...More

2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2016

I hope you managed to have a sing a long in the pub with Barry on his ukulele! Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Nearby

Nearby HotelsSee all 22 hotels in Swansea
The Towers Hotel & Spa
675 reviews
1.09 miles away
Ibis Swansea
853 reviews
1.19 miles away
Village Hotel Swansea
2,023 reviews
1.61 miles away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
1,613 reviews
1.87 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Pavilion
15 reviews
2.06 miles away
Diablos SA1
223 reviews
1.97 miles away
The River House
288 reviews
2.03 miles away
coast cafe
163 reviews
2.02 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Virgin Active Glamorgan
6 reviews
2.06 miles away
The LC
1,367 reviews
2.39 miles away
Swansea Museum
183 reviews
2.30 miles away
Dylan Thomas Centre
104 reviews
2.20 miles away

Questions & Answers

Get quick answers from 1940s Swansea Bay staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit