We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

1940s Swansea Bay

Closed Now: 10:00 - 15:00
Open today: 10:00 - 15:00
Review Highlights
Hard to Summerise

Having driven past the Museum several times and called on a previous occasion to find it closed we... read more

Reviewed 17 July 2018
Mordwywr
,
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Worth a visit

We visited this place on our recent trip to Wales. The museum is easy to find and well sign-posted... read more

Reviewed 4 July 2018
Lucie K
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 110 reviews
35
All photos (35)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good31%
  • Average10%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“swansea bay”(22 reviews)
“street scene”(4 reviews)
“world war”(6 reviews)
About
Our indoor street scene will take you back in time to the 1940s. Walk past the RAF Operations Room, through the Air Raid Shelter and the Wartime pub to the Warden's Post and grocer's shop. Learn about Rationing and watch newsreels. Clothes and...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 15:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
Baldwin's Crescent | Crymlyn Burrows, Swansea SA1 8PT, Wales
Website
+44 1792 458864
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Swansea
from US$7.87
More Info
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
48
35
11
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
48
35
11
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swansea bay street scene world war war years an eye opener re enactors follow the signs small museum interesting place ww2 school exhibits blitz warden army costumes grime
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited yesterday with my friend Spent a good hour and a half inside. Surprised by amount and variety of exibits.Staff very friendly.Only live a mile away and have passed on many occasions So glad that we visited and would readily encourage others to do so.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Howard J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I visited first thing on a Sunday morning with my husband, 2yr old and parents in law - we were the only ones there which was fab, as my daughter could run around and enjoy herself. John was so welcoming, couldn't fault.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank TravellersHM
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First time for me this week, known the manager Mr Thomas for over 30 yrs, good collection of 1940s memrobelia and knowledge but the venue needs updating. Building is “TARDIS like” , goes on for ever but small on outside.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Mysteryshopper53
Reviewed 3 December 2018 via mobile

What a disappointment for us all. To be honest, given the weather that day they should not have opened to the public. There is a major difference between trying to be authentic to the period of history on display and allowing people to traipse through...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank TNT04
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2018

We are in dispute with builders over the heating and leaks where the conservatory joins the main brick building. This is one of the reasons we offer free readmission so you can call again. The toilets have been cleaned but are of a1960s industrial crew...More

Reviewed 28 November 2018 via mobile

Expensive (£25 for family ticket) for what it is. It’s like a dirty old junk shop, it’s in a shed on an industrial estate. The exhibits have definitely seen better days. Staff were nice, but that hardly makes up for it.More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank loopie129
John T, Owner at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2018

Some people see junk, some people see a much loved but worn prams, pushchairs, radios, sewing machines and many other original items from the late 1930 and 1940s, that are well over 80 years old. We do not 'tart up' or repaint them, they are...More

Reviewed 6 August 2018

Interesting place with qr codes giving info. The owner is well informed and clearly enthusiastic about the subject. The QR codes near each exhibit are links to youtube videos showing people in costume explaining what your seeing. But.. place looked like it could do with...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Michael W
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks for your comments, the feedback does help us. After a busy year of thousands of school children we are cleaning and repainting at the moment. Your points about the male toilet are noted, I can assure that they are cleaned daily, and the walls...More

Reviewed 17 July 2018

Having driven past the Museum several times and called on a previous occasion to find it closed we decided to give it another shot. The entrance fee of £5.95 pp was not excessive considering the ticket could be retained and used several times. Staff were...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank Mordwywr
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

We've tried to explain to several customers recently that many, many thousands of schoolchildren visit from September to July. Our last school was yesterday with over 80, and we are now able to start our deep clean ready for the next season starting in barely...More

Reviewed 4 July 2018

We visited this place on our recent trip to Wales. The museum is easy to find and well sign-posted and everyone was extremely welcoming. They provided water for our dog and also allowed our dog to go in (including in the shelter where she wouldn't...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Lucie K
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thanks for your review. During this heatwave it is cooler inside our Street so we are getting visitors, and those on 4 legs are most welcome!

Reviewed 1 July 2018

John showed us around,he was very friendly and enthusiastic. It was very interesting learning lots about world war 2 and what people had to go through. In the street,there was a pub called the 3 lamps.You can have a go on the piano and when...More

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank william212013
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Visited the 1940s Swansea Bay Museum - Privately owned - what a great experince to step back in time to the 1940s - RAF ops room -Bombed House- Street Scene - Pub - Warden Post - dressing up clothes - Photos - Cinema -and more...More

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank GertrudePerkins1
John T, Manager at 1940s Swansea Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

Thanks Ms Perkins for leaving your review. The Storyline Trail using the QR code links to videos has proved very popular. We're hoping to expand further this summer with new displays and exhibitions on The Great War and also the Anglo Zulu Wars of 1879,...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 22 nearby hotels
The Towers Hotel & Spa
754 reviews
1.09 miles away
Ibis Swansea
937 reviews
1.19 miles away
Village Hotel Swansea
2,242 reviews
1.61 miles away
Premier Inn Swansea Waterfront Hotel
1,775 reviews
1.87 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 790 nearby restaurants
The Pavilion
17 reviews
2.06 miles away
Lotus
169 reviews
2.02 miles away
Diablos SA1
391 reviews
1.97 miles away
The River House
345 reviews
2.03 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 235 nearby attractions
Virgin Active Glamorgan
6 reviews
2.06 miles away
Swansea Museum
199 reviews
2.30 miles away
Dylan Thomas Centre
113 reviews
2.20 miles away
National Waterfront Museum
516 reviews
2.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Anne E
18 February 2019|
Answer
Response from John T | Property representative |
The average is about 1 hour, some people spend more time, some less. Please email or text 07596592356 if you want up to date opening hours. Diolch
0
Votes
latix
4 June 2018|
Answer
Response from John T | Property representative |
Hello, it's £6.95 for Adults, £5.95 for anyone in full-time education or unwaged / retired. Under 5s are Free. Family £23.00 All tickets include re-admission for 8 weeks Trip Advisor takes hours to forward messages, for a... More
0
Votes