We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours

Features Animals
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
More
About Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours
We offer bespoke guided tours of the beautiful causeway coast of Northern Ireland from the beautiful town of Ballycastle, part of the Wild Atlantic Way. Tours are suitable for beginners, as well as the more advanced kayakers. This is a wonderful experience as sea kayaking allows you to get a different perspective, uncover hidden spots and get up and close with our shore's wildlife.
Read more
Travellers talk about
Tours and Tickets by Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours

Ballycastle 2-Hour Kayaking Tour

Explore the coast and caves of Northern Ireland on a kayak tour from Ballycastle. The scenic route along the Wild Atlantic Way is perfect for first-time kayakers, as your guide takes care of navigation. Have your camera ready for the Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge, Kinbane Castle, and more. ‘Game of Thrones’ fans may recognize Ballintoy Harbor as the filming location for the Iron Isles.
Read more
2 hours
from US$107.16

Family Package (2 Adults, 2 Children)

See a different side of Northern Ireland than from a tour bus when you explore the area from the water during this family kayaking package. Your group price includes kayaks for two adults and two children, as well as wetsuits. Plus, it offers multiple tour times and a short duration so you can easily fit in this fun adventure between other activities.
Read more
1 hour
from US$160.73

Under the Rope Bridge Tour

This is a great tour for tourists who would like to have a totally unique experience whilst visiting this beautiful part of our country.
You will get the chance to kayak through and under the famous Carrick-a-Reed Rope Bridge and if you are luck you can have close encounters with basking shark, dolphins and grey seal's.
Read more
2 hours
from US$108.50
24Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 21
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erica wrote a review Aug 2020
55 contributions18 helpful votes
Amazing kayaking tour along Balltintoy Harbour and then onwards and under Carrick-a-rede Bridge and in and out of caves. Very experienced guides who are fully qualified supplying all necessary equipment required including local coastal info. Super experience. Highly recommend!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kayakingcoast, Owner at Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours
Responded 9 Oct 2020
Thank you for your kind review.
Read more
John L wrote a review Aug 2020
Belfast, United Kingdom7 contributions10 helpful votes
Just be VERY WARY booking with this outfit. I booked back in June for a group of 10 year olds to go out kayaking on 15th August at 3pm as a birthday treat. This was made very clear in more than one correspondance. I constantly had to ask a question twice to get a response. I got a confirmation of the booking and thought all was good. I even asked on different occasions leading up to the date, was everything ok and was reassured it was. An hour and a half before we left the house and picked up all the boys who were going I was told that the guys doing the tour were running a bit late and it would now be half 3 before we would be going out. Fair enough, these things happen. We carried on and were there for 3pm because we knew the traffic would be heavy. Landed at the harbour in Ballintoy and introduced ourselves to be told your not booked with us must be some other company! This happens regularly we were told. Showing the confirmed booking that we had on our phone we were then given wetsuits for the boys and told that we had to wait for another group to arrive and the guides would be back in for about half 3. So that's ok, the boys kicked about and did there thing. Came back just before half 3 and waited for the tour that was out to come in. When that tour arrived back the guide told us our group of boys couldn't go out without adult supervision, now when this was booked we were told that there would be 2/3 fully qualified instructors out in the water with them at all times, the guide also said it was meant to be 5 adults and not children, nonsense, so my wife offered to go with them. Now at this point they had to figure out if they had enough kayaks, which they didn't, only 4 available and they also had a group standing who hadn't enough wetsuits! The guides told us they were waiting on Anne who takes the bookings to come to the harbour to sort all this out. We had a restaurant booking with a larger family party for 6pm so had to be left for 5.15 at the latest. This was now nearly 4pm. The birthday package is out an hour and a half. At this stage we had a decision to make and as we were originally supposed to be out at 3pm we knew at this stage we weren't going to be back in time, as they still hadn't enough suits for some of the other party. Shortly after 4 with confusion still reigning, we told our group of boys to hand back their wetsuits, which were quickly snatched up and put on others who were waiting! Not much Covid 19 precautions taken there. The party that were waiting with us got out at about 4.20pm. We decided to wait round a while and see if Anne appeared, but she didn't. We left the harbour round 4.35pm. Remembering that this was a 10 year old boys birthday treat with his friends, he was in tears and the other boys so disappointed. We tried on different occasions to make contact with the organisers but had to wait until today, Sunday, to get a half hearted apology and as a good will gesture 50% off a future booking! Not a hope. Once bitten and all that. We have never had such an unfortunate situation before and I hope never to have one like it again. As I said at the start of this long winded review, BE VERY WARY of this outfit.
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Aaron D wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution3 helpful votes
We did not have a good experience with this tour. We had friends visiting making us a group of 7 people. I had booked all our activities/restaurants in advance due to the current situation with Covid-19. Summary of events: booked online for Friday at 5pm, deposit charged, did not receive an email confirming location - phoned/text on Friday afternoon to find out where to go, was told that due to thunderstorms it had to be rescheduled (the sun was splitting the stones at 5pm and instead we had fish and chips on the beach!). Our friends were returning on the Monday therefore they messaged to say they could fit us in on Sunday at 3pm but would confirm the next day. I changed around our plans for that day to fit in Kayaking at 3pm. I did not receive any confirmation so I contacted them again around 8pm to be told they would be in touch the following morning. I then had to phone the the next morning to be told that someone messed up the bookings and they could only take us at half 4, so I changed around the plans once more. Arrived for our kayaking trip to be told that they were running behind and that it might be 5/half 5 before we would be taken. We had moved our dinner reservation twice by this stage so we therefore had to cancel having already made the journey to Ballintoy Harbour. They said I would get a full refund and email confirmation. Received my deposit back 2 days later (with no email, may I add). Very disappointing and unfair as we seemed to have a stream of unfortunate events but it was us that had to cancel, as others decided to turn up late and the tours could not facilitate the booking time!!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kayakingcoast, Manager at Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours
Responded 16 Aug 2020
Thanks for your review. Sorry things didn't work out for you. We will not take people out on the water when there is a thunderstorm warning as a safety precaution. Glad you enjoyed your fish and chips. We ask all our tours to come early to avoid running late. It is unfortunate you left as we were willing to facilitate your tour at a later time.
Read more
Darren McC wrote a review Jul 2020
1 contribution
Great day out for all. Our kids are between 14 & 9 and they all had a great time doing different things tailored to the different abilities. Great activity day out. The coasteering which followed really got the pulse going, and stunning setting
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kayakingcoast, Owner at Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours
Responded 27 Jul 2020
Thanks and glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
Read more
MooreE71 wrote a review Jul 2020
10 contributions5 helpful votes
Easy to book Equipment in good condition Guide clear, helpful and knowledgable Great fun had by all Highly recommended
Read more
Date of experience: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kayakingcoast, Owner at Causeway Coast Kayaking Tours
Responded 13 Jul 2020
Thanks for your kind review, glad you enjoyed your experience with us.
Read more
Previous