We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

West Coast Tours - Oban

#4 of 18 Tours in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 1 Queens Park Place, Oban PA34 5RS, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1631 566809
Website
Description:

West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours.

Our day tours...

West Coast Tours offers a range of day and sightseeing tours.

Our day tours to Mull, Iona and Staffa allow visitors to visit two or even three islands in one day as well as regular bus services to Tobermory and joint tickets with Duart Castle.

Our City Sightseeing open-top bus tours operate in Glasgow, Oban and Bute and offer expert commentary and the ability to hop-on and off.

We also operate a fast passenger ferry link between Campbeltown and Ballycastle in Northern Ireland called the Kintyre Express which offers visitors the chance to combine both the west coast of Scotland and the rugged Causeway Coast of Northern Ireland.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 263 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 165
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 16
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 6
    Terrible
3 Island tour

We were in Oban and stopped off in the travel shop to check out a tour, the girl was extremely helpful. We booked the tour to Mull, Iona and Staffa where Fingals cave is. We... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 October 2016
Sandra S
,
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 237: English reviews
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

We were in Oban and stopped off in the travel shop to check out a tour, the girl was extremely helpful. We booked the tour to Mull, Iona and Staffa where Fingals cave is. We caught the ferry to Mull where a coach was waiting to take us across the island to Staffa, we were lucky as the sun was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra S
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review for us. I am glad that you had such a good day on the tour. The weather of course helped! More 

California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2016

Upon arriving by rail from Glasgow, we headed directly for the West Coast Tours office located conveniently near the train station in order to exchange our printed-out vouchers for the actual tickets required for the tour. We were informed that because of the possibility of adverse wind conditions the next day (the day of our reservation), we might not be... More 

Helpful?
Thank bruysmerrill
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review for us. I am glad that your tour did go ahead, as you know the weather plays such a large part in our tour and therefore we depend on the advice from our partners who operate the boats, thankfully you still got to enjoy your tour! More 

Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

We did this tour on the 11th October. Lovely tour. Let down terribly by very lacklustre bus driver. Boring. Dull. No personality. Can't tell you his name as he didn't bother to tell us. Definitely put a damper on day. Also maybe play music on bus on return journey?

Helpful?
Thank Diane s
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. Thank you fpr your comments and I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the commentary. We will take your comments on board and we will looking into this going forward for next year. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2016

From start to finish this trip was a pleasure to undertake! OUr coach driver/ guide - Richard made the whole trip a great laugh and kept us going with great stories of locals and history! It would not have been the same enjoyable day had we taken the car Nd done the whole thing ourselves! I think we may have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank gail m
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad that you had a good day and I will be sure to pass your compliments on to Richard. More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

This tour was very well organised from the beginning to the end. Staff at the ticket office were helpful and friendly, and they provided all necessary information in advance, anticipating our questions. Our driver, Colin, made sure to keep us entertained throughout the Mull coach ride, including intersting information for the place and its inhabitants in his stories. Boats and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Klio P
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you so much for writing a review for us. I am so glad that you enjoyed your day with us. More 

Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

We took the Three Isles Tour and it was a pretty relaxing experience because the boats and the tour buses would take us everywhere and there was no driving on our own. The landscape is beautiful as well. The boat trip to Staffa island was a little too much for me because the boat was small and I got kinda... More 

Helpful?
Thank pineapplettraveler
WCT16, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're glad that overall you enjoyed the tour. Sorry to hear you thought the driver wasn't very informative and if you email us at information@westcoasttours.co.uk and give us the date you travelled, we can look into why you didn't receive a commentary on the way back to Craignure. More 

Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2016

Went on a tour with my bf to three isles in the Hebrides. Everything was perfectly planned, from the coaches to the ferry. I especially liked the commentary on the coach given by our very nice driver who lives on the island of Mull herself (sorry I forgot the name). Will always remember it!

Helpful?
Thank M_Moonsong
WCT16, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your review. Your driver would have been Sheila and we'll pass on your comments to her! More 

Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
270 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2016

Me and my partner took the Three Isle Tour. Staff were helpful and explained to us from where we needed to catch the boat to the Isle of Mull, from where the tour began. Tickets of the boat were included in the tour price. Everything was planned perfectly. On the Isle of Mull, the tour was conducted by the coach... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sacrilegious1
WCT16, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we're delighted you enjoyed the tour and found staff to be helpful and the tour itself well organised. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We planned this trip on a Saturday, but it was cancelled due to the inability of the boat to make the short trip from Mull to Iona. We were able to reschedule for Sunday, however, and we were not disappointed. The weather cleared up enough to allow lovely views from both boats and the bus ride. The bus driver was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joy S
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for us. I am glad that you were able to reschedule your tour with us and that the weather behaved itself for you. Please do come back and visit us again! More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2016

Our first attempt at taking the Three Isles Tour was cancelled due to bad weather out at sea. We re-arranged our trip for the following day and it was lovely and sunny this time. Unfortunately, we were unable to land on Staffa due to the swell of the sea being too much to make it safe. Although it may appear... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tony D
WestCoastTours2015, Manager at West Coast Tours - Oban, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us. I am glad that we were able to reschedule the tour for you. As I am sure you are aware the weather can be very unpredictable and therefore the landing on Staffa is up to the knowledgeable crew on board the boat. We will always try to get our passengers to land... More 

Travellers who viewed West Coast Tours - Oban also viewed

Oban, Argyll and Bute
Oban, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to West Coast Tours - Oban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of West Coast Tours - Oban and other visitors
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from West Coast Tours - Oban staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?