We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monkey Barrel Comedy

305 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Monkey Barrel Comedy

305 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$21.92
More Info
from US$67.72
More Info
from US$19.49
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
9-11 Blair Street, Edinburgh EH1 1QR Scotland
Get to know the area
Edinburgh Darkside Walking Tour: Mysteries, Murder and Legends
Ghost & Vampire Tours

Edinburgh Darkside Walking Tour: Mysteries, Murder and Legends

1,624 reviews
The atmospheric city of Edinburgh is best explored by night, when tales of mystery and murder are at their most frightening. Discover the dark side of Scotland's capital on a historical walking tour that covers Edinburgh’s morbid past. Wind your way through the cobbled streets of Calton Hill, North Bridge, and Canongate cemetery, all of which are inaccessible by coach bus or car, and listen to stories that focus on torture, treason, and death.
US$19.81 per adult
305Reviews12Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 255
  • 35
  • 9
  • 3
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sophie Mills wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited here during a short stay in Edinburgh this weekend. Despite covid and the restrictions it’s still a lovely place to have a quiet drink. Lovely staff
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
BuildSmith wrote a review Sep 2020
Scotland, United Kingdom5 contributions
Came for some early evening drinks after seeing they were open as a bar whilst not being able to put on comedy shows. Have been a few times during the Fringe, so nice to be able to go given that was cancelled. Still the same choice of good beers. Prices are cheaper than the pubs around it, so was happy all round. The stage has been taken away but you can still sit on the vintage cinema seats which is nice. Hopefully they'll have some shows on again soon, but good place to visit for a socially distanced beer in the meantime!
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Vishnu K wrote a review Sep 2020
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom13 contributions21 helpful votes
Visited last night just for drinks. At first is was a bit weird with the decor and no music. But turned out to be a good place for a quiet chat.
Read more
Date of experience: September 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
SahranAbeysundara wrote a review Aug 2020
Haslemere, United Kingdom5 contributions8 helpful votes
Unbelievably bad experience with the homophobic door man!!! Was absolutely horrified to experience blatant homophobia in Edinburgh in 2020!!! Businesses are struggling to survive during this crisis and to have staff that behave this way is really sad! This incident happened at 22.30 on the 22nd of August if the owner of the club is reading this I suggest you have a serious conversation with your staff, unless this is company policy and if so I suggest people avoid this venue like the covid!!
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MBCBOXOFFICE, Owner at Monkey Barrel Comedy
Responded 25 Aug 2020
Hi Sahran, Firstly, thank you for your feedback and you have our deepest apologies for your experience outside our club. We are truly shocked to hear about this and it certainly is not something we have dealt with before, nor is it condoned by us. We take any incident of this nature very seriously and have a zero tolerance policy for this type of behaviour from our team, door staff or our patrons. Monkey Barrel Comedy should be a safe and fun environment for all and we are saddened to hear something like this could happen on our doorstep. We are currently conducting a full investigation into the incident, including speaking with the company who provided our door staff who were working on the evening of the 22nd. Our experience in working with them since we opened has been very positive, and we know they work in many diverse and representative bars and clubs across the city. Neither our venue manager, or any of our staff, were aware of such an incident on the night, so if you felt comfortable, we would greatly appreciate it if we could pick up with you for further details on your experience. You can contact us directly on boxoffice@monkeybarrelcomedy.com where we hope to listen and understand how we can prevent a similar experience ever occurring outside our doors. We’re sorry again for what happened to you and hope to get the opportunity to speak to you shortly to help make amends. Kind regards, Monkey Barrel Comedy
Read more
Mitsie65 wrote a review Aug 2020
Kirkwall, United Kingdom98 contributions26 helpful votes
I was visiting Edinburgh for the weekend and stumbled across this place when looking for a drink. Due to covid, there was no comedy or music but had a great experience despite. The drink was a good price and the staff were great, always willing to have a chat and bit of banter with you
Read more
Date of experience: August 2020
Helpful
Share
Previous
Frequently Asked Questions about Monkey Barrel Comedy