We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Real Mary King's Close

Closed Now: 09:30 - 21:00
Open today: 09:30 - 21:00
Book In Advance
In high demand - travellers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
518
All photos (518)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent58%
  • Very good27%
  • Average10%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“chris t”(660 reviews)
“our tour guide”(1,315 reviews)
About
Hidden beneath the Royal Mile lies Edinburgh’s deepest secret: a warren of hidden ‘closes’ where real people lived, worked and died. For centuries they have lain forgotten and abandoned…until now. Visit Edinburgh's most famous Close, which makes...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 09:30 - 21:00
See all hours
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
As featured in Unexpected Edinburgh
Contact
High Street | 2 Warriston's Close, Edinburgh EH1 1PG, Scotland
Old Town
Website
+44 131 225 0672
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$15.66
More Info
from US$15.66
More Info
from US$16.97
More Info
from US$22.19
More Info
Reviews (15,128)
Filter reviews
12,141 results
Traveller rating
7,047
3,228
1,136
448
282
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
7,047
3,228
1,136
448
282
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chris t our tour guide underground streets ghost story living conditions great tour edinburgh's history tour takes royal mile hour tour great insight visiting edinburgh old town plague agnes lloyd century
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 12,141 reviews
Reviewed today

Heard so much about this unique place and had to book months ago.Our group numbered about 16 people and our guide wasted no time in getting us moving on the tour.The problem I found,was that by the time everybody arrived in each room to hear...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank dhleask9
Reviewed today

An interesting and informative hour's guided tour under the streets of historic Edinburgh. Fiona was a great tour guide and the operation is well run. You need to pre-book your slot. We were early for our selected time but were able to swap it for...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Liz C
Reviewed today

Excellent value for money and our guide Chris T was absolutely superb and added to the overall enjoyment. It was both very informative and educational

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank Unicornlodge
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Wow ! Loved every min of this tour ! Was so amazed and thoroughly enjoyed from beginning to end . Would recommend Chris T who gave our tour, he was excellent , witty and informative . Well done guys Thank you 5 stars ⭐️ ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank carolinek541
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at The Real Mary King's Close, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and stepping down into Edinburgh's hidden history. We pride ourselves on telling the real stories of the people who lived there and bringing our...More

Reviewed yesterday

Amazing place, well worth the a visit. Not for anyone with walking difficulties. Very well preserved street and house. Good tour with history from the young girl. Nice cafe at the end too. Good value.

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank YorkMax
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at The Real Mary King's Close, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We're so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It's lovely to get feedback on the Coffee House too. We do hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Edinburgh!

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Tourist trap. Let me save you 15 pounds: “Life in the olden days was hard. The end.” It didn’t help that our tour guide spoke too quickly in a heavy local accent. I almost asked for my money back. (January 2019)More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank matthewrafat
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at The Real Mary King's Close, responded to this reviewResponded today

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to our attraction. Just to reassure you, our tour is based on years of research and archaeological evidence. Our aim is to tell the real history of this fascinating site, in an engaging and...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Very informative tour of an old close that has subsequently been built over. This gave a good insight into life in 19th / 20th century Edinburgh and I would recommend it.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank David S
Reviewed 2 days ago

Our tour guide was Fiona and she was really knowledgeable and funny! I wasn't sure what to expect but the tour and the close were definitely worth visiting, and more interesting than I was expecting. Would recommend!More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank KayleighVdL
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at The Real Mary King's Close, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thank you so much for sharing your review with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and stepping down into Edinburgh's hidden history. We pride ourselves on telling the real stories of the people who lived on the Close and...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Was excited to visit but was left disappointed and short changed. While the tour guide was good, the tour of the close itself felt lacking substance. In all honesty the tunnels/rooms could have been anywhere as most were empty. There's only a small part of...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank taylorswift666
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at The Real Mary King's Close, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback, we're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your visit to our historic visitor attraction. Let me reassure you though, all of our research is historically accurate and is the product of extensive academic and archaeological...More

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I can’t say I didn’t enjoy the experience but at nearly £16 each and lasting just under an hour, I think it’s a tad pricey! There’s a few rooms to see but only 2 with props so you do rely on your guide to bring...More

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank MarKardiff
RealMaryKingsClose, Public Relations Manager at The Real Mary King's Close, responded to this reviewResponded today

We really appreciate that you have shared your feedback with us. We're glad to hear that you did enjoy the tour, it is just unfortunate that it did not meet your expectations. As a five-star visitor attraction, we set our prices in line with other...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its
labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests
this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly
visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers
that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the
place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as
the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal
Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 154 nearby hotels
Old Town Chambers
1,398 reviews
.04 miles away
The Inn Place
477 reviews
.05 miles away
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
2,668 reviews
.07 miles away
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
1,983 reviews
.07 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,862 nearby restaurants
The Milkman
283 reviews
.06 miles away
Angels With Bagpipes
2,977 reviews
.03 miles away
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant
1,862 reviews
.05 miles away
The Royal Mcgregor
1,322 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,309 nearby attractions
Edinburgh Old Town
14,467 reviews
.03 miles away
St Giles' Cathedral
5,879 reviews
.03 miles away
Advocate's Close
29 reviews
.03 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Keri19830
7 February 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mike A | Reviewed this property |
No photography allowed - something to do with it being under a government building. They do take a souvenir photo at the end though which you can buy from the shop.
1
Vote
Lutitlu
10 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from PiperPenelope | Reviewed this property |
Hi, if you're prone to feeling claustrophobic I would suggest that as you move room to room you try to stay towards the door. Some rooms can get a little tight if you're wedged in the back and they do occasionally ask that... More
1
Vote
RMcK90
7 October 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from 228mauror | Reviewed this property |
There was some talk about a suffering ghost of a little girl in my tour, and some other ghosts that appear in the local. A kid may believe in this information. But probably if the kids dont get scared they will get bored, as... More
0
Votes
Google Translation