We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Queen's Hall

Closed Now: 10:00 - 17:15
Open today: 10:00 - 17:15
Review Highlights
John Cooper Clarke

Great gig and seats however one toilet area for a large venue was poor as was lack of snacks etc... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
George H
via mobile
Suzanne Vega

been to this venue a number of times, you really need to want to see the performance, as the seats... read more

Reviewed 5 September 2018
LMMcI
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Read all 100 reviews
24
All photos (24)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent36%
  • Very good41%
  • Average15%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“old church”(6 reviews)
About
The Queen's Hall is Edinburgh's premier mid-sized live music venue, showcasing a wide range of events from across all genres.
Closed Now
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:15
See all hours
Contact
Clerk Street, Edinburgh EH8 9JG, Scotland
Southside & Holyrood
Website
+44 131 668 2019
Call
Improve This Listing
Recommended experiences in and around Edinburgh
from US$81.51
More Info
from US$15.40
More Info
from US$21.70
More Info
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
36
37
15
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
36
37
15
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews intimate venue converted church old church chamber orchestra music gig sound quality kris kristofferson excellent acoustics edinburgh festival pews stage artists horseshoe acts queen queue gallery
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great gig and seats however one toilet area for a large venue was poor as was lack of snacks etc . It however should not detract from a wonderful venue with lots of aesthetically pleasing elements.More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank George H
EmmaM5796, Public Relations Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review George. We're aware that we need to provide more gents toilet facilities (there are two sets for ladies) and it's something we're looking to raise money to do in the future as it would require some rejigging of the building. We'll...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I’m sorry to be writing a negative review and I do hope I don’t come across as complaining because I’m not! I was looking forward to taking my daughter to see Horse in concert having seen her at the Macrobert centre in Stirling where she...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank holland21
EmmaM5796, Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're sorry to hear you were so uncomfortable. As the seats are part of the listed building it makes it difficult for us to do anything with them at present, especially as to do so may change the acoustic of the building and we can't...More

Reviewed 24 September 2018

We went to see Cara. They were superb. The Queens Hall has brilliant accoustics. Its a spectacular building. However, take out a second mortgage before you go to the bar. Whoever decided on the prices has a warped sense of humour. £1.60 for a small...More

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank Miamerl
Reviewed 5 September 2018

been to this venue a number of times, you really need to want to see the performance, as the seats are diabolical. It is converted chapel, and they have kept the pew style seating, which certainly has character. However you will also need character to...More

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank LMMcI
Emma M, Marketing Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Thanks for your review. The old pews are part of the listed status of our building, but we know they can be uncomfortable - they were designed to keep people awake during sermons! We are looking to raise money to replace the seat cushions and...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

We went to two very good concerts at the Queen's Hall during the festival. The Hall is a converted church and is not ideal as there are pillars that can impede ones view. However, both concerts were good. We heard the Pavel Haas Quartet playing...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank SergeLourie
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Four of us attended Blue Rose Code Caledonian Soul concert and we loved the quirky venue! Brilliant for such an intimate evening of music. Good range of beers and wines in the bar - but get there early!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank HughH985
Emma M, Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Thanks very much Hugh, we're glad you had a good night with us. Hope you'll come back soon!

Reviewed 28 July 2018

Went to see a concert in the Queens Hall. Quite a small and therefore intimate venue which made the experience even better with everyone getting a good view from either the floor hall or up on the balcony. Easy to get to either walking or...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Gordon S
Emma M, Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks very much Gordon, we're glad you had a good time here and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Reviewed 24 May 2018

Have been here a handful of times over some years, usually for 'niche' artists (Guy Clark, Kris Kristofferson, & last Sunday Nils Lofgren). Hadn't realised you could review the actual venue till I looked just now. Cracking venue, though the 'pew' seating could use some...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Carolyn M
Emma M, Marketing Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review Carolyn. Really appreciate your words and support and glad you enjoyed Nils on Sunday - he was fantastic wasn't he?! We're raising money to update the seat cushions, so hopefully our pews will be a bit more...More

Reviewed 7 May 2018

Would highly recommend this venue. We had a drink at the reasonably priced bar, pleasant staff all round the venue.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Howyou
Emma M, Marketing Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thanks very much for your review, we're glad you had a good time with us.

Reviewed 12 April 2018 via mobile

We saw Scottish Chamber Orchestra here and it was a great pleasure. The concert hall is beautiful, historic, atmospheric as well as comfortable (long seats with cushions) and sufficiently well lit to enable programme notes to be read. The processes of collecting tickets, buying drinks,...More

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank carolinerunner
Emma M, Marketing Manager at The Queen's Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

Thanks very much Caroline, delighted you had such a good experience with us.

View more reviews
Nearby
Southside & Holyrood
Many of Edinburgh’s student hangouts gather around
university buildings in Southside, the sort of
neighbourhood that supports a long string of
second-hand shops and eateries serving ethnic food for
just a few pounds. In August the student population is
replaced by vast numbers of boisterous visitors here
for the Fringe, Edinburgh’s world-class comedy and
arts festival which headquarters itself here. Flanking
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 152 nearby hotels
The Salisbury Hotel
894 reviews
.30 miles away
KM Central
376 reviews
.35 miles away
Holland House Hotel
3 reviews
.36 miles away
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
2,106 reviews
.37 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 2,804 nearby restaurants
The Southern
221 reviews
.06 miles away
Himalaya Cafe
93 reviews
.06 miles away
Cafe de la Poste
123 reviews
.06 miles away
Cult espresso
84 reviews
.08 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 1,286 nearby attractions
Pickering's Gin Distillery
562 reviews
.07 miles away
Edinburgh International Events
127 reviews
.38 miles away
Holyrood Park
2,513 reviews
.35 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
dannycroke52
15 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from carolinerunner | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I didn’t have any problems at all, I go to quite a lot of concerts and I thought it was a beautiful building and a perfectly nice experience
-1
Votes
RowleyJamielee
24 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Alijac2016 | Reviewed this property |
Fairly close, about a 15 minute walk from Princes St.
0
Votes