We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Edinburgh Dungeon

31 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DF, Scotland
+44 131 240 1001
Website
Share
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$19.14*
and up
The Edinburgh Dungeon Priority Entrance Ticket
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
The Edinburgh Dungeon is a unique visitor attraction that brings together an amazing cast of theatrical actors, special effects, stages, scenes and rides in a truly unique and exciting walk-through experience that you see, hear, touch, smell and feel. It's hilarious fun and sometimes a bit scary. Your 80-minute journey will take you through 500 years of Scotland's darkest history. Guided by a full cast of actors, you and your companions walk through The Dungeon, moving from show to show. Shows are based on real Scottish history, minus the boring bits! WINNER OF SCOTLAND'S BEST VISITOR ATTRACTION 2014 AT THE SCOTTISH ENTERTAINMENT AWARDS
  • Excellent60%
  • Very good26%
  • Average9%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“boat ride” (411 reviews)
“great fun” (417 reviews)
“sawney bean” (105 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: 1-2 hours
LOCATION
31 Market Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DF, Scotland
Princes Street and Gardens
CONTACT
Website
+44 131 240 1001
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Edinburgh
from US$35.60
More Info
from US$19.14
More Info
from US$40.30
More Info
Write a ReviewReviews (4,819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"boat ride"
in 411 reviews
"great fun"
in 417 reviews
"sawney bean"
in 105 reviews
"drop ride at the end"
in 65 reviews
"scary fun"
in 64 reviews
"their roles"
in 62 reviews
"audience participation"
in 107 reviews
"special effects"
in 63 reviews
"burke and hare"
in 55 reviews
"great attraction"
in 56 reviews
"rainy day"
in 65 reviews
"scottish history"
in 67 reviews
"scares"
in 161 reviews
"characters"
in 220 reviews
"campy"
in 112 reviews
"parts"
in 263 reviews
"fright"
in 68 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 4,549 reviews

Reviewed today via mobile

What a great way to spend and hour or so, a wee bit scary and funny at the same time. We used an offer on the back of our bus ticket to get £6 each off of entry, but the lady next to us paid...More

Thank goinawayjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Went to dungeons and it was great. All of the actors where very enthusiastic and made it a great experience. Totally recommend

Thank beccypryde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thanks beccypryde! We'll pass on your feedback to the actors, if we ever let them free from their cells... Do come back for our new show Braveheart's Revenge this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday

The characters do a good job but it all depends on the audience and they response they get. We were a boring lot and so cannot fault them.

Thank Rajnish A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Rajnish A, Glad you enjoyed it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

The dungeon was brilliant, the group was fully involved with the hosts. The staff are fantastic, dressed for the part and the acting was enjoyable. The only negative I would say is the extortionate price of photographs, tickets are expensive as it is so milking...More

Thank Comput3rN3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Comput3rN3rd, Thanks for the excellent feedback, - Sorry you thought the price of photos was too high. We like to think that a high quality picture of your horrified faces as you scream down the drop ride is worth gold! However, if this does...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Really enjoyed my visit. Very educational. Good guide. Well worth a visit for any age though not the very young.

Thank guinness917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks guinness917, Great feedback! Do pop by again for our new show Braveheart's Revenge launching next week!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Having a merlin pass is always good but arriving in Edinburgh and finding you can use it is brilliant fun for all

Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Richard H, Glad you loved it! Come back with that pass any time you like for more scary fun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Disappointed that none of the staff explained the camera was not working to take pictures of the drop ride on one side. This would have been a nice keep sake to take home.

Thank Lennox C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Lennox C, Sorry to hear you were not able to take home the drop ride photo. we hope instead you were able to get a keepsake to take home of the entrance picture?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

This is probably the funniest way to delve in to the dark past of Edinburgh. They take you through events that occurred in the past and it’s almost as if you are living in that time. The actors are brilliant. 10/10 recommended to anyone!More

Thank Callum T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Callum T, Glad you felt transported back in time, that's the aim - although if we really did, you'd be coming home plague ridden and mangled by cannibals. We like to think we offer almost as good an experience as the real thing! Do...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Visited the Dungeons on Saturday 16th June with My girlfriend... Her first visit and my second after 5 years away. Dark, Jumpy and hilarious I found it brilliant, my partner found it absolutely terrifying (which is also brilliant) The highlight being the boat ride to...More

Thank JavaDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Thanks JavaDeano, We've been saying it for years - nothing says Date Night more than cannibals, dissection, plague and torture! Glad you were brilliantly terrified!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago

walk down the stairs and into the past of yesteryear and see how the bad were treated, view the dungeons and breath the air of yesterday, an atmosphere of fear hahahaha

Thank Philippines1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma J, Marketing Manager at The Edinburgh Dungeon, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi Philippines1957, Not just the bad, the yesteryear doesn't discriminate - plague and torture for all! Glad you had a fantastic time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Princes Street and Gardens
Glaswegians tease Edinburghers that their High Street
is only half one, since buildings only line one side.
But what they don’t say is how extraordinary the views
are from Princes Street as a result. From here you
look onto expansive and decorative public gardens
beneath the mighty basalt cliffs on which Edinburgh’s
Castle stands proud above the rest of the dramatic old
town skyline. Yet many of those on Princes Street look
...More
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Edinburgh
Motel One Edinburgh-Royal
2,489 reviews
.03 miles away
The Inn Place
417 reviews
.06 miles away
Old Town Chambers
1,209 reviews
.07 miles away
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
.09 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Milkman
221 reviews
.02 miles away
Angels With Bagpipes
2,784 reviews
.08 miles away
Gurkha Cafe & Restaurant
1,753 reviews
.04 miles away
Krua Khun Mae Thai Restaurant
430 reviews
.04 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Edinburgh Old Town
12,895 reviews
.06 miles away
Real Mary King's Close
13,537 reviews
.08 miles away
St Giles' Cathedral
5,353 reviews
.09 miles away
Fruitmarket Gallery
59 reviews
.07 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kristine B
18 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Emma J | Property representative |
Hi Kristine, wait time is 15 minutes to allow for photographs. The tour takes 75 minutes on average so 2 hours should be ample! Thanks, Emma
0
Votes
tvlgooroo
22 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Zanna72 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry took so long to reply. All the actors are very respectful, don’t touch the visitors and no profanities uttered at all. They actually state that they will not touch visitors and in turn visitors should not touch the... More
1
Vote
millippi
16 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Adam G | Reviewed this property |
I've been to a couple of Dungeons on my own - visitors are sent around in groups so you wouldn't be on your own as such. You'd still enjoy it for sure but probably more fun with at least one friend with you to giggle with :)
1
Vote
;