We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Secret Herb Garden

191 Reviews

Secret Herb Garden

191 Reviews
Full view
Location
Contact
32A Old Pentland Road Damhead, Edinburgh EH10 7EA Scotland
Get to know the area
The World Famous Underground Ghost Tour
Ghost & Vampire Tours

The World Famous Underground Ghost Tour

787 reviews
At street level, Edinburgh is a peaceful and pretty city—but the subterranean tunnels below tell an entirely different story. On this ghostly walking tour, explore historic sites including Greyfriars Kirkyard and St. Giles’ Cathedral with your enthusiastic guide, and hear chilling tales of murder and revenge. Delve down into underground caverns normally closed to the public, and learn of Edinburgh’s grim and gruesome past.
US$19.89 per adult
191Reviews3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 98
  • 53
  • 16
  • 14
  • 10
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Heida2013 wrote a review Nov 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom33 contributions48 helpful votes
My mum and I visited here on Friday. We have been a few times and it really is one of my favourite places We both had lattes and Isle of Mull cheese scones with herb butter and onion chutney The scones were freshly baked and out of his world So good and the cafe was very well spaced out We then took a lovely walk round the gardens and bought some of their delicious honey from the gift shop This really is a gem of a place
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Malcolm C wrote a review Oct 2020
London5 contributions10 helpful votes
We popped in this afternoon for cake and coffee and we had no disappointments . Delicious coffee and fabulous Rhubarb cake. Service was provided by a charming young team, who were both very efficient and professional. We finished off with a walk around the gardens and herb area. Sadly, the weak link is the shop ! We will be returning and we can highly recommend.
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael S, Marketing Manager at Secret Herb Garden
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Thank you so much for your lovely review!
Read more
Rhonda M wrote a review Oct 2020
Dundee, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
There were some nice things about this place. The gardens were very enjoyable if smaller than expected. There might be 7.5 acres of land according to the website... but it’s not all herb gardens that I could see. I was prepared for a good walk! However, the cafe and shop let the whole experience down. Let me give some details... the shop has a poor selection and is not like the website gallery shows. The worst experience was the cafe. Completely shambolic service (although kind of polite not efficient or effective staff), the food was bland, stale or both and horrifically over priced. The prices suggest a main-ish meal, but what came could barely be described as an appetiser. Just... mind blowingly bad. The tea, coffee and cake were adequate but the cake was a tad stale. If you’re popping in for a coffee and short slow wander around the garden then you’ll likely enjoy it... just don’t believe the slick hyped up website!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
CJCJ2500 wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom82 contributions49 helpful votes
I wanted to love this place, It’s a lovely wee cafe and cake/coffee was fine but unfortunately I have to agree with the reviews below, the service was shambolic! No one knew what they were doing, two ladies just stood at the door ignoring guests and there seemed to be only one man bringing coffees out. We asked for a baby seat three times. We had two cakes (which we could see on the table at the door) and two coffees and it took 45 minutes (about twenty before our order was taken) We probably would have left had our two year old not been so calm that day!! When we left the queue was absolutely massive and people inside looked less than impressed. Would love to return for lunch and support it during these times but might wait a while. The grounds are lovely!
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael S, Marketing Manager at Secret Herb Garden
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're very sorry to hear you didn't have a good experience and will take your comments on board as we look to adapt and improve our service.
Read more
Peter M wrote a review Oct 2020
1 contribution
Get staff to do specific roles, tables empty but big queues outside cafe. Very badly run with little organisation
Read more
Date of experience: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachael S, Marketing Manager at Secret Herb Garden
Responded 19 Oct 2020
Thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback. We're sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the experience and will take your comments on board as we look to develop and improve.
Read more
Previous